We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits the Bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1740 Bld Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1R3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Fits the Bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for Grand Prix weekend and the hotel staff could not have been more accomodating. The value and location is excellent. It is only two blocks to St. Catherine street and the Metro station.The only downside is that some rooms could use some renovation to make them all more equal in quality. That said, all of them were clean with the comfortable beds and good hot showers we needed after spending long days at the track. The buffet breakfast is not included, but the food was varied and plentifull. Overall a very good experience lead by an excellent hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room. There are older and newer sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest
hope you have enjoyed the Grand Prix week end in Montreal and
thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Yes we are investing over half million of dollars do make sure sure that all room are equal quality and thank you also for your good comments towards our service team, the quality of our guest agent is imperative to our succes.
Hope to see you next 2014 grand prix
Benjamin Magazzinich
General Manager
Le nouvel Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    199
    106
    47
    45
See reviews for
93
169
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If 3 1/2 stars were an option on the user rating scale, that's how I would have scored Le Nouvel, but since there are no half stars in TA user reviewland, the courteous staff and good service pushed me toward 4.
Le Nouvel is located on the west end of downtown Montreal, in a neighborhood that's a mix of commercial and residential. The exterior of the hotel is on the nondescript side, but the lobby is spacious and attractive when you enter its sliding glass door.
I was very tired after the long train ride from Windsor via Toronto, so I'm sure I was babbling and nonsensical when I checked in. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful.
The room floors feel sort of motor inn-ish and look dated, but everything's clean and reasonably well-maintained. The rooms themselves are Courtyard by Marriott-ish in quality. They're large and relatively basic, but comfortable. There's plenty of space for storing luggage and clothing, and the furnishings are adequate. The flat-screen TV has a good channel selection, en francais and in English.
My room featured two queen beds -- very comfortable, but they're not going make anyone forget about Westin heavenly beds. Bathrooms were dated too, but featured good shower pressure and a sink that gets scalding hot. (But hot is to the right, and cold to the left -- remember !!!)
Service was very good at the hotel. Requests such as extra towels were responded to quickly. I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant -- not in the culinary wonderland that is Montreal.
The hotel is on Rene-Levesque, a major thoroughfare in walkable downtown Montreal. It's about a 5-minute walk to the Guy-Concordia metro station (Green line) and 6 minutes from the Lucien L'Allier metro station (orange line). Several bus routes stop near the hotel.
It's not a spot for those who want to indulge in luxury, but for the price, Le Nouvel is a fine base for enjoying a fantastic city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff , thank you for taking the time to
share your experience with us> It is rewarding, and we are looking
forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again
Benjamin Magazzinich
General Manager
Le Nouvel Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 4 days. very nice hotel, neat and tidy , nice location. The only thing we dint like was , we got only one small water bottle for the whole day. everytime we have to phone them and ask.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for your kind words , we look forward welcoming you
again
Wishing you well
Benjamin Magazzinich
General Manager
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from a road trip around eastern Canada, this was our home for 3 nights whilst in Montreal, we found the hotel easily and parked up without any problems.

We then checked in, this was done by Mario, he was a fantastic member of staff, really friendly and incredibly helpful, he pointed out on the map which he gave us where all the restaurants were, advised some good ones (which we didn't have time to visit, but were grateful for the advice), he also informed us how to use the metro system whilst in the city, and advised us of the beer festival which was on during our stay. We visited this and had a great time!

The room was good, although it looked slightly dated, however this was not an issue for me, it was very clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is very good with just a short walk to either the Metro or a great street filled with restaurants and shopping. We would recommend this hotel heavily to anyone wanting to stay in Montreal, when we return in the future (after more world travelling) I think we will be making a reservation.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
we will continue working hard to exceed your expectation, on behalf
of the entire staff thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us
We wish you all the best and look forward welcoming you soon
Benjamin Magazzinich
General Manager
Le Nouvel Hotel & SPa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with a group of visually impaired holidaymakers. We had a great time exploring Montreal. The hotel had ENORMOUS beds, while the rest of our rooms were also pretty spacious. The staff were very polite and helpful, especially when the drinking water in Montreal was deemed undrinkable for 24 hours and we got free bottled water.

Breakfast was a little basic, but you could pay for extra items from a buffet. The small gym was very welcome and there was even a little shop in the lobby for emergency snacking needs.

The Hotel's location was away from the heart of the city, but close enough to get about when guiding the blind. The decor was slightly old-fashioned but still very nice. Can't comment on the pool (It was only available in the summer) or the spa (Didn't use it).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write your good feedback
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward
to the pleaure of welcoming you again
Benjamin Magazzinich
General Manager
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa MOntreal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed in a huge room, with a tree in it (!!!) ! The hotel is simply amazing, well located, and the staff was really kind. I had an issue with room cleaning, but it was a misunderstanding, and thay gave me 100 dollars discount.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Always a pleasure dealing with you, please do not hesitate to contact me
next time traveling in montreal, and thank you for your good comments
We hope to see you soon and keep well
Benjamin Magazzinich
General Manager
Le nouvel Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I read mixed reviews before I booked this hotel. So I wasn't sure of what will I get. But I know some people are so needy and nothing satisfies them. And I am glad that I have booked this hotel. The rooms were spacious and big, clean, quite, and good location. I don't have a single complaint about the room itself. You pay $15 per day for parking. But this is the case with all hotels in downtown Montreal. However, I would not recommend having breakfast there. They charge $15 per person per day for a very simple breakfast. It does not worth even $5. Other than that. I have no complains at all. Book this hotel, they have good prices and will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeNouvelHotelTeam, General Manager at Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Just w few words to thank your kind words, and for sharing
your stay experience with us. I have shared your comments with all my team
and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again
Benjamin \magazzinich
General Manager
Le nouvel Hotel & Spa MOntreal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa

Address: 1740 Bld Rene Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#13 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To experience an entirely new level of hospitality excellence, choose the accommodations of our Three-Diamond hotel in Montreal. Le Nouvel Hotel and Spa is also the ideal choice for professional business meetings and elegant social affairs, whether you choose our own flexible banquet halls or the nearby Montreal Convention Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nouvel Hotel Montreal
Le Nouvel Hotel And Spa
Le Nouvel Montreal
Montreal Le Nouvel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.