We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Institut

Save Saved
You added Hotel de l'Institut to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de l'Institut
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 168 hotels in Montreal
northampton, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“I expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in October. The location was fine, the price was OK, but as a culinary teaching center and environmentally friendly hotel, we expected better. We asked for a high room with a balcony facing the mountain, which we didn't get. The weekday breakfasts and service were very good, but the weekend was a different story, which may account for varying reviews from other people. On the weekend the breakfast was so bad that we checked out early rather than pay for two more (that Monday was a holiday) soggy disappointing meals, cold coffee, few choices. The bed was much too soft and our backs ached after two days. The internet was painfully slow -- but we had been warned by other reviewers. We had a little balcony which would have been nice except for the guy smoking a cigar on his balcony--no smoking in the rooms, but I guess it's not the hotel's fault that cigar-guy booked with them. The location was fine, and the room was clean enough and OK but not super modern as we had hoped.

The concierge service was done by a young woman who hadn't quite gotten the hang of serving customers, spent an inordinate amount of time looking for a map for us, then too much time circling things for us to see that we had no interest in. When we asked specific questions, she didn't know the answer. We had asked the front desk for directions and they told us to ask the concierge on the other side of the hotel. When we asked the front desk for an extra cup in our room (there was only one), we didn't get it and finally got one from a maid. The maids were great and apparently were used to jobs in the service sector, kept the rooms clean, and were very helpful.

In sum, we were warned about the internet, about not getting a renovated room and about the slow internet and soft beds and about the bad breakfasts. We should have known better, but many people apparently did not have our expectations, or had better experiences with the student staff. Lucky them. Unlucky us.

Room Tip: Don't have high expectations. It is a nice hotel, but just not great. And don't sign up fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear zjemi,

First of all, thank you for thanking the time to write a review. As a school, it is reviews like yours that help us improve our service and allow our students to learn more and improve themselves.

We will make sure that all of your comments will be transmitted to the department managers that are concerned. We also want to apologise that your stay wasn't up to your expectations.

As for the wifi Internet, we are aware of the problem. A brand new wifi system will be installed very soon.

Thank you again for your helpful review.

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    74
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
98
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked after Christmas & took advantage of their holiday specials for room pricing. Room was on 7th floor; awesome view from balcony. Clean, modern rooms - nicely styled and quality furniture.

Breakfast nice choice of hot & cold; coffee could be better. Breakfast was included in the room price, so couldn't really ask for more. Room had double bed & sofa bed. Both were very comfortable to sleep on. The lobby was clean & beautiful. Parking is very convenient - can come and go as often as you want with their parking pass ($20/day very reasonable). Parking is located underground another plus. Small problem with machine when leaving one day, but staff came & fixed it very quickly. Location of hotel is fantastic - walked St. Denis street for great shopping & restaurants also walking distance to two movie theaters as well as many other things to do & see. WIFI was also included, but this room was out of range to pick up the signal, this was mentioned to hotel staff who quickly apologized and stated that they are making improvements to this in January 2014. Any staff that we dealt with were very helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were very comfortable here. Our room on the 7th floor had a sweeping view of the city and a little balcony which must be great in good weather. At the time, it was covered in snow. Bed was very comfortable, heating system not too noisy and could be controlled. Everything spotless.

The weather was terrible but we found everything we needed within a short walk from the hotel: metro stop, buses, drugstore, small restaurants, small grocers; tattoo and massage if that's your thing. The neighborhood is quite pleasant and there is a pretty park across from the hotel. It's out of the tourist circuit which for us was a plus.

The staff were well-trained, as they should be, this being a training hotel, and always had a smile. Breakfast offered a reasonable variety of hot and cold options but all rather ordinary, without panache. (No, I didn't mean pancakes, which they actually did have.) Coffee needs improving.

Parking was easy in their underground facility and not very expensive, $20 CAD. One drawback for us, there is no fitness center.

We had to cut our visit short owing to illness and the staff member was very obliging in refunding the remaining time. How rare is that? We would happily return sometime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel 3-4 times now, this means a lot since I'm in no way loyal when it comes to hotels. I keep being impressed by the work the students do. The room was large and clean, as expected, this time I had a balcony facing north with a view of rue St-Denis. Lots a space to store your stuff.

The location is originally what drew us there, it's central, there is an indoor parking and easy access to the metro and bus, but you can walk pretty much to everywhere.

Th restaurant is something in itself. I can recommend the dinner, which offers value for money. Breakfast is served in the restaurant, depending on when I've stayed there it was either a buffet or à la carte. There is a concierge service, I haven't used it as I know the city quite well, but I've talked with them and they seemed knowledgeable and friendly.

Despite the size of the building, the hotel only occupies two floors (the rest is a hotel and tourism school) and it tends to fill up pretty quickly. Reservations are therefore essential. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Montreal...provided there's room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Where this hotel is located in Montreal is perfect for visitors wanting a less touristy look at the city. The beds are SUPER comfy and the free breakfast overlooking the park was really nice. I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of our friends. Friendly staff, nice rooms - clean, nicely appointed - a good value overall. Only one elevator - not a huge deal but in peak times a bit slow. Also had an issue with the parking garage, which we thought was promptly taken care of until we checked out and realized we almost were charged twice for it. The biggest surprise was the breakfast. We thought the food would have been delicious given the nature of the hotel and how it trains people in the industry. Service was great however the food was basic, at best, and the same selection each day - vats of uninspired runny eggs, frozen potatoes, fatty ham and eggs benedict that was impossible to cut because the muffins were so hard. I'd stay there again but would have passed on the free breakfast. (I wouldn't have eaten the second day but it was raining and I was too hungry & lazy to go out!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaboda, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Everything is just about perfect at that hotel (which consist of the 7th and 8 floor of the Institute for tourism and hotel skills) My room was rather big as hotel rooms go, with a balcony looking out on the city.(beautiful by day and especially at night), the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and even the pillows were excellent. The location is quite central facing a little park and restaurants are plenty if you go down the street. Metro is litteraly next door. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. I would be hard put to find something wrong there. Highly recommended
Chantal
A Canadian now living in Sweden.

Room Tip: most rooms have a balcony but I think just a few don't, so make sure yours has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de l'Institut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Institut

Address: 3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#27 Family Hotel in Montreal
#34 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Institut 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious room with balcony and beautiful view of the Plateau Mont-Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel de l'Institut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Institut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.