We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Montreal to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 Jeanne Mance Street | PO Box 130, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a (Taipan) tour package. We got an awesome deal on our entire package, incl this hotel. The lineup to check in @8:00 p.m. was quite long. Unfortunately we had 2 double beds (not a king which we prefer) which can't be pushed together because of the night table on the wall in the middle. Arrrgh. But the duvet was so soft and perfect. The room itself was unmemorable, but the bar next to the lobby looked cool and being right near Rue Ste. Catherine was convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new trendy "Six Resto-Lounge" and hope you visit us again soon! Thank you for being our Guest.
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    446
    326
    131
    49
See reviews for
218
342
86
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline's bidding system, so I didn't know which hotel I'd be getting. I was pleased to be put into a big name hotel, Hyatt, and to be so central in Montreal. Having read the other TripAdvisor reviews I knew it could be tricky to find the entrance, so that wasn't a problem. The lobby and communal areas were nice - nicer than I expected. However, the rooms and corridors themselves are pretty shabby. As other people have mentioned, the corridors have marked and ripped wallpaper, and the room itself clearly hadn't been updated in a long time. The other issue is clearly the elevators - there were queues of 30 people or more waiting for the elevators up to the room. I'm not sure why there is such a problem with this (other hotels don't tend to have more than 4 elevators?) but it's something the management should try to address.
However, given I only paid $100/night, it was fine - safe, clean, and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A good upscale hotel well located across from Place des Art.
It is aging but well maintained with an accomodating, friendly staff.
The bathroom was a bit cramped but all other facilities were fine.
Access is a bit difficult due to street construction, but this is temporary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and for having been our Guest. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
C. Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip. This hotel is located right on the less glamourous part St-Catherine Street. It gives you easy access to the nicer part of St-Catherine and all the shopping within a 10 minute walk. The hotel is right next to China Town. It is located above a small mall, which is convenient for it's restaurants, pharmacy and bank machine. My work meetings were at the Palais des Congres (Congress Hall) which was about a 7 minute walk away. My colleagues who stayed at the Inter Continental and the Daulphin were much closer to the congress hall than I was.
There is a weird 2 elevator system to get to your room that proves to be a little bit annoying if you are coming and going a few times a day. The lobby and restaurant/bar are nice and modern.
The gym and the indoor pool are great. The TV in my room did not have a signal 2 mornings out of 4. There is a mini fridge in every room, I put mine to the coldest option and it barely kept anything cold (I was afraid to eat the yogourt I put in there cause it was so close to room temperature).
The bed was not very comfortable, felt the springs in my back. The shower was one of the weirdest configurations ever: The shower head is not in the centre of the shower wall, very close to the shower curtain which made it hard to be under the shower head without having to touch the old shower curtain.
The heating system made a sound every few minutes that drove me crazy and made me think someone was coming into my room every time. It would also keep me from falling asleep at times.
The doormen downstairs were nice and helpful. I ran into the person cleaning my room one day and she was very kind and. The staff at the front desk all looked bitter.
All in all, I am glad work paid for me to stay here. I would not stay here again if I need to come back to Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for being our Guest. During your stay, the local cable company was effecting repair work in the downtown sector and all cable was out for 1 1/2 days. We truly apologize for this inconvenience. Unfortunately this was not in our control. In order for the minifridge to function on it's coldest setting, the control dial must be placed on Low (not high), and subsequently the temperature dial on coldest. Since our hotel is located above a Mall, our Guests usually appreciate that the elevators to the rooms are separate from the elevator to the Mall & parking. This provides security for our Guests.We do hope that you will give our hotel another chance in order to experience the Quality & Service Excellence that Hyatt hotels are known for.
Sincerely,
C. Laflamme, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I had a great stay here. I loved the bar by the lobby. Check - in was a breeze. All staff were very friendly and were willing to help. Our room was wonderful and very clean. Location is great. Across the street from shopping. Also the hotel is attached to the mall so you can shop til you droo and grab the elevator to the hotel. The subway station is right down the street. Hotel is within walking distance to old town montreal. Oh and by the way. Great breakfast for room service.

Would I stay here again??? I don't see why not. You got everything at your doorstep :))

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel! Thank you for your positive comments. Our goal is to always provide the Quality & Service Excellence that Hyatt Hotels are known for. You mentioned enjoying the lobby bar "Six"....I hope you also had the opportunity of experiencing our international wines in our state-of-the-art self-serve wine bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Candice Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia Antipolis, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hyatt Regency in Montreal is well located, within walking distance of convention center, shopping mall and street, university, etc. But I must say that I expected more from a Hyatt. the Check in staff was friendly and helpful, but check in line was a bit long. More staff should have been on duty at the end of the day. The concierge was nowhere to be seen during my three day-stay. The room has nothing particular. Confortable but average. The bathroom was small and disapointing. Shower and sink faucets were 1980's models. It may be time for a make-over . . .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for being our Guest. Although our Concierge service is provided daily from May to September, we do have our Bellmen, Doorman, Valets and Front Desk Agents who are pleased to assist with any information our Guests require. We hope to host you once again whenever your travels bring you back to Montreal.
C.Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Location, Mall was convinient, reasonably prices since the other hotels were more expensive...it's close to Old Montreal, China Town and all the shopping and museum attractions... walking distance...there were 7 of us and stayed at adjoining rooms... breakfast per person at $20 was expensive when we stayed at Embassy Suites 2 years ago, it was included in our room rate... so we ate at the mall food court every morning while staying at the Hyatt
I've been to Montreal serveral times staying at the Sheraton, Holiday Inn, and Embassy Suites, what disappointed us was the lack of elavators to our second floor room...we could not access the stairway - you needed a passcode to get to each floor...so it took 30 minutes to get on an elavator and got dirty looks from guests when we got off our floor... layout is confusing, you have to take different elavators to go to your room, to the mall or outside... Guest Services doesn't exist (fend for yourself if you have an Iphone) and calling for room service took forever...the phone ran 10 times before anyone picked up... plus they charge you .05 when you call another room while you're in the hotel??....
I would stay here again if the other hotels don't offer a competative rate because of location only.... and the mall has access to the metro so you have to step outside....parking was reasonable but they charge you $10 each time you take the car out...this is a busy hotel, cruise lines, tour buses and airline employees stay here...

Room Tip: ask for a window view not facing the "ugly construction "
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for being our Guest. We appreciate your comments which assist us in improving both our product & service. As in my response to the Guest below, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences experienced or delays in service due to an extremely busy weekend. Although our goal is to provide Service Excellence at which we are usually quite successful, at times providing service to all our Guests at the same time can be challenging. I truly thank you for your patience and understanding. I do hope you will visit us again in order to experience our usual Service Excellence. ..Candice Laflamme, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street | PO Box 130, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Montreal hotels offer direct underground access to the Montreal Convention Centre, the Metro and the Contemporary Museum of Art. Our Montreal hotel is also within walking distance of Old Montreal, Chinatown and the trendiest restaurants. Our hotel features 605 handsomely appointed guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of our dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.