We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Boulevard Rene-Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 2L7, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #50 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is what you would expect from a large Sheraton property; it has large conference facilities, its situated right downtown in the business district and its tailored for business travelers.

The hotel has undergone extensive renovations, as you can tell immediately when you walk in the lobby. The hotel was built in the 70's but when you walk into the lobby you feel like you're in a brand new hotel!

The room was very large and renovated, however the bathroom still felt a bit old. It was a corner room with window facing west and south, with nice views of downtown Montreal (Bell Centre, etc.). The bed was incredibly comfortable.

Although everything is a short-walk away in this area of downtown Montreal, the one downside is that the hotel is not connected to the underground city / metro (unlike Hilton, Fairmont and Marriott downtown, which all have direct access to the underground city and the metro). That being said, there's plenty of nice restaurants in the vicinity, more affordable places on Stanley street (adjacent), shopping on St. Catherine street is 1 block away and the nearest metro is 1 block south of the hotel. All I'm saying is that on a freezing Montreal winter day, direct access to the underground without going outside is a nice plus :-)

I would highly recommend this hotel is you're in Montreal for a business trip, especially if you're an SPG member (there's an excellent lounge on the upper floor).

If you want to come into town for the weekend for leisure purposes, there are probably better hotels (although the prices here are very competitive, especially in low season).

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view, try to get a room which is at least 20 floors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    694
    299
    106
    35
See reviews for
275
418
128
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I did a road trip from Toronto to Ottawa to Montreal, stayed at Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was great, location was wonderful, but the steep hill driving down to it was a bit scarey. Hotel was walks away from the main stores and restaurants. Definitely will go back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

If you book a room in the upper floors you will have the best view over the town. It is close to the city centre, shopping, good connection to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I went to Montreal for a visit for two nights; and got a good deal on Priceline for a room in this hotel. The hotel is in a great location. It’s a couple of blocks from the train station and maybe a 10 minute walk to one of the many shopping areas in Montreal, there are also many restaurants around. The room was okay but the windows were kind of dirty and there seemed to be a humidity problem as there was a bit of condensation on them. The covers on the bed also appeared to have some stains or spots on them and the coffee maker was dirty. But the bathroom was large and clean. Since I got the room for a reasonable price, the stay was worth it but I might try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton in February for a boys trip with my father and brothers. The hotel was reasonably priced and in a great location, (not far from the Canadiens hockey stadium and tons of restaurants and bars). The rooms are nothing special, but also there is nothing especially wrong with them, just typical I suppose. The service was great as usual with the Sheraton and there was a rooftop bar/lounge that offers very beautiful views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I've been staying at the Centre Sheraton when I go to Montreal on business for about 10 years. I've never had any kind of problems that weren't immediately taken care of to my satisfaction (and none that were the hotels fault) Rooms always clean, employees have all been nice and the bar (while expensive) is a good place for a night cap.

Room Tip: Corner suites have better views and are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
827, General Manager at Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We very much appreciate your review and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Michel G. Giguere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Was once a really good top end hotel but not so much now as a place where you will stay and if not careful get gouged for food, service and EVERYTHING ELSE. Eat out - Montreal has some of the finest eateries in the world with great vibes. Everything in Le Centre Sheraton is super expensive. There are nicer boutique hotels I'll use in future. Its not like I'm desperate for the points!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
827, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
We thank you for your feedback and regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your comments are of great value to us and we welcome the opportunity to discuss this further and to demonstrate our interest in you as our valued guest.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel

Address: 1201 Boulevard Rene-Levesque West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 2L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#39 Business Hotel in Montreal
#41 Family Hotel in Montreal
#48 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Centre Sheraton Montreal Hotel is by St. Catherine Street, the Bell Centre, Montreal business district, and shopping at Ogilvy. Our 51,000 sq ft of meeting space can accommodate 2,000 event guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montreal
Montreal Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.