We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bonaventure Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lebanon, NH, United States
1 review
“Great pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel has a terrific pool--an entirely enjoyable experience and the main reason we'd go back. The restaurant is also excellent, at least for breakfast, the only meal we had there. Avoid the bar, however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for letting the TripAdvisor community know how much you liked our outdoor heated pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    566
    208
    63
    31
See reviews for
286
335
67
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel on a city setting. Lovely pool and lush gardens. Very nice common areas. The executive lounge was a great bonus and provided substantial breakfasts, appetizers and desserts. The kids were happy to have appetizers after a long afternoon in the pool. Be careful when booking, I was sure I had been told that my room included access to the executive lounge and when I arrived the front desk said we did not have access. The excellent front desk staff were very reasonable and after a short conversation, they fixed the error and our family was happy. They have great facilities for families with bicycles (we had 4) and stored them in the storage room on the ground floor. The pool did get a bit "spring break"/frat house on Saturday afternoon with a bachelor party having swim races with beer chugging. Security was called in pretty swiftly. You could walk from this hotel to Montreal park. We rode to the old town/port and Atwater market easily on the well marked bike tracks. Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: large suites/L shaped rooms with a king and a pull out coach are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I appreciate the fantastic review you took the time to write! Thank you for describing so well our hotel and the gardens. It's especially wonderful that you found our front desk staff to be excellent. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am rating this hotel based on other Hilton hotels (or equivalent) I have stayed in. We stayed here for one night at the Montreal Jazz Festival. The hotel has made some changes since 2007. Notably, the Executive Lounge has been completely refurbished and is much larger, nicer, and has very good food selections for both dinner and breakfast. Unless you're really hungry, you can skip at least one meal a day by eating here, if not twice. The Executive Lounge staff is very polite.

The hotel has also nicely added small ramps to the "stairs" between sections so you can roll your suitcase. This hotel has a very strange layout, with many small sections of rooms separated by flights of four to ten stairs. In 2007, you had to carry your suitcase up and down the stairs. I know it sounds like I am being lazy, but this time I had a room close to the lobby and there were four separate sets of stairs between the lobby and the room. The ramps were a nice change.

The pool and gym were average for a Hilton.

The rooms were very clean and very quiet. Location is good for downtown Montreal, the Jazz Festival, and getting down to the riverfront.

Parking was $21 a night in a garage under the hotel. The downside is there are no in/out privileges. Valet parking is available, but costs $42 per day.

There are tunnels linking much of Montreal with underground shopping malls, etc. for the winter. The Hilton sits on top of one of the tunnels.

Finally, Montreal's central train station (Gare Central) is across the street. There is a food court there, but that phrase doesn't really do it justice. There are regular restaurants, a full liquor store, and over twenty different sandwich, gyro, whatever stalls, there. If you cannot find something that strikes your fancy, you probably are not hungry. The food court also attaches to the underground pedestrian tunnel system.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "inside," facing the courtyards. They are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for noticing and mentioning all the great improvements that have been made since 2007! We have read and listened to a thousand (probably more!) constructive suggestions that guests like yourself were nice enough to share with us over time and made the necessary improvements. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

For the past 15 years, I have been a frequent guest to this hotel and would like to make other regular guests aware of a significant change to the hotel's service that I found on my last two visits (early spring and again early July) which I believe result from the hotel intentionally cutting labor hours/costs. Other than an extremely limited light fare menu, you are no longer able to order food in the bar. The only dining option available is the formal dining room. The dining room is very nice but is not even close to the type of atmosphere I am looking for when traveling alone. Another significant change is that during the week, the pool bar with food service is no longer available. I always enjoyed the option of being able to sit poolside for lunch and to enjoy the outdoor drink service throughout the day. In addition, it is clear that most if not all other staffing areas have been cut as well (i.e., hotel is not as clean as it was, weeds along the garden walkways, etc.) Despite their best efforts, the staff appear weary and frustrated with not being able to provide the service that know a Hilton customer would expect. While others may not be impacted by some of these changes, I am certain that these changes will be apparent to any frequent guest. I will be looking at other hotels for future stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have made changes to our food and beverage outlets because we now offer the possibility of dining on our lovely outdoor terracce for a complete breakfast, delicious lunch and tasty diner. Our dining room also features a section with a more casual setting with large flat screen TVs to watch a game or follow the latest news. Our bar is now operating as a bar with a light tapas menu that compliments well a nice glass of wine or a cold beer. We hope that you will come back and try out the new concept soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here one night this past weekend to attend Jazz Fest. Hotel was busy, but check-in was quick and efficient. Our room overlooked the garden so felt like we were far away from the city center, even though we were smack in the middle, walking distance to Jazz Fest and everywhere else one would want to be close to. Rooms were nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable Hilton beds. Would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit and for recommending us so highly to your readers. We look forward to your next stay at the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is close to shopping district, has an outdoor pool, nice restaurant. We were given a smoking room without warning and we are non-smokers. The room had a strong smell, very unpleasant. Not happy about it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Please accept my sincerest apologies about the mistake we made with the room assignment. We hope that you will come back and experience our hotel again in a non-smoking room that we will gladly assign to you prior to your arrival. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is on he top floor of a building that looks like it went thru a war, or right out of Moscow old cement block buildings. Rooms are ok all the modern amenities . The lobby and bar area, reminded me of a cheap hotel or bar. The dining room depressing, old and poor service.
Location saves it.

Room Tip: Don't expect much
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you on a futur visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,643 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Marriott Chateau Champlain
Marriott Chateau Champlain
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.