We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Bonaventure, Montreal Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hilton Montreal Bonaventure to your Saves list
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hilton Bonaventure, Montreal Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I are Hilton Gold Card Members which gives us an opportunity to stay at all levels of Hilton properties on our vacations and business travels. This hotel in one the best that we have stayed in from the quality of the room, the staff, the front desk was excellent.

The front desk helped with walking maps, points of interest and restaurants. I highly recommend this location if you are going to Montreal.

Don't even worry about not speaking French or using your HS French, everyone speaks English.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a teenager, ask for a room with a pull out sofa instead of two queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank very much for this fabulous review. I will be more than happy to let our staff know that you appreciated the excellent service you received while staying with us. It is true that our rooms with pull out sofa are very popular with families. We are looking forward to your next visit in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    485
    178
    51
    26
See reviews for
234
284
60
376
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights with my sister and our four children. We had connecting rooms which was great even though we could here the elevator due our room location. The staff were fantastic with the kids, especially when I was managing all on my own! My daughter lost her stuffed seal toy during a room cleaning but we are hopeful it will be returned. The staff are going out of their way to help. I would like to thank them all and recommend the Hilton to anyone travelling with kids! The pool was also a great hit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this amazing review. We are pleased to learn that our staff made a difference on your stay experience. I must say that we enjoyed taking care of our "mini guests". We are sure that your children will love to swim in our heated pool during winter also. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alysonpet
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 12 nights during August.
Pros:-
Great location
Comfortable beds
Outdoor pool
Great service in the Executive Lounge - Guy and Emma were exceptionally hospitable!
Cons:-
Hotel is very 60's (lots of exposed concrete)
Noisy a/c
Bathrooms dated - no showers
Drinks very expensive

Room Tip: Front of hotel with city view - garden view rooms are quiet but boring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to write this nice review. The Tripadvisor community will be pleased to learn that our hotel offers great features such as a heated rooftop pool, gardens and great location. Guy and Emma are amazing hospitality ambassadors and they will be pleased to know that it was acknowledged by you. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Convienently located near the Gare Centrale and a Metro station. Restaurants accross the street. The service was excellent. The room was just renovated and the pool on the roof was very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the city view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on our heated roof top pool. Our staff will be very pleased to know that they provided you with excellent service during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Date of stay: 8-11 August 2013 Staff seemed genuinely welcoming and very helpful. The reception staff were full of smiles every time I spoke to them - delightful. Negatives - very few really... the bathroom door tended to stick a bit, caused a few problems for the kids. That's all. Beds - superbly comfortable. Climate control - they like to crank that in-room A/C and it was very effective. I would ease it back. No need to use all that power. We chose this hotel because of its central location, its roof garden and its all-season outdoor pool. LOCATION I think it took us 5 minutes to walk from the train station across the road to the Hilton. It would have been quicker but we came out of the train station on the other side and had to walk round the CN building. So if you have Maps on your smartphone, you'll do it quicker than we did (no tech). OPEN AIR POOL Their website had pictures of snow around the pool and people swimming in it at night with the pool lights on. We had to try that out! The pool was great - a steady 84 degrees and open from 6am till 10pm. Lots of poolside seating and lounging if that's your thing. The poolside bar was great - though I only ordered lunch from there. Hot dog was listed at $5, but when it came it was a total bargain... 2 hot dogs and a salad with choice of dressing! Very tasty. ROOF GARDEN We were enchanted with the roof garden. Such a lot of care had clearly gone into the planning and ongoing maintenance making it a superb greenspace at the top of this city building. Our kids were amazed to find ducks on its engineered waterways and ecstatic that they had ducklings. The sound of waterfalls is nearly omnipresent as they are regularly placed, and you can walk the granite block stepping stone paths. It does not feel like being in a city up on the roof garden. There was a member of staff (Polish, I believe) who we saw feeding the ducks on Thursday afternoon. I think I made his day when I suggested he had the best job in the hotel! He told us that a couple of the ducks stay year-round and the rest fly in from and return to the States. Smart ducks - easy living in a predation-free space as the ducklings grow up. It was excellent to connect with people at this hotel and on our next visit to Montreal, we will try to book here before looking anywhere else. I can't wait to try the rooftop open air pool in the winter! Amazing stuff. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a beautiful review about our hotel and staff. The ducks are know as our "featherly Hilton member" and it is always exciting to welcome the new duckling every year. On behalf of every one at the hotel, we thank you for having taken the time to acknowledge the great and friendly service you received during your stay. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here passing through town, seduced by the pictures of roof gardens and outdoor pool.
It's at the top of a 60's building, which is of some architectural merit if you like brutalism. Rather lovely and interesting concrete stairs. However the furniture and carpets are a little shabby and undermine what could be a very chic building.
The biggest problem however was the service. Uniformed concierges watched us struggling with our bags in and out of the lifts, although the receptionist was fine, asking politely which language we preferred.
But breakfast time was miserable. The sun was splitting the sky on the loveliest of days, btu the waiter refused our request to eat outside as 'the weather wasn't good enough.' Ho ho. Try Scotland mate. When we insisted really wanted to take our breakfast outside he told us it was 'closed'. Quite ridiculous.
Also no service of any kind round the small pool or indeed anywhere outside in the lovely gardens, even though closed bars and tarpaulin covered BBQs hinted that there was at one time. Understandable in low season, but in August??!
To sum up, it's not really a Hilton. It's almost as though the chain have forgotten it's here and the staff have stopped caring. Shame, as the roof gardens are really very lovely. We stayed at the Grand Hyatt on the trip back through town and it was much,much better.

Room Tip: Our room looked inwards to the gardens and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maude V, Front Office Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having exceed your expectations. We trust that you will not judge us on this one experience and that in your future travels we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I recently visited Montreal for two nights and stayed at this Hilton. Location puts you in proximity to many attractions. Service was excellent and staff friendly. If you need to park a car, use the valet as this allows you unlimited access since the parking lot is privately owned and if you self park your car, you have to pay every time you exit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a positive review about our hotel. I truly appreciate your kind words about how you found the service excellent and the staff friendly. They work very hard and of course, they love to hear from happy guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Montreal Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Montreal Bonaventure 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Montreal Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.