We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from a Hyatt hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Montreal to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 Jeanne Mance Street | PO Box 130, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #65 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Sophia Antipolis, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from a Hyatt hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hyatt Regency in Montreal is well located, within walking distance of convention center, shopping mall and street, university, etc. But I must say that I expected more from a Hyatt. the Check in staff was friendly and helpful, but check in line was a bit long. More staff should have been on duty at the end of the day. The concierge was nowhere to be seen during my three day-stay. The room has nothing particular. Confortable but average. The bathroom was small and disapointing. Shower and sink faucets were 1980's models. It may be time for a make-over . . .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for being our Guest. Although our Concierge service is provided daily from May to September, we do have our Bellmen, Doorman, Valets and Front Desk Agents who are pleased to assist with any information our Guests require. We hope to host you once again whenever your travels bring you back to Montreal.
C.Laflamme
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    447
    326
    131
    49
See reviews for
218
342
86
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Location, Mall was convinient, reasonably prices since the other hotels were more expensive...it's close to Old Montreal, China Town and all the shopping and museum attractions... walking distance...there were 7 of us and stayed at adjoining rooms... breakfast per person at $20 was expensive when we stayed at Embassy Suites 2 years ago, it was included in our room rate... so we ate at the mall food court every morning while staying at the Hyatt
I've been to Montreal serveral times staying at the Sheraton, Holiday Inn, and Embassy Suites, what disappointed us was the lack of elavators to our second floor room...we could not access the stairway - you needed a passcode to get to each floor...so it took 30 minutes to get on an elavator and got dirty looks from guests when we got off our floor... layout is confusing, you have to take different elavators to go to your room, to the mall or outside... Guest Services doesn't exist (fend for yourself if you have an Iphone) and calling for room service took forever...the phone ran 10 times before anyone picked up... plus they charge you .05 when you call another room while you're in the hotel??....
I would stay here again if the other hotels don't offer a competative rate because of location only.... and the mall has access to the metro so you have to step outside....parking was reasonable but they charge you $10 each time you take the car out...this is a busy hotel, cruise lines, tour buses and airline employees stay here...

Room Tip: ask for a window view not facing the "ugly construction "
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for being our Guest. We appreciate your comments which assist us in improving both our product & service. As in my response to the Guest below, please accept our apologies for any inconveniences experienced or delays in service due to an extremely busy weekend. Although our goal is to provide Service Excellence at which we are usually quite successful, at times providing service to all our Guests at the same time can be challenging. I truly thank you for your patience and understanding. I do hope you will visit us again in order to experience our usual Service Excellence. ..Candice Laflamme, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosup, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Three female friends age 34 traveling to Montreal for the weekend. We got to the hotel mid afternoon and checked in quickly. Staff was always polite and when asked Parlez vous anglais? (Yes people its a french-speaking province so be courteous and learn how to say that) we always got "But of course!" Free breakfast was included for all three of us but I must say that if I had to pay I wouldnt have: $75 for three people on mediocre food is ridiculous. So if you dont have coupons or free breakfast walk across the street to Starbucks. The Hotel is beautiful and modern with a nice pool and wrap around terrace that overlooks the busy Centre Des Spectacles. We walked easily to many restaurants, bars, China Town, Old Montreal and Old Port. My only gripe would be the fact that cruise ships were unloading hundreds of travelers into Montreal this weekend and the hotel lobby was always packed and four elevators never seemed to make it to the lobby causing large lines! But otherwise perfectly good centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the Museum of Contemporary Art
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback & having been our Guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and apologize for the wait for elevators at times. Our hotel is extremely popular with Cruise ships, tours and leisure and Corporate Guests due to our location & service. This was a particularly busy weekend with many guests arriving at the same time. With 607 rooms, at times there is congestion. We do thank you for your patience and understanding. The cost for the full hot & cold breakfast buffet is actually very competitive with major downtown hotels. Given the quantity of food offered, it is more of a "brunch". We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Candice Laflamme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

On Friday, Sept. 21, 2012 Holland American cruise line booked my family of 5 into the Hyatt Regency Montreal for one night prior to board its ship the Maasdam for a 7 night cruise up the St. Lawrence Seaway. Two of my family members were booked into a double occupancy of one room with 2 double beds (adequate). I was booked into a triple occupancy with my older sister and a good friend (3 grown women). We had told our travel agent and the cruiseline that each of us would require our own bed.(that is 3 beds or 2 double beds with a roll-a-way). The room we three were to occupy was the same as the other room, only two double beds, and no room for any roll-a-way, or anything else). When I inquired, the hotel staff were uncooperative and did nothing. So that night, I put a lounge chair and the desk chair with rollers together and tried to sleep sitting up. Not good for the back, and not restful.

The next morning we asked about a breakfast buffet, and we told to eat in the food court that opened up at 7 a.m. We were not pleased with any of the services or lack there of that we received. We told Holland America representative about it, and she just shrugged her shoulders. So much for service!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for having been our Guests. We are truly sorry that you were not informed that there are 2 double beds in a double room and that there is not enough space for a cot at the time you made your reservations. The only way to have 3 separate beds is to reserve a suite with a pull out sofa.Unfortunately your travel agent was misinformed. Although we do have a food court with many restaurants in the mall below, our hotel restaurant is open for breakfast from 6:30 AM until 10:30 weekdays and until 11:30 on weekends. I am not clear on why you did not have access to the buffet breakfast if you arrived during these hours. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights. The location was excellent. Just opposite Place des Arts. It is a short walk to Old Montreal and the complex is connected to the underground "city" and is very convenient especially if the weather is poor for walking. The hotel is located in the Desjardins Complex. We parked our car in the Desjardin Complex underground parking and left it there for 4 days. Some construction near the garage entrance so go slow. A bit confusing with entrances and elevators the first time. Once you understand that the lobby is on the 6th floor and the rooms above, it is simpler. There is a connection to the lobby from the Mall and P1 level below via elevator. If you stay more than a day or two it is worthwhile figuring this out.

The staff were all very professional and courteous. The lobby has been nicely done in a very contemporary style. The room was o.k. The bed was comfortable except the sheets were not fitted properly and so the bottom sheet was loose. A note to housekeeping and they did a good job making the bed, but the sheet still did not fit properly. The bed was otherwise comfortable and my wife especially likes the Hyatt pillows. The ventilation was very good and the room was very quiet. The bathroom was clean but could have used a coat of paint on the ceiling. The chair in the room was not particularly comfortable and the ottoman was mismatched and too high for comfort.

Overall I have had better rooms in hotels in the 4 star category in Montreal. However the price we paid likely reflected the quality. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and quiet, the staff were professional. These are the most important things to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Located near old montreal. Nice and clean. Some construction on side road but overall a great experience. Staff was very helpful. There is a mall underneath the hotel which is very convenient. We will love to come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I attended a conference held at the Hyatt Regency Montreal, so I did not personally research and select this hotel. It served the purpose of providing a one-stop site for the conference, so I never had to leave the hotel for anything. It also was a perfect location for sightseeing in a limited time frame, and guests can easily access a large indoor retail mall adjacent to the hotel. However, I found the hotel's layout very confusing & got lost several times, arriving late to a few of the sessions I planned to attend. The guest/customer service was ambivalent - I never saw a human being at the concierge desk, and the Hyatt needed two calls before they showed up, much delayed, to troubleshoot the mini-fridge. Although the food was excellent, the food servers were impersonal and brusque. The room was comfortable but the lighting was terrible for getting any work or reading done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyMontreal, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Montreal, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which assists us in correcting any deficiencies in our Service or Product. The Concierge desk is manned in the high season from May to September. Our Bellmen, Valet, Front Desk Agents are pleased to provide any assistance Guests require regarding the city as an option. Please accept my apology for the less than service excellent in the restaurant. I have forwarded your comments to both the Restaurant Manager & Food & Beverage Director for immediate follow up with the wait staff. Thank you for being our Guest and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Montreal

Address: 1255 Jeanne Mance Street | PO Box 130, Montreal, Quebec H5B 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 605
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Montreal hotels offer direct underground access to the Montreal Convention Centre, the Metro and the Contemporary Museum of Art. Our Montreal hotel is also within walking distance of Old Montreal, Chinatown and the trendiest restaurants. Our hotel features 605 handsomely appointed guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of our dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Montreal Hotel Montreal
Hyatt Montreal
Montreal Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.