We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELL! BED BUGS GALORE!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Cantlie Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HELL! BED BUGS GALORE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We have just returned from a funeral in Montreal and have the distinct pleasure of battling bed bugs thanks to this hotel! My 1 year old is riddled with bites and my 3 year old is having an allergic reaction to the bites with multiple bites all over his face and each bite swells up to the size of a nickel!

On top of the funeral and the bedbugs, there is construction on the hotel building that starts at 9am and does not end until about 3pm every day (totally ruined the mid-day naps). So we were cranky, riddled with bites and there attending our mother's funeral...HELL!

STAY AWAY!!!!! These bugs can live up to a year without "feeding".

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director123, Owner at Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Immediately upon this review being brought to our attention, we conducted a floor by floor, room by room inspection of the Hotel and found absolutely no evidence of bed bugs whatsoever. Everything has been certified bed bug free, including playpens and cribs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    270
    112
    56
    52
See reviews for
123
145
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

This was a great choice for a long weekend mini vacation. The bed was very plush and comfortable with down dovet covers and feather pillows. Just like home! The staff were helpful and friendly. I have to recommend a restaurant on Peel that was wonderful. The Universal Restaurant is a must. We ate there a few times. Really great food and excellent service. The Metro is on Peel one block down and the entrance to the underground mall is two blocks south on Peel. This hotel is dated, currently being renovated externally, and needs alot of TLC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed this hotel. Having a small kitchen came in very handy - not being a big breakfast eater, we were able to eat a light breakfast in our room. Lots of good restaurants nearby, and it was a short walk to the tourist info centre. The room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

The hotel is located in the centre of Montreal's shopping district and is close to the metro. The suites had its own kitchenette which includes a microwave, toaster and some cutlery/plates/bowls. We stayed at two different rooms in this hotel through our trip and although we paid the same price, the rooms were fairly different, one was more modern looking, had 1 bed and a sofa bed but didn't have a stove and the other had a stove and 2 king beds but more outdated look. The buffet breakfast (included in our package) was nice, had sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, french toast, potatoes, baked goods, cereals and fruits.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed 10 days at the hotel. We picked that hotel because of our long stay we wanted to be comfortable. The hotel was way more expensive than many others available. It provides sort of a seperate living room and a small kitchen very badly equiped, everything is old and falling apart. This allows the hotel to label their room as "suites" and claim the extra $$$. The bathroom is 1960 style with not updates, there is definetly a problem with the plumbing, after a shower you can swim in the tub and the towells provided are awful. I don't think that the place has been painted in the last 20 years. All the accessories/equipment in the room are so badly abused (ironing board, iron, hair dryer etc) , you do not feel like using them. The bed is nice and comfortable, but for the price we paied when we were there you can get a lot of truly higher end hotel.
We were in Toronto for a long stay and lived in Cambridge Suites Hotel. Very similar $$$$ but felt a lot better about the hotel. I recommend Cambridge but do not recommend Cantlie. The extra you are paying for the suite is not worth it.
One more thing, they have a restaurant, the service is awful! Absolutely awful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Le Cantlie is centrally located, close to shops, restaurants the McGill Campus and the underground city.. There is an outdoor pool on the roof, which was so warm that our daughter swam in it on a September afternoon.

Our room was large, with a refrigerator, stove, microwave and dining area with a glass-topped round table with a cheerful tablecloth. We did not use the kitchen except to make coffee, but the extra space gave the three of us ample room to spread out our things.

The suite is actually two rooms divided by French doors with curtains. The accustics in the room gave us quiet nights even though we were downtown.

The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Even with the sofa bed extended, we had enough room to move about. The room also has two closets and large mirrors.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant at 9 p.m. on our first night and enjoyed a great meal. The lighting in the restaurant was almost magical as it reflected off of the brass railing in the dining, lounge are. The food was delicious.

The staff was very helpful and provided us with a downtown map so that we could walk to restaurants and shopping. We were able to access taxis without any problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is vey well located, just two blocks from famous Rue St. Catherine and a 5 minutes walk from the Bell Center. The staff was very friendly and gave us a two bed room with an extra sofa bed since we were three friends together. The room was very spacious, not very modern but clean and also the bathroom was OK. There is also parking opportunity in the hotel but not free of charge.

The surrounding area is good for shopping, dining and also for going out. Rue Crescent with all it's bars and irish pubs is also in walking distance. Also McGill is close and you can walk to the Mont Royal. The nearest Metro Station is "Peel".

I would highlight the spacious rooms and the friendly staff in Le Cantlie Suites. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.