We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel staff was nice and knowledgeable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Berri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Berri to your Saves list
Lord Berri
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
1 review
“hotel staff was nice and knowledgeable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

hotel staff answered all my questions and offered a lot of extra services. helped lock my luggage in secure room even after i checked out. everything in the room was expected with nice hot shower and tv. good value for good price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    85
    39
    30
See reviews for
37
81
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel, although not in the center of Montreal is within walking distance (less than 5 minutes) to the subway station, which is why I think it's a great location. You can just take the subway and go wherever you want without paying for a downtown hotel.The price was good and it was clean and we felt safe in there. There's an Italian restaurant on site for food, drinks, or just coffee. The staff was helpful and polite. The only thing that we didn't like was that we had to pay for parking, I think 20 or 25 dollars a night which adds up to the price per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pluses - location is great, price was excellent, room was large and clean, the beds were comfy. Large TV, desk to work on and wifi. Fast elevators.

The negatives - limited parking available (had to scramble to find spaces), night staff service needs improvement.

**Avoid using the back exit, street people use the loading dock area to sleep and smoke up

Room Tip: Only exit from the main lobby doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I got a great deal on Hotwire, so I can't really complain. Sure, the woman who works at the front desk isn't the friendliest desk clerk I've encountered, but she's not "horrible". Perhaps because I was a Hotwire customer, they put me in the saddest room (right next to the elevator), but the room desperately needs a refresh. Very, very dated look. Shower handle came right off in my hand and had to have them repair it (which they did). I agree that the faucets are very 70s. Shower has very good pressure though. Bed was all right. Wifi was good. There was a mini-fridge. No cleanliness issues to report. The area around the hotel does admittedly seem a bit sketchy, but I wouldn't say it's dangerous, even at night. I wouldn't park outdoors here though.. it's not far from a known drug-dealing area (Parc Émilie-Gamelin, right beside the Berri-UQAM metro station). Very, very close to the gay village, bus terminal, metro. Would I stay here again? Meh. If I want to be very thrifty, perhaps. But if I wanted to treat myself to something nice, I'd give it a pass.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Check in required my getting my confirmation info, as my reservation wasn't in the system. The front desk then had to scramble to accommodate my reservation. i ended up getting a king sized bed at no extra charge. Schweet.

The room was modern, but the bathroom has 70's era faucets. You'd think they'd want to save water here and install water efficient faucets. Guess not. Took two showers and despite my best effort, had water leaking on the floor both times!

Bathroom had hair on the floor, not a lot of hair but it wasn't mine! Eww.

Deposit of $300. No wet bar!

The area where located is a little on the sketchy side. It has it's caveats. Good restaurants, bars and cinema, but with Berri Square nearby it is without a doubt a high crime rate area of Montreal. Drugs and prostituion.

Parking not included with the room. Next door is a parking lot clearly stating a fee of $10, but for clients of the hotel it gets bumped to $15. Canadians for some reason, just like an increase with a price is petrol is met with little resistance!

Comfy bed, but it seems the norm now that virtually everywhere I stay unfortunately, the beds contains really thick pillows.

Would stay here again.

Check-out was quick and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hotel is old so the carpets look worn and dirty. The restaurant is very good and the rooms were clean. However, DO NOT park in their garage. It costs $17 a day and it is a closet. Really. if you have a car bigger than a zip car, don't even try to get in and out of this garage. There is an outside lot that is $12 a day, right next door. The woman who works at the front desk is very rude. She seems to be overworked and is stressed. It is located in an area where you can walk to most things. There was a refrigerator in the room and it was very loud. There isn't a store inside the hotel so you have to buy things outside. The gift shop keeps weird hours and is usually closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in three hotels in 2 weeks for work and found a well located, decently priced suite at the Lord Berri. Our room was clean but the check in was very slow and the staff did not seem very friendly. We asked for ideas for tours and they could not suggest anything. In the end a busboy at schwartz deli recommended (and highly recommended) said to visit the notre dame bacilica. It was well worth it. Definitely bring a phone with GPS. There are so many one ways around our area that we drove by the hotel at least once.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Berri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Berri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.