We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Appartement Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Appartement Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
L'Appartement Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B7, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Deal 15% Discount
Ranked #49 of 169 hotels in Montreal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

As many others have posted, this hotel is a gem. We had a clean, spacious, and comfortable two-bedroom suite with a full kitchen, living room, dining area, and porch on a high floor facing Mont Royal. The front desk staff were extremely helpful, knowledgable, and cheerful in answering our myriad of questions. The swimming pool was great, location of the hotel superb, and rates amazingly reasonable. I hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view of Mont Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    167
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
106
74
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nicely appointed and good sized room with tidy bathroom and a full kitchen.
We had a 5 night stay and found the location to be good - it is a 3-4 minute walk to the closest train station, and then all of Montreal is available. We bought a 3 day pass which meant we got to most of the places we wanted to visit.
Breakfast is included in your room charge and provides good value.
The staff are very helpful.

We did a day trip to Quebec City, and it was a 10-15 minute walk to this station. Brilliant day trip for those willing to get up and catch the 7am train there. We caught the 5.30 train back in business class which included a meal and drinks - good value for the evening trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel would be very good if only for its location but, when you add in the size of the apartment style rooms, the equipment and convenience of the kitchen, and the helpfulness of the staff at the desk - then it moves from very good to excellent. Other reviewers have given more details - we agree with all of the praise.

Room Tip: we loved looking out to Mount Royal with the light on the cross
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed the junior suite in this hotel. We found the location was great to the downtown and Mount Royal. We really enjoyed walking the areas around the hotel. They offered a nice breakfast, but we also had to visit Cora's which was only a few blocks way. The suite was clean and modern with all the kitchen dishes and appliances you would need. I really enjoyed my stay. I even made time for a quick swim and sit in the sauna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice set-up, and a good alternative to a hotel. We stayed for four nights. The suite was clean and had plenty of space, a separate bedroom, living room, and well-equipped kitchen with a dining table and four chairs just outside the kitchen. So convenient! I didn't want to eat restaurant food the whole time I was in Montreal, and it's nice to be able to cook for yourself.

They have free breakfast downstairs, but to tell you the truth, I found it kind of crowded and people bumping into each other, etc, and I don't like that first thing in the morning! Nice that it's free, though, and it's certainly a good option for guests.

I preferred to buy breakfast stuff at the nearby supermarket right down the street (Provigo) and we just cooked eggs and stuff in the hotel suite.

There was a little terrace where you could sit and look out at Sherbrooke Street.

I really liked this place, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be overlooking Sherbrooke Street, you can maybe ask them if they have a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveled to Montreal with another couple, and we wanted a hotel that had a small kitchen, or at least a refrigerator. L'Appartement was so much more than that. It was like having your own apartment, with everything you would ever need. Also, the both of our rooms were very clean, and stocked daily, with items that you would need. The little kitchen area was very clean, plus they would even stock your kitchen and refrigerator with groceries, if you wanted! The breakfast is included with the room, and the breakfast area was fully stocked with the hotels offerings, and had a variety of items, to please everyone. You could also take the breakfast up to your room, or to the rooftop deck. Any issue we had with the room, which was very minor, was immediately taken care of. I would stay here again, without hesitation, and my friends think I am a rock star, because I found this property.

Room Tip: This hotel also has larger rooms, with 2 bedrooms and a huge living room area, which would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights over a long weekend. It was always clean and did not smell funny as others have said. The balcony is great for people watching and getting fresh air. We also enjoyed the rooftop patio for lounging and taking pictures. This hotel is very quiet. The breakfast was included and we brought it up to our room. Yes the elevators are slow but ask for a lower floor and take the stairs. Really not a reason to not stay here. We were very happy with everything and had no issues. How many hotels have windows that open, fresh air and your own dining/living room for the same price or less than a hotel room?? this place I would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor due to slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Appartement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Appartement Hotel

Also Known As:
l Appartement Hotel
l Appartement Hotel Montreal
l Apartment Montreal
l Apartment Montreal Hotel
Address: 455 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Appartement Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your L'Appartement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Appartement Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.