We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Montreal

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #45 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
TO
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Steps to old Montreal, it is a good location for that. Metro is close by, underneath the attached mall. Walkable to popular establishments like Schwartz (25mins), shops of Saint Catherine (10min). So location is good.

The hotel was renovated 2 years ago, so it looks and feels better. Room service was quick. Free to use gym and pool. The corner room offers good views and quite spacious. Pillow was too soft, had a hard time sleeping.

My only beef is the public parking below the hotel. It's $3.50 for 20mins. We parked for 1.5 hours and it somehow came to $18. If you are driving, use the valet service, $32 + tax. This allows you to go in and out freely for 1 price. And you don't have to drive down to P9 to park!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Gifu,
We thank you very much for sharing your comments following your most recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great location, in the heart of the city, close to many restaurants and attractions. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our comfortable and spacious Intimate Corner Room, as well as the stunning views of the city from this room. As for the parking, it is true that the valet parking rate provides in and out privileges, which can be very useful if you plan on using your car while staying with us.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    434
    135
    61
    25
See reviews for
177
362
63
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great hotel in general, very clean and well maintained. For me the location is PERFECT! Yes I understand why people say it’s a “Business district” BUT Old Montreal is literally right there 500 meters away and within walking distance of most other you want to go to. Also very close to two Metro if you want. For me it was made 5 stars by Jamil? Working on the Concierge on New Year’s Eve, couldn’t have been any nicer and helpful. While he was stuck with the late night shift he couldn’t have seemed any happier to help out. Made one phone call and got us into places that were fully booked no issues at all! Stay here for that reason alone. Thanks to him in particular and Bernard (the Manager) for making this a very special weekend, your kindness was much appreciated.

Room Tip: I always ask for high floor with view of river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Trimada,
What a pleasure it is to read about your recent visit. We are absolutely thrilled to know that you made the most of our great location, just a few steps from Old Montréal and close to the downtown area. Also, we thank you for your kind comments in regards to our Concierge Jamil. It is always gratifying to receive a review pointing out a good performance. You may rest assured that your gracious comments were transmitted to Jamil, who most certainly appreciated them.
We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Intercontinental last year for New Years and to kick off our 30th year wedding anniversary. We had such a great time, as the Concierge and service attendants were so helpful to ensure our stay was comfortable we came back for the 2012/2013 New Years holiday. When we entered our room, which looked out to the River, there was a tray of chocolate goodies welcoming us and wishing us a happy 31st wedding anniversary. Our room was plenty big and a big bathroom with a separate tub and shower.The hotel is within walking distance to all the great restaurants in the old port, and the metro, and of course the Place Jacques-Cartier where Montreal's New Years Eve party takes place. Great fireworks and music, sorry New York this is the place. The hotel doesn't stock the sensor refrigerator so you can use it for all the great food items you accumulate. Concierge was very helpful with all our questions regarding local attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Birchwoodshed,
What a pleasure to have you back at our hotel! We are absolutely delighted to hear about your most recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing your positive comments about our concierge and front desk teams and rest assured that they will be passed along. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your spacious room with a 4-fixture bathroom offering stunning views of the city and the little treat we had left for you. Finally, it is absolutely true that Montréal is a great New-Year’s Eve destination and we are happy you could make the most of your visit!
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The InterContinental Montreal is a wonderful hotel.

The location is perfect. It is connected to the indoor mall, reducing the impact of Quebec's harsh winter weather. When you're ready to brave the cold, the fantastic restaraunts of St Paul and old Montreal are an easy < 5 minute walk away.

The hotel itself has very nice rooms with a modern feel, decent size and near sauna level bathrooms. There are mutliple restaraunts attached to the hotel of various price points and delicacy but all are good. There is also good exercise space, a pool and a club lounge perfect for business travelers.

The only negative (and the reason I could not give 5 stars) is that the in-room internet connection has been bad on 3 out of my 5 stays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Zerolex,
We thank you for your 4-star review of our property. We are glad to know that you have had a great stay with us and we are delighted to read your warm comments regarding our wonderful location, our nice guestrooms, the delicious cuisine offered in our restaurants and our Club Lounge, perfect for business travelers. We also appreciate your comments regarding the Internet connection, as we are currently working to improve the system.
We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are Platinum members with IHG (I should more accurately say WERE). The InterContinental Montreal was in a good location, but that is the ONLY positive. The management is rude and uncaring. Pillows were awful, everyday we would ask for more and they would bring them 1 at a time and then take them away the next day with the cleaning. The concierge seemed "put out" that we asked her about a particular Christmas symphony that we wanted to attend - it was a combination program with a narrative with it and we specifically asked her if it was bilingual and in English. She emphatically stated "yes" and more-or-less rolled her eyes at us. When we arrived at the program it was only in French and unfortunately the narrative was more than half the program. In any case, I spoke with the available manager, Fadi Hobeiche, when we returned to the hotel and he was rude and indifferent. He even called me a liar when I told him the situation (why would I lie about that?) Even though the tickets for the event cost me about $110 CAN, he would not even accept any responsibility of his concierge's direction or compensate me. It was all-in-all a terrible experience with them. Stay at the Westin next door instead -- has the same good location. My experience at this hotel has caused me to rethink my loyalty at IHG and I am going back to Starwood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Latesho,
We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are really sorry to hear what happened during your recent stay and we cannot apologize enough for the experience you had while staying with us. We take full responsibility for the information you received from our concierge and we sincerely apologize for the fact that you were misinformed. We would like to offer a reimbursement for the cost of the tickets. Please contact us and ask to be directed to our Electronic Marketing Manager who will take care of that for you.
We certainly hope to regain your trust and confidence.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Surly unhelpful staff at reception. I asked where the airport bus stopped and was told to see the concierge even though they were just stood around. I waited 15 mins to see the very overworked lady to be told the ind word answer. This was a pattern! Wait on average of 10 mins and then to be told that you can ask a quick question! I stayed for 6 nights and had to ask every single day to have the coffee replenished. Bar had run out of bog standard house wine and
Finally got an over priced glass of wine but not until she had finnished watching the news report on tv. Went for breakast just the once and the person allocating tables was reading a novel. Final straw was to find out on my 6 th day when i was checking out that an urgent parcel had arrived on the first day and on-one thought to mention it!!! It was diabolical! The only helpful person was the pool attendant!!! Be careful not to pay fir the 10 dollar bottle of water in room and very expensive wifi! They are having a laugh surely????? Ŷ

Room Tip: Dont,t go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Christine I,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with our team following your stay with us. We truly apologize for your experience while staying at our property and we are most sorry to hear that our team did not live up to your expectations and to our own standards. We are always aiming at providing a warm welcome and an efficient service and are very sorry that on this occasion we did not succeed in making your stay memorable.
We certainly hope to have another chance.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental Montreal, over Christmas, with my fiance for 5 nights. The hotel and its staff treated us wonderfully. We had a large king room on the 23rd floor with an amazing city view. When we checked into the room we found that it only had one bathrobe, one quick call to the front desk brought a second bathrobe within 20 minutes. The staff of the hotel was great, Jamil (a concierge at the hotel) was particularly helpful. He told us about all the hot-spots in Montreal and directed us to some great restaurants (even making reservations for us on Christmas Eve!). The location of the hotel is also fantastic. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Notre Dame, a 10 minute walk from great restaurants on Mcgill and St. Paul, and a 15 minute walk from Old Port. The only downside at the hotel is that there is no minibar in your room and that the internet is expensive. Overall the Intercontinental helped make this a wonderful Christmas trip for me and my fiance.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room on a high floor with a City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#39 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.