We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bonaventure Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wanted to escape Black Friday madness in the US, came to Montreal (which we love) and chose the Bonaventure for their heated swimming pool and recent updates. Rooms are great, but the pool situation is a disaster. You have to use your keycard multiple times, then get a standard key from the lifeguard to enter a locked locker room and still another key for a locker. Worst of all, my 14 1/2 year old son and my 12 year old were not allowed to swim without me in the pool or standing in the pool area. Cold, huddled in the rain was I on my special Friday night. Big bummer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear VermontK,

First and foremost allow to apologize for the way we handled the situation with regards to the safety of your children while using the pool last week.

Although the safety of our guests and compliance to city codes is our upmost priority, we always promote with our employees a conciliatory approach when enforcing regulations. We are sorry our pool attendant did not manage to offer a better alternative to ensure a memorable time with your loved ones.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and invite you to call me directly. It would be our privileged to host you and your family again in order to demonstrate our dedication to delivering unforgettable family experience

LR Handfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    563
    207
    63
    30
See reviews for
282
334
67
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is on top of a conference centre, all rooms are off a main corridor that circles the roof top garden, inner rooms face trees, water features and resident ducks, outer rooms face parts of the city but as its only 7 floors high, views will be limited (try Marriott if view is important). Restaurant and bar area very nice, services all very efficient and clean. French is the 'home' language but Montreal is essentially bi-lingual so answer "Hi" to bonjour and everything is in English from there on (unless of course you wanto carry on in French - defeated my school French very quickly I'm afraid!). Breakfast is very good buffet is $23 plus tip, expensive! If I was paying I'd have gone for a walk and found a coffee shop

Woudl recommend thsi over the Marriot for restuarants and comon areas. Views better from Mrriott (especially if you ask to look ove the Cathedral side)

Room Tip: inside rooms seem better. For a small upgrade you could try for a king with sofa bed, just gives a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We certainly took good note of your comment about breakfast cost and are looking at introducing a more affordable alternative to the existing offering for 2013.

Sincerely,

LR Handfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a good place to stay in if you are in town for business. If you're in town on vacation you will have a little ways to walk to get to much of anything. With that said though, I was there for work and I had a good experience. I will proly be staying here next time I am in the city. It is located on the top floor of the building, so you have to take an elevator up to get to the lobby.

Oh and beware of the pricing for food at the bar. It is very over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Standard Hilton hotel -- older property but well maintained -- nice hot pool and gradens -- very quiet -- has a different vibe but is good -- easy access to downtown -- great staff -- helpful with directions, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, service, ambiance. Close to everything... but the airport!

Being on the top of the "Centre des Expositions", makes the place the most quiet hotel in downtown Montreal. If you travel by train you do not have to go outside to get to the hotel. Plenty of good restaurants in the area. Next door to the Exchange Tower, the International Business Centre and the whole downtown core.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the roof garden are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the outside, this hotel perched on the upper floors of a 1960's brutalist style concrete convention center looks uninspiring. However, it is an oasis of tranquility and calm amid the hustle and bustle of the city. With its gardens, swimming pool and open spaces, it actually feels warm and inviting. Typical, comfortable, Hilton rooms, friendly staff and good service. If you're a Hilton Honors elite member, there's a great lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'ouvres. The only thing to avoid is the restaurant, with overpriced, mediocre food. Convenient and and an easy walk from the old town, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inward facing room to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was at the Hotel for a conference but stayed on for sightseeing - 7 days all up. The bed was very comfortable, and it was so quiet. The window can be opened for fresh air, and only a distant hum told me there was a city beneath.
The Lounge, as many others have said, made the stay. Being on my own, the friendly greetings and service by the attendants made me feel at home, and a well as producing a bowl of raspberries for me on my last morning, I felt familiar enough to ask for advice about getting around the city on the Metro and by foot, underground, without feeling silly. The advice worked well!

Room Tip: It would be good to look inward at the garden or pool, but from the 17th floor, the view outward was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Marriott Chateau Champlain
Marriott Chateau Champlain
#48 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#34 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.