We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Omni Mont-Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I use this hotel regularly for business. The rooms are tastefully furnished, well maintained and have quality linens. I especially enjoy the complimentary coffee delivery each morning that is provided to those who join Omni's preferred guest program. The hotel is in a convenient location downtown where you will find a plethora of great restaurants and shopping. The staff are all pleasant and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear cl2walker,

I'd like to offer my gratitude for your positive review of the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. Our Select Guest program is a great way for guests to add value to our stay and I'm delighted to read that you took advantage of the membership. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have an opportunity to have you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    483
    147
    60
    26
See reviews for
252
429
92
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at the Omni while traveling to Montreal for a conference. The conference was at the Centre Mont Royal which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is located in a great area with all the restaurants and place to see right around it. The check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly. My room was on the 25th floor and was very clean and spacious. It was my birthday on one of the days of my stay and my husband called the hotel from the US to have a surprise cake delivery made at midnight. The hotel did a great job of co-ordinating everything and even gave me 3 extra cheesecakes as a birthday present, great customer service! Overall, I had a great and comfortable stay at the Omni.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear ecstatica,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review of your recent stay at the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. I'm thrilled that my associates were able to work with your husband to make sure your birthday away from home was a special one. If you return to Montreal, I hope that you will once again consider us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Right outside the gates of McGill, this hotel is pretty much central to everything there is to do in Montreal. Door staff are incredibly friendly as are the front desk staff. Rooms are nice (upper levels offer far superior views of either the city or the university/mountain (hill) Food is a little pricey and the rooms can "sometimes" be a little musty. I've stayed before and found this. However, this time out that was not an issue to be fair to the hotel. For the record, the staff relocated me the last time and were more than willing to address my issues. Given some of the near by choices, this is a good pick when considering all things.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Darryl L,

I'm grateful for the opportunity to read about your experiences at our hotel. While I wish they had all been perfect, I am happy to read that our associates have always worked with you to make sure that your concerns are addressed. Thank you for your business and your review and I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We needed a nice, highly rated hotel in downtown Montreal for 2 nights while winding our way South from the Laurentians. Omni Hotel's location and amenities were very reasonable considering the location. Front desk staff told us of a way to get free internet by signing up to Omni hotel web service which saved us bucks. Valet parking pricey, but parking in town difficult to come by. Would stay again if for business purposes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear rogeriop359,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal as part of our your trip south from the Laurentians. I appreciate all of your feedback and I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the Select Guest Perks, It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back for a future stay at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed with my son at the Omni on a visit to Montreal for a family event. It was in a great location and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room (on the 29th floor) was spacious, clean and quiet. I would definitely stay at the Omni again in Montreal!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Rachel P,

I'm delighted to read that you would consider staying with us for future visits. Thank you for your review and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The minute I walked in I was happy; the lobby is clean, warm, and smells and looks great. The desk reception people were right there to help me, little to no waiting. All the staff I encountered were eager to help and friendly, happy, making my experience wonderful. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable. The only things I would change is having a softer light for the nighttime bathroom run, and one night there were strange city sounds which kept me awake. But the hotel was fantastic, and the food and service wonderful. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Tamara K,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. I was pleased to read that you immediately felt welcomed by our lobby and our associates. Your recommendation is the highest compliment you can give us and for that I'm grateful. I hope we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

If this is the 20th best hotel in Montreal, I'd hate to see the others. The only positives are the size of the rooms (large) and the location (excellent). But everything else is a disaster. The staff are incredibly rude, particularly at the front desk, the bar, and the restaurant. The heating/cooling system works when it feels like it. And the internet -- an absolute joke. Not only is it painfully slow both in the rooms and in the lobby, you are expected to pay $11 for 3MB or $17 for 6MB, which is enough to send a couple of emails and open a few web pages. Even worse, the hotel actually claims -- presumably with a straight face -- that the "premium" package allows you to play games onlilne or use skype. Good luck with that on 6MBs. The hotel is basically committing fraud.

Avoid the hotel unless it's absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, General Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear KJH1967,

I was very disappointed to read about your experience at our hotel and wish to thank you for allowing us to know about your frustrations. The wifi system is currently being upgraded so that guests can enjoy a better quality reception and I regret that this was not done prior to your stay. I must apologize that you did not have warmer interactions with our associates. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and I’m disappointed that this was not reflected in your stay. I hope that the future will give us another opportunity to have you stay with us so we may provide you with the flawless experience that our guests expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Dominique LaPointe
General Manager/Directrice générale
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#14 Family Hotel in Montreal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless emblem of the Montreal tourist landscape, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal strives to give guests an unforgettable experience infused with an authentic flair, a modern ethos, and a blend of warmth, comfort and elegance. The recently transformed 299 guest rooms and suites are true retreats of serenity and relaxation with a residential feel. Elegant and graceful, the decor serves as a comfortable backdrop for both work and leisure. Known for its unparalleled customer service, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal is rated four-star by Hebergement Quebec and four-diamond by AAA/CAA. The Hotel offers a full service health club and an urban pool (seasonal Mid-May to Mid-October), sauna and whirl pool. Updated amenities at the hotel provide everything required for an enjoyable stay: Alice Bar, Le Petit Opus Cafe, and many versatile meeting rooms. The Wireless Network fully upgraded in May 2014 gives guests fast access while on the road. Hotel Omni Mont-Royal lets its guests immerse themselves in the urban vibe of Montreal and nestle into the "feels like home" comfort of its newly renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.