We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for brunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bulle au carre

La Bulle au carre
3482, rue St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L3, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
514-848-0316
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #903 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: "Bistro Breton" French style bistro on St-denis street next to the Square St-Louis, and where you can find the best crepes in town. We are open from morning (for breakfast/brunch) to evening. Come and taste also our home-made ice cream!
Montreal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This fairly small restaurant is great for brunch. Try the far breton. In the summer, sit outside, looking at the Carré St-Louis. It is located right across from Sherbrooke metro station - which makes it an easy rendez-vous location if you use public transit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Excellent crepes on St-Denis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Don't let the name distract you, this is not a laundromat.
This small restaurant prides itself as the place for authentic Bretagne crepes in Montreal.
Delicious thin crepes with a wide choice of filling. Mmmmm.
Try the homemade chocolate crepe.
Large selection and the prices are very affordable.
A great option if you want to meet friends over crepes and coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice place for a Saturday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We chose La Bulle Au Carre after reading reviews for many brunch places in Montreal. And we weren`t disappointed.

Food: nice variety of sweet or salty crepes (galettes) in addition to omelettes and so on. Two portion sizes are offered for salty crepes: medium and large. The large crepe folded was about the size of an 10" square plate. The medium is half of that. I'd recommend taking the medium and leaving room for sweet crepes or a dessert. The owner and some of his stuff are French. We had great help with choosing what to take and were told what crepes were typical for what areas of Bretagne. Interesting experience.

Atmosphere: We sat on a terrace which was overlooking a park and wasn't too noisy. We called in advance to reserve a table on the terrace to avoid any problems getting in. Overall, there were not many people that day (Saturday of a long weekend, many appeared to be out of town). So I cannot comment on the length of the wait without reservations.

Service: Excellent. Helpful, attentive, friendly, bilingual.

Prices: Inexpensive. Perfect for a weekend brunch

We'll definitely come again and maybe this time we'll sit inside which seems to be interestingly decorated with paintings and old French comic books.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best crêperie of MTL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Being french myself, I found it hard to find a good crêperie in the city. But in this restaurant, pan cakes are like in Bretagne, the west part of France! So good, it's must!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Authentic and excellent Crêperie in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Being a big fan of Brittany in general and its food in particular, I was very happy to find this authentic crêperie on St Denis. The area is nice and conveniently located next to Sherbrooke metro station, the staff is helpful, the atmosphere is great and so is the food (and drinks :-), their ciders are good, especially the one they import from Brittany). I really recommend the place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bulle au carre also viewed

 

Been to La Bulle au carre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bulle au carre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.