We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Old Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #48 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Newark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location near Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice location if you want to be in between all the action in the summer. Can't beat the Hyatt Regency in the Complexe Desjardins if you want to be right on top of the Jazz festival, but this Intercontinental is just a few blocks away from there, and closer to the Vieux Port area. The Quartier Chinois is also close by, so there are many food options. The Notre-Dame de Montreal cathedral is also near.

If you want to self-park, the entrance to the underground garage is on the small street around the corner. Make a right from St-Antoine onto St-Pierre. I paid $23/day for parking. You have to drive down to level 9-12 for hotel parking, so be prepared for a lot of tight turns. Then, there's an elevator for the garage levels and a different one to get to the hotel lobby. The garage parking is underneath a mall/office connected building. It's a little inconvenient, but not that bad.

Hotel lobby is nice but feels a bit old and dark. Staff was very friendly. There were power outages in the city on the day we were there due to fires in the North of Quebec, so the hotel was running on generator, with limited power (only one elevator to rooms), but the staff was very helpful.

We got an "irresistible" suite with a beautiful view of the river. Room was very spacious, more like an apartment, with separate living room. There were two bathrooms. In the big one, there was a stall shower with glass door, and a tub.

We did not eat in the hotel, so many food options around. Fitness room and indoor pool on 10th floor were great.

In all, very comfortable and well-located hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Beater B,
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the hotel's wonderful location and that you have been able to wander at your leisure and enjoy the heart of the city. We are pleased to see that your room was to your liking and that you appreciated the breathtaking views of the river. Also, we are deighted to hear that you could relax and take advantage of our indoor pool. We apologize again for any inconvenience caused by the power outage and thank you for your understanding and kind words.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    426
    134
    60
    25
See reviews for
171
355
59
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the Jazz Festival. A typical major hotel chain, nothing spectacular but reliably good. We wanted to stay an extra night, and the front desk told us to check the web to get a good price. We ended up getting a better rate than the hotel could offer. It makes no sense to treat customers this way.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Geoff W,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the location of our hotel and that you enjoyed the Montreal International Jazz Festival. We also thank you for your feedback about our booking system and have forwarded it to the Front Office department to avoid such detours and unpleasant experience in the future. Also, if you enjoy art and architecture, we would like to invite you to discover the hotel’s rallye, featuring 17 points of interest, during your next visit!
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Montreal in July and stayed for 4 nights. We stayed in a corner king room, which was spacious and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very kind and helpful. We walked from the train station, which was only about a quarter mile away. We were very close to Old Montreal, Chinatown, Latin Quarter, the metro, downtown, and Mont Royal. We walked everywhere we went in the city. The only improvement that could have been made to the hotel was internet access. Internet was free in the lobby, but $15 per day in the room with a $15 activation fee - that would have been fine, but it didn't work. Apparently wi-fi is "patchy" in the corner rooms, and every time we wanted to connect, we had to call tech support....very inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jmencer,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and felt the dedication of our staff who has your comfort at heart. We are also pleased to hear that you made the most of our wonderful location during your visit to Montreal. Thank you for your feedback about our web service. We would like to take this opportunity to let you know that the internet access is now offered on a complimentary basis to our Elite IHG Rewards members.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice location but hard to get into - no stopping room at front, bellman was missing, couldn't even get valet to show up. Room was good, though. Dining options at hotel not the greatest, except for cafe on the ground floor. Had to drive to shopping, dining, movies, etc. and pay typical big city parking. Nice view of water front from room window, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sanath K,
We thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with our team. We sincerely appreciate your comments which help us to improve our service. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the wonderful view of the St Laurent River! We also appreciate your feedback concerning the valet service, as it will be shared with the Front Office Manager in order to imrpove this situation.
Have a nice road trip and thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the IHG hotel on vacation in Montreal. I got an upgrade due to club membership and our corner room was quiet, very comfortable, spacious and a great retreat when we ran out of steam. Here for the largest jazz festival in the world (or so they attest) Our stay could only have been improved by better meals with room service (breakfast) and a consistent maid. A tip, don't get room service unless you are exhausted the first day (we were as our flight got in very late). Very expensive (> $40) for a less than adequate or quality breakfast left us to find groceries (the underground north of the hotel, there is a HUGE IGA with everything) and luckily a refrigerator to keep creamer, butter, drinks, etc. Don't count on the maid to keep the coffee and tea supplies up. Day 3 we finally went out to forage and keep breakfast in our room. Lunch and dinner meals in the city are expensive but well worth it - we didn't have one bad meal the entire time - food was wonderful. We did not eat at the hotel. You can go downstairs at the hotel right into the underground where there is a pharmacy and a Scotia Bank with ATM. The hotel has a fair fitness room and a heated indoor lap pool on the 10th floor. You will need to use your room key (card) to use the elevator. Concierge was very helpful and informative. Location is right on the edge of the old city and great walking to this and the port. Use the metro to get around - cheap and easy once you get used to it - two stations right by the hotel, Victoria Court and one other, in the conference center across the street. We had a great time and the quiet and comfort of the room was very appreciated.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are key - large, with hallway between bedroom and huge bath; very quiet and away from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear R C,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied by the ideal location of our hotel and the relevant advice you received from our Concierge. We are also thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your room upgrade and the serenity that you have found in our hotel. We thank you for your feedback about the breakfast and room service, which allows us to continually improve our service.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We did our annual trip to Montreal and this time we stayed at the Intercontinental in Old Montreal. The room was a good size, great view. We also had access to the Club and the Spa/pool which added a very nice feature. We enjoyed the pool and the deck. It is too bad that the deck area is not larger. For a downtown location, it was very enjoyable to relax on the 10th floor and catch some sunshine. Our stay also included breakfast which was fresh and offered a range of hot and cold foods. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for what you would like. We requested a higher room, away from the ice machine and elevators. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Rebecca 091,
We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team. We are thrilled to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our facilities and took some time to relax. We are also happy that our plentiful continental breakfast was to your liking! Thank you for your kind words.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I did a last minute trip to Montreal and was able to land two nights at the Intercontinental through Priceline.

Overall: 4.5 Stars

Service: 5 Stars

From the beginning to the end, service was great. Check-in and check out was fast, easy and with service with a smile. Jerry at the Concierge was really friendly and helpful too with helping us find places and recommending us how to get around. If you ask for restaurant recommendations, they have great ideas too.

Room: 4 Stars

The room was really new, clean and looked great. However, Wifi in your room is not free and requires an additional charge. I believe they have a majority of customers for conference / business trips. However, at the per night price, I would have imagined Wifi to be included. When I wanted to actually connect and pay to the wifi, we were located on the tenth floor and the signal was so bad that my tablet couldn't connect. However, luckily there is free wifi provided in the lobby.

Location: 5 Stars

The hotel is very close to Old Montreal and is only two small blocks from the Notre Dame Basilique. It's one small block to the Metro and we actually were able to get around very easily.
Also, we were able to walk directly to Mount Royal and up to the mountain top with a nice leisurely walk. Around 20 mins to the park and 30 mins to the top.

Food Recommendation:
- We recommend Au Pied Du Cochon. It was a great place to eat and only 3 subway stations from the Hotel. Remember to get

Transportation:
- Self parking is $23 for 24 hrs. We recommend parking your car in the parking lot the entire time and just walk, metro and bike around the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#40 Family Hotel in Montreal
#41 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.