We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambiance and very good service with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vieux-Port Steakhouse

Vieux-Port Steakhouse
39, Saint-Paul Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1G2, Canada
+1 514-866-3175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vieux-Port Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #212 of 4,550 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $27 - $43
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Saint-Gabriel
Transit: Metro: Champs de Mars ou Place d'Armes Bus: 515-55-14-129
Description: More than a restaurant, we're an institution. Quality cuts, cooked to perfection for over three decades. All our beef is AAA Canadian Certified and aged for at least 30 days. You'll love the classic atmosphere, warm and welcoming. We're situated directly on St. Paul Street in a beautiful, century-old structure. Inside, you're greeted by old stone walls, wood floors, cozy fireplaces and an attentive staff. With a capacity of up to 1 000 and one of the nicest terraces in Old Montreal, we're the ideal venue for groups, weddings and other social gatherings.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and very good service with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As part of a wedding celebration two week-ends ago I had suggested the restaurant for our party for Sunday brunch. In the past years I have often chosen the Vieux Port as a venue that was excellent in both its location being located on St. Paul street in old Montreal as well as its ability to accommodate all sizes of parties. In this instance we were twelve and even though we had no reservations we were accommodated with no delay. The restaurant is located near St. Lawrence Blvd, where parking can easily be found and only steps from the Harbour front. We were seated on the second floor and our colleagues were very impressed by the decor and the comfortable surroundings. We enjoyed a leisurely brunch with many choices to please everyone and I was again pleased by the continuing great service and the quite reasonable price of $24.50 for brunch on a Sunday morning in an area which is very popular with both locals and tourists. I will continue to recommend this restaurant both for lunch, dinner of Brunch to my friends and acquaintances.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    174
    63
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood platter!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good wine list, a very good spanish Albariño.. I haven´t seen much of them in Montreal.. Very nice location.. the restaurant itself, is very clean and the waiters are very nice..
The food is top, the seafood platter with king crabs and the kobe meat burger are perfect!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Prices are a little high, but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location, the people, the service and especially the food. I had a one pound sirloin and she had, what she calls the best ever Salmon. If you don't know Montreal, and are staying in a hotel, have the hotel make your reservations for you. Seldom, if ever, can you just go there and walk in. A little hard to find but worth the effort.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our hotel was just around the corner from this restaurant. We had passed it several times over a number of days and thought we would stop in for a light lunch. It was Sunday and they had a lovely brunch available for $24.50 including a carving station and omelette station. We passed on all that food as the previous night we had a huge dinner at another very popular steakhouse. We both had the lobster bisque reasonably priced at $7. We were delicious warm rolls and for dessert we shared a lovely apple pie with exceptional vanilla ice cream. We were very pleased with the bill when it came which was under $30 including tip. We are seriously thinking of going there tonight for dinner. Will definitely have it on the radar for our next trip to Montreal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Montreal Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My family and I went to this restaurant for dinner on our visit to Montreal. We really enjoyed it and thought the service, the food, and the atmosphere were wonderful. I loved the old feel of the building with the exposed stone walls, and the location of the restaurant was perfectly in the center of Old Montreal. Most of my family ordered from the VP $29 menu, which was very good value for what we got! I had caesar salad to start, the Steak Manhatten with Shrimp for my main course, and the creme brulee for dessert. Although the steak was very good on it's own, I preferred to have it with the mushroom sauce, so I could have the sauce on my mashed potatoes too! The creme brulee was delicious, but nothing extraordinary, as was the case with the entire meal. I really enjoyed the restaurant, the food, the wine and the service, but everything was very traditional; nothing outside the box. I appreciated everything as a whole, and would definitely recommend this restaurant to someone visiting Montreal and looking for an affordable, nice place to eat. When we go back to Montreal, we will probably check out another steakhouse to broaden our restaurant experiences!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vieux-Port Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Vieux-Port Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vieux-Port Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.