We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Latin Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine to your Saves list
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2024 Rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd night at 50% OFF
Ranked #29 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Latin Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a nice stay at the Auberge le Jadrin d'Antoine. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was surprisingly good- lots of pastry options, scrambled eggs, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit salad. The neighborhood is fun and has lots of restaurants, bars, and shops. Its near the Metro and walking distance to a lot of great spots. We loved Old Montreal, so we would probably stay in that neighborhood next time, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Latin Quarter. We were also surprised that despite the noisy neighborhood, the room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    95
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
111
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rooms were nicely decorated & clean. Staff was helpful with directions and dinner recommendations. Breakfast was great food and plentiful. Good location in Latin Quarter--lots of restaurants and subway within easy walking distance. On final morning, we had to leave early to get to the train station. The staff put breakfast out early for us--that is service you won't find in a large hotel. Parking was in the main library underground garage--two blocks away. Not a bad walk. There is no elevator--staff offered to help with luggage. But, could be a problem getting to breakfast room. Free Wifi was excellent. Rooms on the small side but adequate for 2 persons each.

Room Tip: We had room 16--on back side--very quiet. It had carpeting. Cousin stayed in room 1--it had hardwood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel in July in a double room for our honeymoon.
The room was very nice, a bit small, but expected. It was very clean & free wifi was good. Bed was comfy.
The location is ok, it's in the more 'rougher' part of town- about 20-30 min walk into the old town which is much nicer. There is good shopping, nice attractions & good food.
Although everyone speaks French most people speak English & were fine about you not being able to speak French.
The staff were lovely & helpful.
Breakfast was very nice & plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had the deluxe room 25 which had a whirlpool bath and shower. The room was clean and quite small but the location made up for the size of room. Beds were ok and the street noise was fine. The only things missing was a plug for the tub. The tub could also use some caulking but other than that would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoine771, Manager at Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your comments. The situation was corrected about the missing
plug for the tub and we will have a close look about missing caulking. We are glad you appreciated location, breakfast and clean rooms. We are happy you want to come back again, I suggest you take a look at the room dimension on our web site before choosing your room type.

Best regards

Marc-André Ladouceur
Manager and co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've been staying here for the past 20 years during the Jazzfest and have always enjoyed the warm reception, clean rooms, exceptional value and fabulous breakfast.... They have maitained/upgraded the rooms over the years and continue to offer a safe location on St. Denis in a location that's perfect for walking to nearby cafe's, music venues, Metro and Downtown Montreal. This place continues to be a gem in a city that has lots of choices for accomodations

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this hotel through the Sweet Deals that is offered on the Montréal Tourism website. Initially, I was concerned that the hotel is located on a very busy night life street, but it turned out to be one of the quietest, most comfortable stays that we have ever had in a hotel.

We got a room with 2 double beds (Room 16) which is at the back of the hotel situated in its own little alcove. During our entire three nights, we never heard a single noise-not from our neighbors (which is unusual, as the hotel was fully booked) and not from the outside. The room inside is a pretty tight fit, but since we spent most of our time out sightseeing anyways, it wasn't a big concern for us. The water pressure from the shower was great, and we never ran out of hot water which has happened to us before in some of the bigger chain hotels that we had stayed in.

They offer a nice selection of drinks, cereals, pastries, fruit cups, and proteins (scrambled eggs, deli ham and cheese) in the included breakfasts. The croissants were so delicious! The staff were all friendly and helpful and always willing to answer questions and give recommendations on places to eat and sites to visit.

The hotel is conveniently located on Rue St. Denis which is a happening place right at the Latin Quarters with a lot of great restaurant choices and eclectic shops. The Berri-UQAM subway station is about a 5-10 mins walk away, and the subway will take you downtown to the major shopping areas as well as other interesting sites. We took the Airport Shuttle 747 to/ from the Airport, and the last stop is a short 5 mins walk to the hotel. We could easily walk to Chinatown and Old Montréal from the hotel. For the four days that we were there, we were able to see a lot, all by being totally dependent on public transportation.

What really makes me highly recommend this hotel to any visitor to Montréal is the exceptional customer service that we received, especially from the manager, Marc-André. During our stay, an issue came up that required the manager`s attention. He had already left for the day and was on his way home. Marc-André came all the way back to the hotel and solved the issue right away, while doing it all with grace and politeness. This manager cares about his hotel and his guests' comfort. Although the hotel might not be ranked as a 5 star, the customer service is definitely beyond 5 stars!

Overall, I am really glad that we had booked this hotel for out trip, and it is a place that we plan to stay at again the next time we visit the vibrant, charming city of Montréal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and definitely book a suite if you want a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in suite 21, and the room was affordable priced, large, and luxurious. The suite consisted of a bedroom (with a queen sized bed, small desk, and dresser), sitting room (with an armchair, sofa, coffee table, TV, and AIR CONDITIONER!), and a giant bathroom (with both a stand-up shower and a jetted tub). The room face Rue Saint Denis, and although we could hear street activity, it did not disturb us and it was fun to people watch out the window in the middle of the night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They all spoke both French and English and were knowledgable about the area; front desk staff gave us directions to a bank, and suggestions for the quickest and easiest routes. The breakfast was delicious and a perfect and convenient way to begin the day. The breakfast room is in a (air conditioned) basement area, and there is a lovely area to eat outside. Scrambled eggs, fresh fruit cups, yogurt, croissants, bagels, toast, chocolate muffins, cheeses, coffee, tea, juice, and fruit preserves were offered. The hotel is centrally located and we parked the car and walked almost everywhere. Saint Denis is a great place to eat, drink, and explore. We easily walked to Old Montreal and explore explored the trendy Rue Saint Catherine. Honestly, this is one of the nicest and most comfortable overall hotel experiences I've ever had; it had the perfect blend of amenities, service, location, and value. Before you book, look into Montreal's "sweet deal" to get your third night at 1/2 price and a coupon book that saved us around $40.

Room Tip: The suite was amazing, and not terribly expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine

Address: 2024 Rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#38 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel at home in our cozy 25-room 3 star hotel ideally located on the famous St. Denis Street in Downtown Montreal. We offer you comfortable rooms, a warm welcome since 1989.Included: WIFI and continental buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Budget Places, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Jardin d`Antoine Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.