We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of a renovation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
drgmobile
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Badly in need of a renovation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Every couple of years or so I give this hotel a chance and regret it. It's badly in need of a renovation.

The location is great, near UQAM, the Gay Village and the bus terminal. That's about all it has going for it.

The linens are fresh but that's about it. The shower water temperature barely functioned. I had issues with the temperature control as well.

This hotel needs more than new sheets. It needs a total revamp.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    236
    207
    90
    59
See reviews for
104
199
81
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was at the hotel Gouverneur recently. The location of the hotel is okay. Its about a 15 to 20 min walk to the shopping areas on Rue Saint Catherine. The metro is close by though so it is very convenient. Accessing the supermarket from the hotel lobby is a big plus especially in winter and couple of fast foods close by. The rooms looks a bit dated but comfortable nonetheless.Walking to the hotel at night, the area around the hotel seemed a bit sketchy. The staff were not too friendly and seemed a bit cold sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm normally in Montreal 3-4 times a year the last 3 hrs and always stay at the Gouverneur. Location is perfect. In the middle of Saint Catherine Street Restaurants, clubs, bars and shopping. Wonderful customer service, a sauna and a great indoor saline pool!

The only bad part about this wonderful hotel is the guest rooms need to be updated badly. It's still ok for now, it's just not a 4star quality in my standard. For the price- you do get your money's worth.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has two big things going for it: location, and internal access to the food court and food market.
Hotel is clean and well taken care of, however it can use serious renovation. Bathrooms and faucets are outdated, as well as the rest of the furniture lamps etc. However everything is in working order and clean. Definitely priced right for the area.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok... I guess for the price it's what you get!
But, a little more TLC for this aging property is a good idea. Fairly good location in the heart of the St Denis action and steps from Old Montreal , and on top of Berri Metro ... A ok , just time for a good Reno!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in this hotel several times and loved every minute of my trip. Rooms are clean and relatively inexpensive (with AAA discount) at around $100-$130 per night. The location is excellent, with a train stop located in the food court of the hotel. Staff very friendly and near all the nightlife and happenings. Close to shopping, museums and 10 minutes from the casino. Montreal has a quick pass that allows you to ride both the busses and trains, so hopping all around the city is very easy. We parked the car in the hotel and never needed it until we left. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: I always get a higher floor, if possible, just because the view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here 6 days, my first time in Montreal. I was surprised how nice the hotel was since I've never been to Montreal. It's always a shot in the dark to pick a hotel on the Net. My room had a nice view of Montreal (22 floor); a lovely pool; great location with a door onto the underground mall and a n IGA market less than 2 minutes out the door. The food court is awesome with great eggs and toast breakfast for $5.00 at Cultures. Yum,. The hotel staff was helpful especially Daniel and Felipe, concierge. They got me some nice tours to Quebec and within the city. Internet linkage here is great; restaurant on the second floor has awesome French onion soup. The hotel is also located over the Metro subway system which runs like every 5 minutes throughout the city. Awesome. I enjoyed superciliously my first time in Montreal and will come back to Place Dupuis Gouverneur.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on Montreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal

Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.