We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, but..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bonaventure Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great location, but..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

yes. the hotel has a great location in the city centre. and yes it even has an outdoor pool. but it really depends on why you are going there. i was there for two nights. wanting to go to bed early because of my work. also at one time wanting to rest during the afternoon. both was not possible. unfortunately my room was near the pool so all day long screaming kids ran past. and if it was not the kids it was the parents screaming after them. and if it was not the parents it was the cleaning ladies, having loud conversations in the corridors. don't forget the banging doors. it was just not possible to get some decent rest. well maybe it would be if you were deaf. and yes i did phone the reception about it. but they did not really care.

Room Tip: take a room far away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear about the noise issues you encountered and apologize you did not find the rest you desired during your visit. We know how important rest is while traveling and we will work with our security team to hopefully prevent similar issues moving forward. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 514-878-2332 if you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you,

Christina Poon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    521
    192
    55
    28
See reviews for
253
305
62
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been to Europe several times and know that Canada is a lot like Europe. With that said, I am more previ to American hotels. I had looked for one that I thought was more Americanized. I have to say, the Hilton Bonaventure is just that. It was neat having the staff first talk in French, but when you have that dumb look on your face, they quickly switch to English. The hotel was a typical Hilton and the expections were just as high. It was very clean and the beds were incredible. The pool was neat too since we went swimming outside when it was 30 degrees. They have a great work out facility also. My only complaint, and its very little is that it is confusing to find the hotel. It is located on the 15th floor and the elevator does not have numbers like the US one's. I would highly recommend staying here. Everything is in close walking distance and Catherine St. is a 10 minute walk, no need for a cab, trust me save your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your flattering review on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is uniquely laid out in a large square on the top two floors of the building, with the bar, restaurant, and pool in the middle. The decor of the lobby is a bit dated, but the rooms are beautiful and comfortable all around. Breakfast buffet options are quite nice as well! And the bar, and bar staff were extremely nice. The claim to fame of this hotel is the rooftop heated pool, which is fantastic even when temps are low or it's snowing. Definitely recommend this as a nice place to stay on business or leisure.

Room Tip: There are stairs leading to all the hallways, so if you don't want to lug your suit case down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the 5* review! You resumed perfectly what our hotel is all about. Your room tip about the stairs is also excellent. We'd be pleased to host you again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed over from feb 28th to march 3rd, it was an excellent stay, had problem with the toilet which was taken care of right away, and i mean , right away, room service for breakfast was unbelievable, the doorman "daniel" was friendly, curteous and reliable., of course the location of the hotel in right downtown where everything is at your fingers tips, this hotel is recommemded

Room Tip: prices are high compared to other hotels in the region....just saying
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a wonderful review that compliments our team! Thank you for your superb comments and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Bonaventure is a great hotel in Montreal - close to everything, making the city even more walkable than it already is.

For concerts, only a 5 minute walk to Bell Centre!

The grounds of the hotel make it a great place for special larger events.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for referring us as a great hotel for everyone including larger events. We have 395 guestrooms and over 45 000 square feet of meeting space available in our penthouse hotel. As you mentioned, we are well located in the downtown core. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ok...so the decor may be a bit dated, and rooms a little worn, but the wonderful, friendly service at the Hilton Montreal Bonaventure makes for an exceptional stay. I brought the family in for two days during our Vermont school vacation, and this hotel turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip. From the moment we pulled up to the entrance and were greeted by the personable doorman, every Hilton employee made us feel genuinely welcome. Most notable were the concierge, Chantal, who did an absolutely AMAZING job of lining up a car repair place after we had a mishap in the parking garage, and Guy, the morning shift host in the Club Bonaventure, who joked with the kids, gave us good tourist recommendations and was always in such good spirits that I couldn't help but smile.

We are a family of five and found the two Queen room suite with sofa bed plenty big for all of us. The location is ideal -- easy to find when coming in on Autoroute 10 and with underground access to the metro orange line. (Our metro trip to the Biodome took only 15 minutes!) The kids loved the outdoor pool. It is heated to 86 deg and open year round -- It's pretty fun to be swimming with snowflakes swirling around!

FYI, Club Bonaventure is the executive lounge for HHonors Gold/Diamond members. I agree with TOTravel_Gurl. Breakfast and happy hour at this lounge stand out in comparison to other Hilton lounges. They provide a unique variety of hot and cold foods AND very good beer and wine.

All in all a great experience...we'll have to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your superb comments about our team! We are happy that your family enjoyed the experience and we do hope to see you again this summer.

Christina Poon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Room was comfortable and clean, bed was comfortable and room temp was perfect. Hotel’s actual layout was interesting in that it’s on the top few floors of what appears to be an office building, so the description penthouse convention hotel is very applicable. Very large dance competition going on so checking in early was a little more difficult than what I’ve experienced anywhere else, but was still able to get into my room a little ahead of the 3PM time, can’t complain about that as it was still early. Very convenient to Bell Centre, can get there walking the tunnels, which is good on cold winter days and nights. Hotel was very easy to find and centrally located. Didn't eat or drink at the hotel. Gym was nicely equipped. Regardless of what the temperature is going to be, bring a swim suit as swimming outside when the temp is near 0 degrees Fahrenheit was awesome. Enter the pool from inside and then swim outside; you hardly ever notice how cold it really is out.
I would stay here again if I find myself in Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina P, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor! We do hope to see you again in Montreal soon.

Christina Poon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#25 Family Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.