We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Omni Mont-Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 164 hotels in Montreal
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

There are some good reasons to stay at the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal: the price and the location (near McGill, downtown). The rooms seem out-of-date. The night I stayed at the Omni hotel it was noisy. In addition to the construction out front there were quite a few groups of people having small parties in their rooms. This made working difficult - I decided to check out a night early. I'd recommend checking out other options in Montreal before booking here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to read that you felt the rooms were outdated as we just concluded a full renovation of all guest rooms. Please accept our apologies for the disruptions from your neighbors and the construction. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know of any concerns and we will work with you to immediately address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    414
    129
    51
    21
See reviews for
203
379
81
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Omni for one night this past weekend. The downtown location is fantastic...it is a very short walk to St. Catherine's where you will find lots of options for shopping and dining. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Bell Center.

All of the staff we encountered at the Omni were professional and friendly, (with the exception of one front desk employee that belittled another employee in front of us...very unprofessional and you could tell that the woman helping us was very embarrassed but she held her composure and provided us with excellent customer service).

We had a king room with a lounge at the base of the bed. The rooms are a decent size and are decorated in neutral colors. They are nicely appointed but the room that we had was in need of a bit of a scrub down...you could see dirty finger prints on areas that are frequently touched, (doors, walls, etc), drips of ?? on the walls in the bathroom, dirt in the corners.

The parking is a bit of a gong show...we had to ask someone where we had to go to self-park. Once we were parked it only cost $8 for downtown Montreal! Definitely a steal considering the valet service is about $25.

We didn't eat at the Omni but the lounge in the lobby area looked like a nice spot to stop for a drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for all of your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for what you witnessed at our front desk. We will be sure to share those comments as well as the housekeeping comments with the appropriate managers for follow up. We are glad that otherwise you enjoyed our location and your time with us and we hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there for two nights in mid-November. The staff were terrific -- very friendly and helpful. The food and wine in the bar were excellent, although a bit pricey. The room was clean, a good size, and very comfortable. It was missing the coffeemaker, but we didn't say anything because we didn't care. Buffet breakfast was too expensive for what you get.
The one thing we would have liked the hotel to have was a small shop with sundries and snacks. The fitness facility is topnotch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are glad you were satisfied with your recent stay at the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable and we would be happy to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here with a friend this past weekend and it was a great stay! Located very close to McGill University, there is plenty of shopping, restaurants, etc close by. The Metro is only a block away, so you can easily get everywhere else in Montreal without a problem.

Checked in on Friday night and decided to park our car in hotel parking since we were not familiar with the area. The price for parking was typical for a hotel ($16 for self-parking, one time in one time out, $24 for valet for 24 hours with the ability to take the car in and out). The valet was super courteous and professional. We checked in with ease and the girl at the front desk offered us some great tips on nightlife and encouraged us to sign up for rewards to get free Wifi during our stay.

After getting freshened up we spoke to the concierge about good local restaurants. He gave us quite a few options varying by price range, type of food, etc. We settled on a moderately proced French restaurant in another hotel and he even called to make reservations for us!

The next day as we were heading out to explore he gave us a map and very detailed explanations of what we could see and do during the day in Montreal, as well as where to get the best Poutine!

The bed was super comfy! The robes were awesome! We loved that we had a fridge in our room.

The only issue was the temperature. No matter how much we fooled around with the thermostat we just couldnt get it right. Lol

All in all a GREAT experience. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience at the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal and were well taken care of by our concierge. Thank you for all of your kind words and we hope you will be our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I found most of the employees here very warm and friendly, particularly reception. However, as I was checking in, an older gentlemen working at the hotel bar eyeballed me like I was some vagrant off the street, right before he greeted another client and helped him with the elevator. I didn't even get a smile or "hello". Not a big deal really, but I consider hospitality a very important comfort as a hotel guest. The gym facility was under renovation, which was a bit dissapointing considering the pool was closed for the season. This was made up for with the rooms, which were very clean and comfortable with great views of the business district. If you order room service, they didn't accept cash and expect a pretentious and meager plate. Overall a nice hotel if you just want a room and are willing to pay for more quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to read that you did not receive a warmer reception from our associate in the bar. We agree that hospitality is the cornerstone of a great hotel and regret that the associate did not live up to our reputation. Thank you for also sharing your feedback regarding room service and the gym. We are always looking for ways to enhance our guests' experience and it is feedback such as yours that is the best tool for determining what we can do. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Montreal you will give us a second chance to provide you with a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I hadn't stayed at an Omni property before but thought I would give it a try as it popped up with the lowest rate for a four-star hotel on hotwire,com. My only minor complaint is that the parking garage is rather hard to find -- after stopping at the hotel entrance, you have to wind your way back to a side-street, then do an immediate 180 u-turn into the parking garage, which I could handle with my small car but it would be tough to do in a large car or SUV. But after arriving at the hotel lobby, check-in was very quick. The rooms are quite spacious, with a great large-screen TV. This hotel focuses on the key things that business travelers want: sparkling clean rooms, a comfortable large bed, a shower that works, large soft towels, and excellent noise insulation. I would definitely stay at the Omni again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are glad your first experience with Omni was a good one! Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in the executive suite - very good room. The staff went out of their way to provide excellent service, and good recommendations for dining, and running routes. Downtown location close to McGill, Mount Royal, Shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are grateful for your complimentary review. Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Omni Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omni Mont-Royal

Address: 1050 Sherbrooke St. W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#15 Business Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Omni Mont-Royal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A timeless emblem of the Montreal tourist landscape, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal strives to give guests an unforgettable experience infused with an authentic flair, a modern ethos, and a blend of warmth, comfort and elegance. The recently transformed 299 guest rooms and suites are true retreats of serenity and relaxation with a residential feel. Elegant and graceful, the decor serves as a comfortable backdrop for both work and leisure. Known for its unparalleled customer service, the Hotel Omni Mont-Royal is rated four-star by Hebergement Quebec and four-diamond by AAA/CAA. The Hotel offers a full service health club and an urban pool (seasonal Mid-May to Mid-October), sauna and whirl pool. Updated amenities at the hotel provide everything required for an enjoyable stay: Alice Bar, Le Petit Opus Cafe, and many versatile meeting rooms. The Wireless Network fully upgraded in May 2014 gives guests fast access while on the road. Hotel Omni Mont-Royal lets its guests immerse themselves in the urban vibe of Montreal and nestle into the "feels like home" comfort of its newly renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Omni Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Montreal
Hotel Omni Mont Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Omni Mont-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.