We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation Mistake & Rude Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Epik Hotel Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Epik Hotel Montreal to your Saves list
Epik Hotel Montreal
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   171 rue Saint-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z5, Canada (Formerly Auberge Les Passants du Sans Soucy) (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reservation Mistake & Rude Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I made a reservation on the phone for Le Sans Soucy and when I received an email confirmation, the date was incorrect. I spoke to the same gentleman on the phone that I made the reservation with and he was quite rude. He informed me that the night I had originally booked was full and did not apologize for the error.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adminstr, Owner at Epik Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Reservation mistake? Possible. Rude service? Impossible. I am the owner and I was with the employee in question during the calls. I am willing to testify under oath in a court of law that he said "I am very sorry" twice. Did you not hear it? Your tone was imperious, you were speaking louder than necessary, you challenged him. Your reaction, this review, were disproportionate to what it cost you: a slight inconvenience. Your dealings with us did not last more that 10 minutes over 2 calls. Your reservation was instantly cancelled. There was no monetary transaction. It cost you nothing but a few minutes. You had ample time to get accommodation for your new dates. Normally we would have helped you find another place, we are prepared for this, but we were put off. Indeed, we are very sorry, and we regret that it comes to this.

The Owner
Daniel Soucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    36
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
144
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in February 2013. The room was first class and we were well looked after during our stay. The hotel is ideally situated and is lovely inside and out. The breakfast each day was lovely and we were made to feel at home. We would highly recommend this Auberge and when we re turn to Montreal we will definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allonsee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed At L'Auberge for four nights in the middle of January. It was astonishing to live in the middle of history, as it were. The hotel was very comfortable and clean, with a big shout out to the owners and staff for their friendliness and help. Only reservations: the heating in our room (201) was a bit erratic (hard to set right) and the analog cablevision was limited. Pluses: Aveda soaps, gorgeous bed, wooden beams, and the cross scratched into the stone wall - look for it! The location can't be beat for walking, sightseeing and transit, the breakfasts were beyond ample. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in late October of 2012. Located in old town, minutes from the port. Breakfasts wonderful, pillows great. No assistance offered in finding a restaurant. All overpriced plus the highest taxes in Canada. City tours all closed on 10/15 so our only choice was a Grey Line Bus whose 3 hour tour took us 5 hours due to traffic and construction.
Beds were well used and one must remember that the second floor is really the third floor. Get a room in the back to avoid traffic noise. Rooms small and not very appealing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adminstr, Owner at Epik Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We're sorry that you had such a horrible experience with Gray Line.

We're the first to admit that we've payed our fair share of taxes during our travels all over the world.

Warmest Regards
Daniel Soucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had stayed at this B&B over 20 years ago,and went searching for it again. We were happy to see that the quality and service and food were just as good this time. Very comfy queen bed, spacious bathroom,nd great breakfast-very French. Hosts helped us negotiate this walkable section of the city. Just around the corner is a theater with English-speaking productions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Love the services and the great breakfast...croissant home make.
Walking distance from everything.
You feel at your best friend home.
We stay in the room 202.
Everything was perfect, the room was beautiful, the breakfasts outstanding and the location was right in the middle of Old Town. We could walk to everything. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This bed and breakfast is everything you can hope for in a bed and breakfast:
(i) it is a great location in the heart of Old Montreal;
(ii) it is charming with a great deal of character;
(iii) the owner and staff are extremely helpful and friendly; and
(iv) the breakfasts are wonderful with fruit, warm croissants and omelets or french toast.
All in all it added a great deal to a wonderful trip to Montreal.

Room Tip: I would not face St. Paul Street because it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Epik Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epik Hotel Montreal

Address: 171 rue Saint-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z5, Canada (Formerly Auberge Les Passants du Sans Soucy)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Epik Hotel Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Epik Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Les Passants Du Sans Soucy Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Epik Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.