We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Montreal Bonaventure to your Saves list
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“This place was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

My wife and I drove to Montreal with another couple from Niagara falls after getting a good quote over the phone, the layout is a bit strange as when you walk in the front entrance that didn't look like a hotel you need to take an elevator upto the lobby, I heard the place was originally for olympic athletes and then turned into a hotel! this probably explains the layout. We checked into what we thought would be identical rooms as we paid the same price, no, ours was pretty small compared to the room my friend was given. The outdoor pool was good. The hotel is in a pretty good location and looked clean, I would try a different hotel next time though. Concierge were helpful and got us tickets to see the Canadiens play, although we all got nose bleeds!!

  • Liked — outdoor pool, across from Tim Horton's and Mc donald's
  • Disliked — The whole layout and my small room, andd had to walk for 5 mins to find ice
  • Stayed October 2002, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    491
    183
    51
    26
See reviews for
234
289
60
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

The Bonaventure Hilton sits located alongside the Marriott, Delta and other upscale, similar properties. It occupies the top two floors of Place Bonaventure making the entrance to the Hotel a bit difficult to find. Although the entrance would appear to be at street level the Hotel itself is 17 floors up via two dedicated elevators. It sounds strange but it's well done and with a touch of class. Parking is conveniently located below the complex and at $17 CA per 24 hour period is priced about $2 more than the lot across the street. Apparently the train station and subway are below but with the pleasant weather we found it enjoyable to walk about the town. Upon exiting the elevator it is a pleasant experience to walk in a glassed hallway between gardens and a wonderful heated outdoor pool. Check-in was speedy and pleasant. We immediately felt right at home by the very professional staff. Although a king bed was not an option on the internet site they happily found one for us, a quiet garden view. We did have to walk down some steps to our level (no problem for us but possibly for some) and were happy to find a room that seemed recently updated and was rather large and fancy. Fresh cookies and tasty chocolates made a nice touch. The modern marble bath, though not large in comparison to the room was huge by NYC or European standards. The bed was extremely comfortable. Heat and A/C were quiet and effective. The windows open. There was a nice wide screen LCD TV. The Wifi was intermittant at best, somewhat of a disappointment, but we managed to get an email check. (There is a wired option). The bar and restaurant (with fixed-price option) were first rate. We walked to the Old City in only 10 minutes, a safe walk even at night. Altogether a hard to beat experience.

  • Liked — Amazingly comfortable bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a bathing suit.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

Stayed here for a weekend getaway in August - me and 3 kids. Check-in fine, but then we tried to go to our room. Despite seeing me check in with 2 small children and a baby in a stroller, I was booked in a room as far away from the entrance as possible and up as many flights of stairs as possible. The hotel is set on 2-3 floors, all connected by short flights of stairs - there were 6 flights of stairs to get to our room and no elevator! After I complained, they directed me through a back hallway to a service elevator, that meant that I "only" had to take the stroller up 3 flights of stairs.

Rooms OK - not updated except for bathroom, filthy carpet - not what you'd expect at a Hilton - there are much nicer rooms for the same price in Montreal.

Would have been OK if not for the fact that we could not get to our room without dragging a stroller upstairs. They really ought to warn you about this on their website.

Definitely avoid this place if you have a stroller, if you are at all physically disabled or you do not want to walk LONG distances.

  • Liked — Location and pool
  • Disliked — No elevators. Outdated rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid if stroller, disabled
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

This hotel is situated in an excellent, safe location in downtown Montreal. It is near the train station and is within walking distance to most tourist attractions.

The metro is conveniently located in the basement.

Our rooms were quiet, clean, and comfortable; however, one of our "non-smoking" rooms smelled like an ash tray (apparently this a frequent occurrence at the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure according to previous reviews).

The carpeting is very worn (with cigarette holes in it).

We were afraid to lay our clothing on the bed comforters as they appeared old (decades?) and dingy. All the furnishings are dated.

Our bed was very comfortable and we got a great nights sleep.
The best thing about this hotel is that it was quiet.

The sheets were fresh and didn't reek of bleach. The bathroom was clean with typical (low) hotel water pressure.

The free in-room coffee was excellent.

We had an awesome view and the windows opened for fresh air!
The individual climate control worked great and wasn't noisy.

It is difficult to locate the hotel due to minimal signage.
The lobby is hard-to-find because you have to take an elevator to the top floor to check-in; however, there is no signage indicating this fact.

It is also difficult navigating your way back to the hotel from the metro due to lack of signage.

Staff was friendly for the most part, if not a bit pretentious.

We recommend eating at "The Keg" in Old Montreal. We had a corner "window seat" overlooking historic St. Paul Street which was very romantic. The food was amazing.

We also recommend "Plein Jus" juice available at the IGA store in Complex des Jardins.

Avoid the "light show" at Notre Dame as it's a total tourist trap. It is mostly a cheesy "film" and not really a "light" show.

I would rate this a 3-star hotel at best.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed in 2 rooms in this property on the Labor day weekend. I found the earlier reviews to be fairly accurate. This is a nice, clean hotel with a good location and efficient staff. The concierge is helpful though she can be really busy during weekends (she was the only one at the concierge desk throughout our 3 days of stay). The Reception staff was corteous and helpful. The pool was small but satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a conference in Montreal. It was our first visit to the city and we loved it. The Bonaventure was in a great location, very close to the Metro station and close enough to walk to the conference site (by Old Montreal). What was charming was the layout of the hotel - all rooms on 2-3 floors, no elevator rides after you arrived at the lobby. The hotel was smaller and quieter than the other hotels suggested by the conference organizers. Rooms were large and clean. The service and front desk staff were terrific, especially Chantal, the concierge on duty for most of the week.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothiing really
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

My husband and I (age 30) stayed 3 nights for a very good price through priceline at 60% off advertised price. I would rate as 3.5 out of 5. The rooms were comfortable, large, clean, and outdated. I would return to this hotel for one reason- the pool!! Exceptionally nice...not for small children as goes 4-6ft very quickly.

Staff helpful.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — outdated rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Montreal Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Montreal Bonaventure 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Montreal Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.