We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Saint Denis

Castel Saint Denis
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Saint Denis
Save
You added Castel Saint Denis to your Saves list
2099 rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K8, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice and cheap place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

The hotel is quite basic but nice and very clean. AC is central, but it seemed to be adjustable, however I didn't try too adjust it too much. One point which I didn't like is the shower. The water temperature didn't seem to be stabile and it was a bit difficult to find the optimal position.

The location of the hotel was very nice - just on the edge of Quartier Latin, charming and bohemian part of the city. However rooms weren't noisy. You can easily get to the old city, downtown or old port by the subway (main subway line stations is just a 5 min from the hotel - Sherbrooke and then 5-10 min by subway).

Don't expect good breakfast, normally you have coffee, juice and croissant.

Staff is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2005

My wife and I just spent a long weekend in Montreal and absolutley loved everything about our stay. We researched a lot of budget hotels and chose this one based on all the good reviews. Most everything we read rang true. Anne Marie was a charming host. All the staff was friendly the location was safe and fun with restaurants and pubs in every direction. Secure parking was available right around the corner. The small traditional breakfast was a nice touch. We passed by some of the other hotels we had researched and some looked allright but none had as good of a location. All the attractions were a close walk or a metro ride away. This is definitely THE budget hotel to choose if you want to see the real Montreal and stay away from the tourists.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2004

This was my 2nd stay at the Castel St-Denis. I stayed there in October 2004 for 7 nights.

No doubt: The hotel is in a great location, right in the center of the Latin Quarter, close to the Plateau, the Village,... close to everything and very charming.

The rates are very low: about CAD 60 + tax per night for a room with private shower. The rooms are very basic, but the bed was good, and my room was always clean. The roommaid did a good job. The Castel St-Denis is NOT one of those cheap, dirty, sleazy hotels.

Not too happy this time I was with the heating: It didn't work yet (beginning of October), but it was very cold. (The hotel manager told me that the heating usually will be turned on blockwise in mid-October.)

So, if you don't mind basic accommodation, this is a *good* hotel for you. Otherwise choose something different.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2003

This hotel is perfect for the budget concious traveller that is willing to sacrifice amenities for a cheap rate. A clean bed, private bathroom and TV are provided. There is no phone in the room. There is a shower stall but no tub. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great, being on one of the major "strips" of the city, close to two metro (subway) lines. Parking is a bit of a problem but you can find several garages nearby or park on the street. (No lot). Unfortunately the building has central air/heat but you cannot adjust it from your room! All things considered, the room was well worth the low price ($55/night Canadian). There is a public phone in the hall but no phones in the room. I am not complaining about any of this just pointing out why the room is so cheap! If all you need on your trip is a place to sleep and are willing to accept a no-frills basic room with no amenities at all try it out and spend the money you save in hotel costs on some of the great eateries!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2003

My gilfriend and I just visited Montreal for the jazz fest this weekend and wanted to save a little money (rooms were $70=tax)Great location on the predominantly French side of town (and in my opinion, the cooler, funkier side) close to great places to have your cafe and croissants for breakfast.The room (#9) was very clean, came with TV and ensuite bathroom. The room didn't have its own A/C, the place has central air (which can be either hotter or colder that you wish from time to time) and the shower stall was very tiny. I'm 6'3" and I could barely move about in there. The lady running the hotel was very nice and accomodating, but I may opt for a place with a larger shower and my own A/C next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2002

The hotel has got a great location, right in the center of the Latin Quarter, close to the Plateau, the Village,... and the main subway station Berry-UQAM. Great area in the heart of Montreal.

My room was always very clean and quiet, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Good atmosphere. Very personal.

The rates are excellent, too: I paid the lowest rate, just CAD 50 + taxes per night. Sure, for that rate you know that you have to expect something more basic; but the bed was excellent, and as mentioned: Everything was always clean.

I'd definitely go there again.

Mike from Munich

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2002

I just came back from Montreal and the Castel St. Denis was great. Anne-Marie was a charming woman with tons of information and great suggestions for places to eat. The rooms and bathroom were spotless every time. The hotel is in the "bohemian" part of town-definitely THE strip to be on at night! I would highly recommend Castel St. Denis to others and would go back in a minute if I visit Montreal again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castel Saint Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Saint Denis

Address: 2099 rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Castel Saint Denis Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Saint Denis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.