We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations at every turn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis

Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis to your Saves list
Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis
2006 Rue Saint-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Albany, New York
1 review
“Exceeds expectations at every turn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I realize this is a glowing review for an inexpensive option, but in regards to what you are getting versus what you spend, and relative to the other hotels even in a five block radius, the Manoir St. Denis is hands down the best option and deserving of the praise. While I agree with most of the previous reviews, I think there should be some qualification in the rating system. If you're staying at a one or two star hotel(in regards to price range) there should be realistic expectations relative to what you're paying for, size of room/ continental breakfast selection etc. The majority of the reviews are positive, but so few exceed "average," while having few, if any, complaints. And if said complaints are observations on the reality of 'cheaper options," (smaller rooms and simpler breakfast) than it's a disservice to those hotels to complain about things any traveller should expect when reserving at a hotel in that price range. You want a bigger room and more lavish breakfast, pay more. Most traveller's know there are tradeoffs when budgeting a trip, and considering what you get here, versus hostel prices(the low end of the spectrum and no longer an option for most) or spending twice as much for a few more square feet in a room or a bigger breakfast, there's no question. For the proximity to cheap parking and the ease of entering and exiting the city, it's the best option. The staff is flexible and understanding, and the more you visit, the stronger the rapport. In terms of great restaurants and places to see, you are in a fantastic location considering how much you'll save compared to the places off St. Catherine a few blocks away. Even finding someplace in peak season under $80/night (tax included) is next to impossible. To pay less than $100 it goes without say that concessions will have to be made. Having realistic expectations relative to your budget is essential. Take for example the econo lodge up the street(off dominique) the prices fluctuate all year without the quality of the room changing, so right now you pay twice as much for what amounts to a few more square feet in the room, and who's staying indoors in Montreal during the summer festivals? Not to mention the only time I ever had a problem where housekeeping emptied my room thinking I had already checked out happened at one of the larger chains.
It almost seems as if the review score is restricted by the star rating of the hotel, but if that's so and a two star hotel gets a three star review, shouldn't the rating go from average to excellent, relative to what you are paying for? I've paid five star prices and had worse stays. If you have to visit on business regularly, or have friends and family in town, it's likely you just need a clean and warm place to sleep. If that's the case, in terms of staff, rooms, parking and local restaurants/attractions, I defy you to find someplace comparable. The next best option is Hotel Viger on St. Hubert, and that was recommended by the staff at the Manoir when they were full.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    21
    11
    20
See reviews for
5
38
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well, lets start with the good parts: the hotel is in a great location and there are many buses nearby and you can also go to downtown Montreal walking down the avenue that is very busy and is full of shops, restaurants and cafes. A concierge is 24 hours and they were always very attentive to me but spoke more French than English which hindered our communication a bit. The not so good parte: There is no lift, the apartments were too small and even me, traveling alone, felt a little bit claustrophobic and the "breakfast" was just coffee and a croissant. Overall worth the low value they charged me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location, polite day staff, clean. Would absolutely stay again! Within walking distance to St. Catherine street and UQAM metro stop, great restaurants, boutique shops. Had a great stay. There was an issue with the AC the first night but the staff fixed it immediately. The room was cleaned daily. Couldn't have asked for better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the kind of place you don't bring a girl for a romantic week-end, but it's a great place for a guy like me who only plans to go out bar hopping and having a great week-end between friends. The hotel had made the room but very quickly there was no soap in the room and we had to ask but the guy instantly gave it to me and everything was fine. the room was ok but like I said if you are only there to sleep 7-8 hours it will be perfect for you. All in all we paid 90$ tax included for a room on a saturday and when we go to montreal again we'll probably book this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is clean, tidy and quite quaint. Our room was comfortable, serviced every day with towels replaced etc. Breakfast was very enjoyable and quite different for us - croissants and muffins - loved it.
Location is perfect, right in the Latin Quarter which is busy and buzzy with wonderful atmosphere, also it is close to the waterfront, Old Montreal and the central city, all were a very easy walk.
The 747 airport transit centre is a 2 minute walk which makes that transport excellent.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skippyd89
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I agree with most everything other posters have written concerning the Hotel Manoir-St. Denis. It is a bit tacky in décor (all that wood), a bit old and run-down at the edges, but I found the service friendly and the housekeeping just fine. At least each day the bed was made and the towels replaced, the shower scrubbed and the wastebasket emptied. But no matter how many times one vacuums an old rug, it will always look a bit spotty and threadbare. The breakfast may be meager, but one can always go to the Presse Café across Ontario Avenue on the corner if the croissants and coffee on order at the Manoir aren’t sufficient. I spent three nights in this unassuming hotel, with its twisty, creaky corridors and paneled walls. My room was high-ceilinged and air conditioned. My room, #16, looked over a parking lot, but, being at the back of the building, the noise of the streets was undetected. There was a television and a refrigerator. A stored folding table and chair were provided if needed. The bed was a double and very comfortable. Free WiFi was available for lap-toppers, but there was a computer at reception with a 30 minute limit for use by guests. At $59/night, I found the hotel serviceable, friendly, centrally located in a vibrant part of Montreal, close to a major subway hub and the city’s bus terminus. I am a traveler who is always on a budget and this hotel suited my purpose. What the Manoir-St. Denis might lack in charm is made up in no-frills character.

Room Tip: No view at the back, but no noise either. And after climbing the stairs to reception, you my not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On a budget yet reluctant to share with others? Well this hotel is your answer! It's old and a little run-down and you get what you pay for. It's clean and you get your privacy with attached bathroom to match. The location is ideal, just one block away from the bus station - a 5 minute walk - so great for backpackers. Breakfast - a simple affair served served over the reception counter is just enough and there is a microwave oven for thoe who bring in food. The location in the Latin Quarter means yoiu literally fall into the streets for food and shopping.- so convenient!

Room Tip: Room 25 faces a parking lot - and has a window so one gets the light and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis

Address: 2006 Rue Saint-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Manoir Saint Denis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Manoir Saint Denis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.