We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Good value, Good area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Cantlie Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Central, Good value, Good area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is close to McGill, a few blocks from the downtown shopping area.
It suited our purpose; a four night "taster" of Montreal. There are better hotels in the area but nothing in the price range. Rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable, with a small kitchenette. Views from higher up rooms are great. Pleasant and professional staff.
The area feels good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    270
    112
    55
    52
See reviews for
123
145
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We wanted a central hotel in Montreal, close to McGill University and the amenities of downtown. We found it perfectly in Cantlie Suites. Just a couple of blocks from the university going east, two blocks from St Catherine Street going south, and the same going west to Crescent.
Staff reception was excellent, parking was underneath (and capably handled by valet service), and the hotel boasted a very good Fushi Sushi restaurant. The room itself was very large, with high ceilings, and a perfectly comfortable bed. Oddly the television was viewable only from the sitting area, and not from the bed.
Still, the suite contained a great little stainless steel kitchenette, and on the 27th floor was a well equipped workout area and a coin laundry.
If you were in Montreal for a week or more on business, this would function extremely well as your home-away-from-home.
I noticed, gladly, a sign on the elevator wall saying that renovations were underway. This is good. She's a pretty hotel but a little in need of some fresh makeup.

Room Tip: Ask for a north-facing room on upper floors so that you have a view of Mount Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location for visiting downtown Montreal. It's around a 15 minute walk to the old town and port which was easy enough for us. The hotel could do with a bit of updating. The lobby area, lifts and rooms are a bit dated. Our room was large. The shower wasn't great, tended to get extremely hot without turning the taps.
The staff are polite and friendly. At check-in we were given no end of leaflets and information about the city.
Parking was $25 per night around the corner from the hotel for 4x4's.
The hotel was fine, but we would recommend spending a bit more to stay somewhere a bit more modern.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights to attend a convention in the city. The hotel was a bit of a walk to the convention centre but that is my fault for not booking closer. I do like the hotel. Clean, nice rooms, business centre, rooftop pool and other amenities. The front desk staff are night and day by shifts. The first one to help me (if you can call it that) was an [--]. Arogant, I was 2 hours early and asked if my room was ready as I just came off a night shift and hadn't slept yet and he promptly said no and come back at 4 with no attempt to help. I had to ask for a map and for directions to a site I wanted to see. I had to ask if I could leave my bags and it seemed like an inconvenience to him to call the porter. When I came back an hour later the staff had changed and the lady there was very helpful. My room was not ready but she said another was and moved me without me even having to ask. My bags were returned promptly. She was very helpful as were all the other staff I met. Location was nice and central and everything was within walking distance although if you want Old Montreal you will be walking a bit further. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I used to live in Montreal and now come to visit family. I always stay at Le Cantlie.Even though their prices have gone up, it's still a very good deal. Near both McGill and Concordia and the Metro and the museums and some good restaurants, with a convenient mini kitchenette so one can make ones own breakfast. Some of the suites are quite spacious and the renovations provide a pleasant respite from cookie cutter chains. Wi Fi and parking is extra and can add to ones nightly rate however. Super friendly bi lingual staff and reception.
,

Room Tip: Pick up a croissant or two from le pain doree and bring your favorite coffee so you can make your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a great hotel, perfectly located for the university district — just a short walk from both McGill and Concordia.

The staff are helpful and efficient and the hotel itself beautifully maintained.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

More often than not we stay at Le Cantlie suites whenever we're in Montreal, the location is great (Sherbrooke st) ..price is right (usually $110-$140) and the room is super spacious. (we get the 2 queen suites normally since 4 to 6 of us go)...stayed again a few weeks ago and it was great as always ! I recommend this to anyone looking for great value in downtown MTL

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, nicer views (obviously)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Cantlie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cantlie Suites

Address: 1110 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cantlie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, boutique style Hotel Le Cantlie Suites is located in the center of downtown, within Montreal’s Golden Square Mile and offers impressive city and Mount Royal views.The spacious rooms offer a choice of queen or king beds, signature toiletries and feature a mini fridge, microwave and many more comforting amenities.The fully licensed Le Mezz Restaurant presents varied menus, from a full buffet breakfast to lunch and dinner a la carte.Available on site is indoor valet parking $, WiFi in room and in public areas $, new fully equipped fitness center, outdoor rooftop swimming pool and lounge deck all offering stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Cantlie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cantlie Hotel Montreal
Le Cantlie Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Cantlie Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.