We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, met all our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Montreal to your Saves list
InterContinental Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location, met all our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We journeyed to Montreal for our daughters competition and chose The Intercontinental because of its central location and the fact they had a nice suite available.
The only negative is driving and parking...both of which have nothing to do with the Hotel.
The Hotel is set in a majestic building right in the heart of down town Montreal.
The staff that greeted us once we'd sorted out the parking (go valet by the way) were very friendly and knowledgeable, the language issue was never a problem. The suite we booked was called a Iconic Tourelle 1 bedroom and for the most part it worked out nicely. A second bathroom would have been nice as would a nicely stocked mini bar. The suite isn't as big as it sounds on the website but it was separated nicely and worked for us.
The lounge access that comes with the suite is very handy, it is a great place for a quick breakfast or a nice drink before heading out for dinner. The Hotel has a central concourse that has a few shops and there is also a Cafe at street level. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Iconic Tourelle Suite is worth the extra. Valet parking is expensive but save you going down 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear BreezeRidge3,
We sincerely appreciate your review and we thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Montreal to the fullest because of our wonderful location! We are also pleased to know that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided, the spacious suite you selected and the benefits you enjoyed in our Club InterContinental Lounge.
We look forward to seeing you with us on your next trip!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    463
    140
    67
    25
See reviews for
187
389
69
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here two nights (Friday and Saturday) during the Montreal Jazz Festival. The room was very clean, modern and big. The washroom had separate stand-up shower and bath, all marble. I’m easily bothered by noise but despite being 100% booked, the hotel was very quiet, we never heard anything in the night. Our room was on the north/west corner of the hotel facing west, so the view wasn’t anything special (roof tops and other high buildings) but I don’t care about that. The kingsize bed was comfortable with a separate cover of the duvet, which means they wash it between guests which is very nice. The cleaning staff refreshed everything and did a good job.

We used the valet service ($35/night) which was “ok”. We had to call for our car twice during our stay, and despite giving them a good 15 – 20 minutes notice, one of those times we had to wait close to 10 minutes. In their defense, they did have a few people working valet and they seems to have a sudden rush of people. I suggest you call 30 minutes ahead. When arriving by car they do not have an entrance to park, you park in front of the hotel on the side of the street (they have about 5 spots). When we got there all of the spots were taken and the road was rather busy. We were told to double park and they would take care of it for us, but I wasn’t very pleased with that. Look at the google street view of the entrance and you will see what I mean regarding the limited space.

Checking was “ok”. They had 2 people at checkin and we had to wait about 10 minutes before being served, by the time we left the line was getting rather long. Checkout was very quick. All of the staff were very polite and courteous.

We had dinner at the Hotel restaurant, once. It was good, the service was good and the ambiance was ok but not romantic and rather noisy. It was generally “ok” but not good enough for us to return the 2nd night.

The location of the hotel was excellent for what we were doing. Within walking distance of Jazz fest stages and old montreal.

Overall I was very impressed with the room and would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear JonnyCanuck99,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your spacious guestroom, as well as the ideal location of our hotel. Moreover, we are delighted to know that you were satisfied with the quiet and the peaceful atmosphere you found in our hotel. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, they will certainly be shared! We have taken note of your feedback on the waiting time for the valet service. Rest assured that we will do everything to avoid this kind of problem in the future.
We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On our first trip to Montreal for a business conference, my husband and I chose to stay for 5 days at the beautiful Intercontinental Montreal based on our experiences with other Intercontinental Hotels in Miami, Philadelphia and Milwaukee and we were not disappointed.

The bus ride to the hotel takes about 30 minutes from the airport and is literally steps from the Palis des congres de Montreal (Convention Center). Neither my husband nor I speak French, but check-in was friendly and without incident. Our room was spacious with a king sized bed, writing table and flat screen TV. Bath and bedroom were both spotless and comfortable. Although our
room had a window, it faced another part of the hotel so our room did not get much natural light...kinda of dark even with all of the in-room lights on. There was also an mini refrigerator,
Keurig coffee machine and iPod alarm clock. Fitness center on the 10th floor was very
nice but it was very hot and the only water available was for sale. The Concierge recommended a nice little diner within walking distance for breakfast and gave easy to follow directions on how to catch the Metro to Little Italy. There is a currency exchange office located nearby.

This hotel is walking distant from Vieux Montreal, Chinatown, the Underground City and lots of
restaurants. We had great stay and would definitely stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Savannah31401,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are pleased to know that our location made your stay with us most enjoyable. We are proud of the trust you place in our brand and we thank you for your loyalty. Also, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well the amenities. We take your point about the water available in our fitness center and will make sure to improve this point before your next visit. Thank you for your kindness and hope to see you here soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. Building looks a bit like a French castle, nice touch! Check in was very friendly and fast. Room was huge with 2 queen beds, bathroom hat tub and shower (all marble). Both room and bathroom were spotless clean. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpfull. Swimming pool (salt water!) is on 10th floor and is very beautiful with an outside sundeck. Parking is $23 a night (garage is next to the hotel with elevator to lobby). Bellboys were very friendly. One night some guys started a fight in front of the hotel. Within 10 seconds 3 bellboys were outside and did sent the fighters away, very adequate!!!! Hotel is in a great location: 5 minute walk to Vieux Montreal and Notre Dame basilica. 15 minutes by car to Mont Royal and 2 metrostops from St Catherine street (the shopping street in Montreal). We had a great stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Wendy_from_Holland,
What a pleasure it is to read about your great experience in our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with our team. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your spacious guestroom, as well as the unique historical character of our hotel. We are also happy to hear that the ideal location of our property allowed you make the most of your Montreal getaway.
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over a long weekend and all I could tell you is that my stay was wonderful!

Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and courteous.

Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and the waiters at the restaurant/bar were very friendly. The food at the restaurant/bar was well priced and was quite delicious.

The room was quite spacious. I stayed in a room with two double beds. The beds were incredibly comfortable and there were so many cosy pillows in each bed.
The room had a mini fridge, a Keurig coffee machine, iPod speakers/radio/alarm clock, two phones, bathrobe, and the list goes on. My only complaint is that I called three times for a second bathrobe and I never got one. On my third call I was told that they needed to be washed and that I would get one as soon as it was cleaned. Sadly, the bathrobe never came.

The bathroom: the bathroom was very spacious. The sink area is my only complaint since it could have been a little larger. There was a separate bath and shower. Both very clean.

The lobby was quite pretty and very pleasant to walk through.

The location: in the entrance of old Montreal, and minutes away from downtown Montreal. For the purpose of my trip this hotel was a perfect location! Many great restaurants (in walking distance)and great bars! The lounge at the W is quite nice and it's only a few steps away from the hotel.

The hotel is quite secure especially since you need your hotel key to activate the elevators.

Parking available. Valet or self park. Charges apply.

All in all my stay was very pleasant and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valzy,
We thank you for taking the time to share this great review with our team. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our spacious guestrooms, our friendly staff and great facilities. Sorry for the inconvenience about the bathrobe, we forwarded your comment to our Housekeeping Department to make sure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your confidence and kind words, we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We mixed business with pleasure in Montreal and chose this hotel for the price and location. We had a river view room on an upper floor and it was spacious with a very comfortable king-size bed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay very much. The only minor issue might be the wait for check-in and check-out. It always seemed like a lengthy line no matter when we walked by. Perhaps they need more staff for the desk? The location to Old Montreal for the money can't be beat.

Room Tip: View rooms didn't seem to be much more expensive. Also, we took the $3/day upgrade for internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear LuvMyVespa,
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, experienced the devotion of our staff and loved the incredible view on the St Laurent from your room! On another note, your comments regarding the check-in and check-out process have been shared with the head of the Room Division to improve our service.
We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I suppose retrofitting a building is harder than new construction. The common areas were just okay; not up to usual Intercontinental standards. Our room was very nice however, spacious, with good amenities.

Our biggest complaint was the 30 mins. it took to check in because of the incompetence of the check-in staff. We had a rate booked through Intercontinental website and they kept insisting I had to pay a higher rate. They finally asked if we wanted to speak to a supervisor, who came out and immediately told us our rate was fine. No apologies from the other 2; I suppose they were in a rush to leave at the end of their 11:00 pm shift. Inexcusable service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Traveltheglobe1,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our spacious room and amenities. We also appreciate your comments regarding the service you received at the Front desk. Rest assured that your valuable feedback will be communicated to the Front Desk Manager to improve our current procedure.
We certainly hope to see you again,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.