We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Bonadventure review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Montreal Bonaventure to your Saves list
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Bonadventure review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The stay was overall very enjoyable. It is a very nice hotel aesthetically and the staff is very friendly. There are many activities to do to occupy your time such as the heated outdoor pool. The rooms are in good shape and nicely furnished. However, the sound proofing is not well done, as we were able to hear much of what was going on outside in the hallways and between rooms with connecting doors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your visit. We are glad that you had an overall enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    489
    183
    51
    26
See reviews for
234
288
60
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a wonderful, very comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurants and bars are very good and serve good food. The rooms are very comfortable and modern. The furniture in the rooms is made in Canada......very important to me. Will be back to this hotel again to experience Montreal in another season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Fantastic review! Thank you for sharing your keen observations with your TripAdvisor readers and for the top score. Our culinary team is thrilled that you enjoyed the food. We'd love to see you again this spring when our trees start to bloom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Bonaventure is a unique hotel. Spread out over only 3 floors, it seems like some folks don't like that it's not more of a 'vertical' hotel. I like the arrangement. I also very much like the poured-concrete construction, and the very clean-lined furnishings. The heated pool is a delight in the winter (the time of my visit). We had great service from everyone we encountered: front desk staff, housekeepers, and restaurant employees. I'm looking forward to our next visit to the Bonaventure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for liking our very original building and for pointing out the great service you received during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When you visit Montreal, the Hilton Bonaventure is the place to stay at. Enjoy the hospitality of the great staff such as Michel Tyan, Mauro, Chantal and others. They truly represent the great tradition of the Hilton brand. If you are looking for a memorable stay, check in at the Hilton Bonaventure in downtown Montreal. This is how hospitality ought to be. Thank you for entire Hilton staff for making our stay a memorable one. We will back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Many thanks for such a glowing review! Please be assured that all the team members you have listed have been recognized for their high quality of service. They truly appreciate the time you took to write about them and our hotel. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Clearly the draw is the only outdoor roof-top pool in Montreal, heated year round. Breakfast at $24 is beyond a family budget, and better to get cereal for the room (which has a fridge). Duck pond also a nice touch. A more expensive hotel than others, but in winter is a treat

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us this winter and we hope to see you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed here one night while going to see a hockey game. The location was great for going to the Bell Centre and you can access most of the underground city from the hotel. It is a little confusing finding the route to St Catherine street or to the Bell Centre but once you figure out it is very useful, especially if it were cold outside.
It is a little confusing getting from the underground up to the hotel. Once you get up to the hotel you eventually find the from desk. Service was efficient and check in was quick. Although the decor is dated it does feel like a quiet place removed from the business of the city. The decor in the lobby is nice but the walls and some of the decor have a throwback to the Expo 67 style. The walls are concrete which is supposed to be decorative but sort of looks like it would hurt your hands if you touched it. For kids it would be tempting to touch I am sure. The carpet also has a dated look, but it is not shag just not modern looking.
The outdoor area is very beautiful with gardens, waterfalls and ducks. It creates a relaxing feeling and there is a lot of comfortable seating available. You do see people sitting, lounging and reading which makes you feel like a you are on vacation.
The highlight of the hotel and the reason that I would choose to stay here again is the nice outdoor pool. Although, it was cold it is heated year round. It is a nice place to swim in the summer and the winter. I recall that there use to be an indoor part of the pool many years ago but obviously they got rid of it for some reason.
The room itself was comfortable and typically Hilton. Toiletries were good and the sheets and towels were good quality. The bed was comfortable and the room was not noisy despite it's downtown location.
I found drinks and breakfast to be very overpriced. Next time I would eat at Tim Horton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your informative review! I'm glad that you had a good stay with us. Our architecture is quite unique and special. Our decor is focused on the balancing of the concrete with our outdoor space so it has a lot of wood paneling and warm earth tones. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Over the years I have stayed at this hotel many times (both pleasure and business). First of all, the location is ideal. You can park your car in the parking garage and never use it again til you leave the city. You can choose to walk outside - you are close to shops, food and the Molson Center. You can choose to walk underground thru the shopping plaza's or you can grab a taxi out front of the hotel.
The rooms are starting to need a bit of an upgrade. An earlier review mentioned that the hotel has an 70' - 80's atmosphere. I have to agree with him. Time for some new decorating to bring the hotel up to par. However, the hotel is clean and has all the amenities you will need. Beds are comfy and rooms are spacious. The service is typcial Hilton - all you have to do is ask and they will do whatever they can to meet your expectations.
The outdoor heated pool is always a plus.... especially in the winter!
The outside view is beautiful. Montreal is a great city to visit and the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure is a great place to stay while doing so. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Tons of great diners and restaruants only a walk from the hotel.

I had a situation on one of my visits where a drunk man was pounding on my door and yelling to let him in. It was a bit scarey as I was alone. However, I called the front desk and security came right away and escorted the gentleman off (he had gotten lost and thought he was at his room). The front desk later called to ensure I was okay. The next evening they called again to make sure everything was okay. I thought it was great follow up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors with a view of the city or of the Duck Pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we took care of you so well. Your comments about our decor is noted and they will be taken into consideration as we plan our next renovations. We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Montreal Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Montreal Bonaventure 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Montreal Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.