We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint Malo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Saint Malo to your Saves list
Le Saint Malo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Rue Du Fort, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2C2, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Hands down the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at.

Cheap does not mean it can be unclean, run down, musty, noisy, and generally mis-managed.

The bed and bedding were old, unclean, and musty. The floors and walls were filthy, and the whole place smelled.

The door-jam had clearly been kicked in and was only screwed back into the wall, so the lock wouldn't be able to handle a person leaning against it.

The bath-tub had so much water underneath it that you couldn't safely stand in/on it (I wish I was kidding).

The table legs were bent out of shape so the table was basically unusable (not that there is room to use it), and the chair was stained with god-knows-what.

The place is connected with vents (except in the bathroom!?!) so that you can hear even the lowest conversations as if they were in your room. And, we had 4 or 5 staying in the room next to us that were so obnoxious that we ended up leaving (this was after trying to get staff to do something about it!

The breakfast was an insult given that you're in Montreal (definitely food city!), and the location isn't in the safest or best part of town (a lot of drunks, street-folks, and rowdies).

Simply put: its a dump.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    9
    11
    24
See reviews for
9
16
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ETOBICOKE
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This is my first review and I am oh so compelled to warn others.
What can you say when you arrive from out of town and the owner of the hotel is unable to give you directions to his own hotel. Unbelieveable? We finally found this place on the sleazier side of the downtown core; lots of sex shops etc. and we are given a room in the BASEMENT!!!!!
A dank little hobble of a room and we could hear the guests talking in the next room like they were right beside us. I have never been so indignant in my life.
Needless to say we high-footed it out of there and stayed at the Hotel Maritime Plaza a few blocks away and had a fantastic time for $20 more a night with an indoor pool.
If you have read this far then it is highly probable that you are budget conscious as we were. Trust me, save yourself a lot of heartache and do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband booked this hotel for himself and his colleagues because it was cheap and near to Ecole Polytechnic. Well, as he said, you get what you paid for.

Breakfast is muffins and coffee, which you bring up to your room to eat. Walls are thin, bed narrow even for an Asian sized guy. The room is small with no much space to maneuver. The bed in his room has no bed bugs, thank goodness! Toilet is regular sized ( he's seen smaller ones ). The staff is clueless about the location of the power point ( behind the cupboard, after some search ) though he tries to help. LOL!Internet connection is reliable though. About everything works.

It is located in a residential area which is not ideal for those who wish to see the sights on foot.

If only I had checked the reviews before he made the booking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

BED BUGS... stay away!

AVOID THE TORMENT I WENT THROUGH BECAUSE OF CONTRACTING BED BUGS FROM THE SAINT MALO MONTREAL. AVOID THIS HOTEL.

The Saint Malo Montreal has a huge BED BUG problem. There are many reviews about it, just like mine.

I stayed here and was very disappointed with the cleanliness. I had bed bug bites all over me (see sample photos attached). Bed bugs can be a major disturbance and cost you thousands to exterminate if you take them home. You may end up throwing out some of your favorite clothing. Don't risk it.

The worst part about it was they would not admit there were bed bugs in the room. They played dumb. Very unprofessional. It cost me a lot of money to treat all my clothing and remove the BED BUGS.

THE BED BUGS BITES STAYED ON MY FACE FOR NINE DAYS.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The room is small, but it's very clean and cozy. the whole environment is so quiet and comfortable, with free breakfast of huge, the room charge is very reasonable. Especially, the location, we can get to St-catherina street which is main shopping and resto street in montreal just in 3 minutes on foot. And the staff is so friendly, good experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I don’t usually write hotel reviews but really have to warn you for this one.

The first thing we noticed entering the cramped room in the basement was the smell. Then the stains on the bed covers and carpet, followed by the dust and mould in the corners. We asked for another room, but they looked even worse. As the helpful desk clerk explained, ours was “De Luxe”.

With no time to look for another hotel we checked for bed bugs, found none – just some spiders – and reluctantly decided to stay.

Everything in the room was neglected and dysfunctional. The closet was about to fall apart and just taking up some of the limited space left around the two beds. The sink fell off the wall if you touched it – we learned not to do that. The bath tub floor made sounds indicating that some muddy substance was under it, although it didn’t come out. The remote control batteries were blank and several light bulbs were blown. The table fan turned on but didn’t move sideways. The ice bucket held dust. A spilled colored substance – long dried up – smeared the inside of the shared refrigerator in the hallway.

The room had no air conditioning. The central ventilation system gave a weak flow after the kind desk clerk cranked it up, but most of the time did nothing. The room had two windows. One opened to the street at foot level, so we kept it closed. The other opened to an alley, but turned out to be the source of the stench, coming from the kitchen of a nearby restaurant. Only late in the evening the window could be opened for heat control.

After a rainy night a car in the alley drove through a puddle, splashing a wave of water through the window over my wife and the book she was reading. It was so absurd, that we finally had a good laugh about it.

I’ve travelled a lot in Europe, North America, Brazil and Asia. This was the worst hotel I saw in 25 years.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This place is a complete Dump. It tells you it has onsight parking but that is a lie, you have to park down the street in a very unsecure and very unsafe looking car park. It only got worse as me and my boyfriend went in the room. It was tiny, and looked nothing like the photograohs online. The bed was all crooked and tiny, you cannot call it a double. Never stay here. We checked in then an hour later we checked out and went to the novotel where we had a brilliant sat for only $20 extra a night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Saint Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Malo

Address: 1455 Rue Du Fort, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Saint Malo 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Saint Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Malo Montreal
Le Saint Malo Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint Malo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.