We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Montreal Bonaventure to your Saves list
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Year's Eve Package
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Okay, but expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I recently was a guest here....4 nights the first time, then travelled and back again for one night. The rooms are clean and the bed comfortable. Loved the ducks in the water. However, it is way overpriced. I paid $350 a night, not including taxes (which are high in Canada). The hotel restaurant is very expensive....something like $40 for a meal without a starter. You are forced to eat there since I did not see any restaurants in the immediate area, aside from cafes in Place Ville Marie. They have a lovely outdoor garden to eat, however, it was always closed!! Location is right across the street from tons of shopping and the train station. The outdoor pool is nice, but do not like chlorine pools. They also advertise that they have a spa, which is untrue. I had a pedicure and someone came to my room. That service cost $95 without a tip. And the service was only average. Your room is the spa. Also my room the first time around had a very ugly view of some equipment (not sure what it is called). Also, no internet service unless you pay.

To sum it up....this hotel is a good choice if you want to be close to Central Station and shopping, or if you have business to do right in the area, however, I do not think it is worth the value of the money they charge. You can't go wrong, because it is clean and comfortable, but I would look around for something that gives more for your money (if it exists, of course).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, unless you don't care and plan to spend little time in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Our Castillon dining room offers meals all day on their beautiful outdoor terrace during the week and our pool bar area has a Chef cooking BBQ for everyone at very affordable prices on weekends. our WIFI is free in every room and in public areas. You simply have to log in with your name and room number to get it started. We hope that you will be visiting again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    491
    183
    51
    26
See reviews for
234
289
60
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The room, location and internet speed were all fine. Maid service was excellent--for 3 days, she came in while I was eating breakfast the timing was great and she replenished all lotions, soaps, etc (which many hotels don't do anymore). There was a "crop" of baby and teenage ducks along with some of the fattest adult ducks I've seen in the waterways that had little seats throughout. We didn't use the pool, but they have an opening inside that you can use to swim out during the colder weather and stay in the warm water.

The only negative was (as others have mentioned) steps to taking luggage up and/or down.

We were comped breakfast buffet passes. The food was fine in an European-type of breakfast with sliced meats, hard boiled eggs, cheese, juices, fruit, yogurt, pancakes and pastries. You can pay more for a hot buffet if you want. All the waiters need to do is bring you coffee and take your plates away, but service is spotty. One day I was ignored and finally got up myself and took a coffee carafe from the waiters' station, so don't be shy about doing so. The next day I had great service and the waiter even brought over a take-out cup.

This is very close to the train station, so if you're on your own for breakfast you can go there and have several good choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! I appreciate your note about the maid service being excellent. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good service, very clean, nicely decorated, bed was comfortable with nice linens and very quiet in the room. Pool looked nice and I would come back again. Breakfast buffet was also good. It is a bit odd that the hotel starts on the 21st floor but you'll get over that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This location is excellent,close to all major tourist and business attractions. The rooms and the staff were excellent. The room had an excellent view of downtown and was very clean.I strongly recommend this hotel! I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much your compliments on our hotel and staff! I truly appreciate that you strongly recommend the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Who'd of thought that 17 stories above the bustling downtown there exists a secluded quiet garden with a heated pool, quiet secluded lounge areas, and spa facilities. The hotel was great The view from my window was lush greenery. The staff was great. An overall very good hotel. There's no mini bar but there is a fridge in the room you can stock yourself. Turn down service on request.
The location is a across the street from the huge underground mall. I met a person who was lost in the mall for two weeks and still hadn't seen all that it had to offer.(Kidding)
One word of caution. Ask for a NON-ADJOINING room. The doors are paper thin and you can here the people in the next room breathing.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms. Doors are way too thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
What a great review! You've describe our hotel very well and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of downtown Montreal. Its funny because when you come into the hotel, you immediately have to get on a elevator but you have no idea how many floors you're actually going up. There's only one button and its for the lobby. But once you come out of the elevator, outside of the lobby you see the pool and trees and lake surrounding with ducks everywhere- you forget that this is all on a ROOFTOP. Pretty amazing concept. We had a great time. Pool was fantastic, perfect water temperate. The first day there were a few too many kids for my liking but we still enjoyed it. The drinks, although tasty, were crazy expensive though, like $10-12 a pop. Even the beers were $8 I think. The room was nice and clean and spacious. Great bed also. The location of the hotel is also great, lots of shops and restaurants a few blocks away and also close to old Montreal. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm very appreciative of the review you've taken the time to write about our hotel! We hope that you will come back with the kids this summer or just as a couple for a nice getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

All hotels could learn from the staff at the Bonaventure. As a regular guest, I am always treated well - with smiles and 'welcome backs' - and am provided with great service and accommodation. The roof-top setting with its pool and expansive park-like environment make for a relaxing visit. I recommend this hotel to all of my family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are grateful for your fantastic review of our hotel, but especially for your continued patronage and loyalty. The entire team appreciates you immensely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Montreal Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Montreal Bonaventure

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#39 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Montreal Bonaventure 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Montreal Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Montreal Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.