We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment suite in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Appartement Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Appartement Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
L'Appartement Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B7, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Deal 15% Discount
Ranked #48 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment suite in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were upgraded to a larger apartment but, even so, would probably have liked the facilities, no matter how small or large the apartment was.

It felt like a home-from-home and had everything we needed for a self-contained stay.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, too.

It is next to McGill University and there is an entrance to Mount Royal on the edge of the campus, which is a great place to walk in and the views from the top are fantastic.

There are plenty of coffee bars, bars and small restaurants near by and a large Provigo supermarket with a wide range of groceries and a deli.

You can walk to the Old City in 15 minutes and most of downtown Montreal in 20 minutes.

We went to see Leonard Cohen in Concert at the Bell Centre and the fact that he was magnificent was the icing on the cake of a 3 day/2 nights stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade :) ... although we had already been given on before we arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appartement73, General Manager at L'Appartement Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It's a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt like ''home away from home'' as you mention! We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again on your next trip to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    167
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
106
74
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here with a few friends in November. I have stayed in this area before, but not at this particular hotel.

The locaiton is great - the rooms are comfortable, and overall we had an amazing time with all of the space we had (in a 2br).

The breakfast is standard fare, bagels, criossants, cereal etc. The only thing I would say is that the blinds don't close all of the way so the sun comes bursting in pretty early. No really good if you want to sleep in.

I would definitley stay again and recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over US Thanksgiving holiday with the whole family. My daughter lives next door at one of the McGill dorm. Of course it is not thanksgiving in Canada, so we brought the turkey and fixings from home, half baked. We arrived Thursday afternoon, checked in, and put the turkey in the oven. That night we had a nice dinner for 8 and it was so memorable.

The one bedroom apartment is perfect for a family of 3 or 4. The kitchen is good, even better if they supplied pots and pans. But we came ready having stayed there once before. The room is not up to date, the elevator is tiny and slow, but it served us just fine. We were there to explore Montreal not to be sequestered in the room. My only complain was the heat, which is too much. Good thing there is a balcony door which can open to provide fresh air.

The location is perfect, close to everything you want to do in Montreal. Parking is across the street at delta hotel, the rate is reasonable and you can go in and out anytime. I don't recommend driving in Montreal though. Parking is not easy and traffic can be bad.

This is a solid 3 star hotel, definitely recommend it and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've been coming to Montreal regularly for the past 4 years for school and I've stayed at many downtown hotels during this process (Holiday Inn, Marriot Suites, Comfort Inn, Quality Inn, Hilton Garden) but I always come back to my favorite, the Apartment Hotel on Sherbrooke Street West. I can't say enough good things about this hotel!
It is the cleanest hotel you will find; I dare you to find a trace of dust in your entire room! You can actually SMELL the clean sheets when you walk in, there are always lots of extra towels and blankets, and the staff is very courteous and professional. It is centrally located a short walk to Crescent Street and McGill, and a grocery store and pharmacy are at your fingertips. The kitchens in every room are a big bonus for individuals such as myself that are travelling alone and like the safety and convenience of not having to go out at night to restaurants to forage for food. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, and you never hear your neighbours. The wireless internet and comfortable work stations in each room are a big plus for students and business people alike. Oh, and the prices are ridiculously reasonable for all of this too. So if you're looking for spacious, clean, affordable accommodation in the heart of downtown Montreal, look no further. The Apartment Hotel is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you need quiet as it is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I needed a place to stay near McGill's Faculty of Music on Sherbrooke Street, and L'Appartement seemed to fit the bill.

I was very pleased with my stay. The location was perfect for me, the staff was very welcoming, professional and helpful, the room, while a bit dated, was large and comfortable. The room includes a small kitchen with stove, microwave and fridge/sink - perfect for longer stays. They have a great continental breakfast buffet included in the price of the room -- probably the most extensive one I've ever seen. The room was very good value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

nice big rooms. comfortable. nothing fancy

like a small one bedroom. has a nice balcony. i stayed 3 nights. better than a small hotel.

pretty old. dated. not that it was bad or anything.

no parking.

kinda pricey for montreal

ohhh yaaa.. the kitchen sink did this really weird thing where bubbles went several feet above the sink. didnt think anything of it... but it was kinda ridiculous. never seen that before

Room Tip: try to get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excelent place to stay.
The location in Montreal is very good, near the metro.
They have good breakfast, confortable rooms and a good price for all that.
The only problem is that sometimes the elevators get a bit crowded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Appartement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Appartement Hotel

Also Known As:
l Appartement Hotel
l Appartement Hotel Montreal
l Apartment Montreal
l Apartment Montreal Hotel
Address: 455 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Appartement Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your L'Appartement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Appartement Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.