We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Montreal to your Saves list
InterContinental Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was advertised as a 5 star hotel but lacked 5 star service, rooms and atmosphere. Room was large, but lacked adequate towels for a couple and coffee making facility was dreadful, no tea was provided and room service was prohibitively expensive. Service in the bar was poor. The pool is small and was cold and less than perfectly clean round the tiled edges. I would not stay here again and was very pleased that we got this on a deal as if I had payed full price I really would have been unhappy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Cathie S,
We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our property. We are deeply sorry to hear that our facility, as well as the service provided by our team did not live up to your expectations of a 5-star hotel and we would like to sincerely apologize. We do hope to have another chance in order to prove that we can offer you a memorable experience. If you wish to return, please contact me directly to make your arrangements.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    499
    154
    71
    29
See reviews for
201
418
77
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

On arrival, we were treated with warmth and hospitality. Our concierge - Gerry- was generous with his advice and humor. He made our short stay in Montreal a very special experience by providing us with useful information and support. We can't thank him enough! Room was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. Great Location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear NorthEastSienna,
We really appreciate your valuable feedback and we thank you for your 5-star review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you appreciated team’s warmth and hospitality, as well as our spacious and comfortable guestrooms. Moreover, we are thrilled to know that Gerry, our concierge offered you some of his insider knowledge and that it allowed you to live some authentic Montreal experiences while staying with us!
We certainly look forward to having you back!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Most beautiful Hotel with the most welcoming and warm staff. They were very attentive towards myself and my friend. The room was spacious , amazing view , very beautiful , relaxing , clean and the bed oh my , best sleep I have ever had.
The bars , VIP lounge , Restaurant Osco were absolutely amazing!!
I can't wait to stay again and I've already recommended to everyone I know that if they want a stress free stay that you'll leave with a smile on your face , this is the place to go.
I honestly can not recommend this hotel more than I have already.
You will not be disappointed.
P.S. If you want to experience Montreal in a stress free manor , this is the way

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Krisandra B,
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your comments with our team and we thank you for your 5 star review of our property. We are absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed the warm service you received from our staff, the spacious guestrooms and the stunning views they offer, the comfortable beds, as well as our bar, restaurant and club lounge. We sincerely look forward to having you back soon, for another stress free vacation!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Assomption, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

So I had the chance to stay at this beautiful hotel this weekend where I was greeted to a fast, friendly check in. Our room was quite spacious and the beds are just so comfy. The club option is a great feature when spending a quiet weekend with friends. Service is outstanding with quite a selection of food and drinks. I will definitely stay at this hotel again as the staff and service makes you feel welcomed, relaxed and go out of their way to make your stay a special one.

Thanks again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Glenn M,

We thank you for a 5-star review of our property, your feedback is much appreciated by our
team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spacious and comfortable
guestrooms, our food and drink selection at the Club Signature Lounge, as well as the warm
service offered by our staff.

We look forward to having you back in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Big corporate hotel looking tired . Average food , extortionate Internet prices . Rooms smell musty because the windows don't open ... You can smell the person who slept in the room prior to you .

On an up note the staff are lovely and the rooms are big ... Shame they felt so stuffy .

The hotel is near the old town , and the metro ... And the Westin is just next door ;-). There is also free Internet at the Starbucks on rue antoine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Dogduckcow,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our team following your
stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, near Old Montreal
and the subway stations. Also, we appreciate your warm comments regarding the size of
the guestrooms and the friendliness of our staff members. On the other hand, we are sorry
to hear that you felt our hotel looked tired, as it was fully renovated in 2009,it is true that
taste cannot be disputed. As for the internet connection, you will be glad to know that it
will be offered on a complimentary basis to all our IHG Rewards Club members starting next
January.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great weekend at the Intercontinental Montreal. Superb location in beautiful Old Montreal, adjacent to the World Trade Center and connected to Montreal's underground city through it's metro system. Well appointed room, very comfortable bed. Service is uneven and plain bad at the Sarah B. bar. Sunday brunch was way too expensive for offering. Valet parking is also ridiculously expensive. Nonetheless, it's a nice hotel but updating the rooms' decor would be well advised.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on high a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear MontrealMot,
We thank you for your five-star review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location, in the heart of the city, close to the underground city and two subway stations. Also, we thank you for your warm comments regarding our well-appointed and comfortable guestrooms. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that your experience in our bar and restaurant did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and thank you for sharing your important feedback with us
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff were friendly and very helpful, particularly the concierge. Lobby of the hotel and business centre is modern however we stayed in the illustrous suite and the room appeared very dark and old. Great location and everything else about the hotel was great maybe some of the rooms just need a refresh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear insearchofcool,

We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments with our team following your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your positive remarks regarding the staff and the concierges’ helpfulness, as well as our great location in the heart of Montreal. We are sorry to hear that you did not appreciate the warm tones of the guestrooms and the modern decor from our recent renovations.

We certainly hope to see you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
#41 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#44 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.