We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel in a great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3440 avenue du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel in a great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is average in just about everyway except the excellent location. The rooms are clean, just big enough with mid-level furnishings. The staff if uneven in quality of service. It does have fine TV service and free WIFI. Watch out for parking though. The basement garage can fill up late in the day and your reservation does not guarantee a space. On street parking is in short supply and I would not want to leave anyhing visible in the car overnight (Montreal is utterly safe for people but not so for property) so have backup plans if you plan to arrive late at night. The hotel does have pleasant corner "single" rooms at the corners of each floor. With a full size bed, they are great for couples or a solo travelers.
Located at the border of two great areas -- McGill's student "ghetto" and the "plateau" it is a perfect jumping of spot for sight seeing, dining or shopping. Though the hotel has no amenities other than soda machines and ice, there is a Tim Hortons (think Duncan Donuts fror those of you from the States), next door, a Provigo super market just across the street and the charming Picolo cafe two buildings away.

Room Tip: Ask for a one bed corner room, if that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of the Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, our central location and nearby attractions . We do appreciate your feedback in regards to parking, the furnishings and amenities, these comments help us as we are constantly evaluating ways that we can improve our hotel. We do hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    90
    38
    21
    12
See reviews for
37
44
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at this hotel in March 2013.The hotel is very well located and close to Metro stations, supermarket right opposite, local shops and cafes. Hotel was very clean, beautiful soft pillows and bedding. Room and hotel lovely and warm. Free access to WiFi via 2 computers in lobby. Staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for outings etc and helping with check in on line using their own computer when others were not powerful enough. There was 12" snow during our visit and it was easy to dry clothes in our room. The only real drawback we found was that there was no fridge and the terrible view of a building site next door.(which will soon be complete.) Would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if cost is a factor as it is very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the side, no views but then none of them had one. No noise at all on the 8th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings! We appreciate your thorough and complimentary review of the Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal. We focus no striving to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your stay. These comments are very important because they help us pursue continuous improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location and are glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you, we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms are clean and you get a fresh newspaper in the morning. There is a good Greek restaurant right next door and a Tim Hortons donut shop
Adjacent to the hotel lobby.
It is also really close to Benelux micro brewery/pub

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello and greetings from the Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal! We understand everyone has a busy schedule and we appreciate the time our customers take to write about their experience. We are happy to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms as-well as the proximity to many gastronomic restaurants. We thank you for staying with us and hope to have you back on your next visit to Montreal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here for a night in March. The hotel was pretty conveniently located. The Metro is less than a 5 minute walk away. There is a grocery store across the street. There are restaurants close by as well.

The hotel itself looks to be well maintained. My room was a good size with modern enough furniture and TV. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. I found the room to be quiet. Very little noise from outside, and none from neighbouring rooms, and little from the hallway.

The only slight negative was the wait at check-in. I waited nearly 10 minutes to get waited on, even though I was the only person checking in. The desk was staffed with only a single person, and she was busy handling calls. One caller must have asked her a million questions. I don't blame her, what could she do? She was pleasant to the person on the phone and pleasant and efficient once she was able to get to me. I saw what appeared to be a manager or supervisor come talk to her at one point, and then leave the area. I don't know why they didn't check me in themselves, knowing how long I was waiting, and seeing her busy. Its really not that big of a deal, and overall, I was pleased with the night I spent at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms and location to your taste. It is because of comments like yours that helps us propel our service to a new level. We are sorry that check-in was not completed in a timely manner and we will be careful to observe when the receptionist are on the phones for a long periods as to not have excessive waiting times. Again we thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked into this hotel for a night while on business in Montreal and were pleasantly greeted by the front desk person, Brad. Our room was just fine and had been well prepped. Parking is an additional charge, which you will need to keep in mind when considering staying here. However, in central Montreal, this is not unusual.

The hotel is used by sports teams in town for games and by business and pleasure travelers. There's a Tim 's just off the lobby, so that first cuppa is easy to acquire and there's a Cora's across the street for a breakfast/lunch/brunch as well. Nearby are two large grocery stores and you are within a healthy walk of Mount Royal Park going uphill and of Place Ville Marie and the whole underground network of stores and malls running under the city's downtown core.

Brad was back when we checked out and we found that he hit just the right note of professionalism and friendliness.

There are other, higher end hotels nearby but if you are looking for value for money, this is just fine. This is a transitional neighborhood and so there are some sketchy folks around, but they are not a bother... seems like it's just part of downtown big city life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello, we would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review! We make every effort to ensure our guest’s experiences are superb. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and are pleased that our front desk receptionist was able to deliver the service that we are know for. Looking forward to your stay with us again on your next trip to Montreal. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

On arrival we had a helpful check in by Jason! Hotel is in a great location and we had a very comfortable 3 nights. As the hotel was very quiet I requested the possibility of a late check out after 12 noon and was advised by "Melissa" that for any time after 1 pm there would be a charge of $25 ! Rather surprised by her response and lack of customer service I advised her that it was obvious the hotel was quiet and as the chamber maid had not arrived until 4pm the previous day to attend our room, I thought it unproblematic. After staring at her pc Melissa then advised me that they were expecting a block booking and we had to vacate the room latest 12.30 pm.

I found this quite extraordinary. Having travelled extensively during the past year staying at many good hotels, I have never come across such dreadful customer service at the front desk.

Melissa - you obviously do not like your job as a hotel receptionist, I found your surly attitude most disagreeable and I certainly would not have employed you to be on the front line.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave feedback on your trip to Montreal. First and foremost, there is never an excuse for poor service and you can rest assured that the situation will be corrected. An experience like this is not indicative of our hotel, it’s service or quality. Thank you for your valuable feedback, we hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you again and reinstate your confidence with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as it is close to the US Consulate (I have an immigrant visa interview there) and I could use my Choice hotel points to pay.

The lobby is very nice, freshly renovated and has a Tim Hortons in it. They originally put me in a double (I booked a king suite), and they handled the problem great.

The room was clean, and has new furniture. There is nothing really all that special about this hotel, but its not a dump by any means.

Parking is $18/night, which is a steal for downtown garage parking. Will stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager329, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we were able to accommodate all of your requests through our choice privilege program. We are glad you appreciated the renovations and the competitive parking. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal

Address: 3440 avenue du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located walking distance to Quartier des Spectacles site of Jazz & Just for Laugh festivals. Metro subway system and Bixi bicycle rental are located nearby. Bell Center home of the Montreal Canadian and concert venue accessible thru a 10 minutes subway ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Montreal
Quality Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtown Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.