We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice steak, bad services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vieux-Port Steakhouse

Vieux-Port Steakhouse
39, Saint-Paul Street East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1G2, Canada
+1 514-866-3175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vieux-Port Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #215 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $27 - $43
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Saint-Gabriel
Transit: Metro: Champs de Mars ou Place d'Armes Bus: 515-55-14-129
Description: More than a restaurant, we're an institution. Quality cuts, cooked to perfection for over three decades. All our beef is AAA Canadian Certified and aged for at least 30 days. You'll love the classic atmosphere, warm and welcoming. We're situated directly on St. Paul Street in a beautiful, century-old structure. Inside, you're greeted by old stone walls, wood floors, cozy fireplaces and an attentive staff. With a capacity of up to 1 000 and one of the nicest terraces in Old Montreal, we're the ideal venue for groups, weddings and other social gatherings.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice steak, bad services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The T-Bone was great and was served rare as I like they also have a large wine selection for my pleasure. But the waiter took too long to take our order or to serve some water..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    176
    63
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Montreal this past week and wanted to get out for one nice meal while there. The decor was rustic and comfortable and pretty much spot on for a eatery in a historic building. Our waiter could not have been nicer and the service was fine. I had crab cakes and she had the seafood bisque, the cakes were just fine, nothing over the top but better than most I have had. Her bisque was flavorful but slightly thin, not the end of the world and she enjoyed it. Naturally we both had steaks and they were tender, juicy and cooked perfect. The wine list does have a fair amount of outrageous bottles but so does every other steak house. We ordered a cab/shiraz blend and it was $42 a bottle, it was perfect for the price and paired well with our meal. For a nice night out with a moderately priced meal you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just about alright!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had a rather down at heel feel. A bit like a Berni Inn in the 1980's. The speed the starter arrived in was suspicious but the Crab Cake belied it's appearance and was OK. Pushy waiter would not let us relax and tried to upscale us on everything. Steaks were OK and the wine was ludicrously over priced. This was fairly basic catering, it didn't really come across as a high end dining experience but neither was it quite as horrible as some places in tourist hot spots. We could have got better I'm sure if we'd spent a bit more time looking. Oh well caveat emptor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Steak That!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was a hard choice for me but I will admit between, The Keg, Baton Rouge and the Steak House, I loved the Steakhouse hands down. It's a great place, very classy and great service. The food is being godly and the drink is bliss in your mouth. I can't even say enough about the location, I love old port. For anyone on a modest budget, the prices in the steakhouse are steep compared to most places but if you're looking forward quality over all, the Steak House is the place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent wine list and great steak , amazing service the waiter very professional , beautiful ambiance next to fireplace one of a kind .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vieux-Port Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Vieux-Port Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vieux-Port Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.