We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Institut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Institut to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Institut
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here again at the assistance of the manager - and was very happy with our stay. The beds at Hotel de l'Institute are the best in the city, so sumptuous and fresh. Breakfast this was was good - with plenty of fresh fruit, cheese and freshly baked treats! Yum!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Steven B,

It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your last stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hôtel de l'Institut!

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    104
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
62
128
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is directly over the Sherbrook Metro station, so it is very easy to get to almost anywhere in Montreal from the hotel. The hotel consists of only two floors, since the Institute's primary task is to train students in the hospitality industry. The hotel is actually the "lab" for the students. The students (and recent graduates) are friendly and enthusiastic. They are knowledgeable and very happy to help you plan your time in Montreal. The rooms are absolutely beautiful. They are modern and appear to have been recently decorated. I also liked the clean wood floors, as opposed to carpet. The flat screen TV had a great picture. All rooms have small balconies, a nice feature. The bed was very comfortable. Our best dinner was in the hotel's restaurant. Culinary students cook and serve delicious price fixed lunch and dinners. The included breakfast is adequate. The scrambled eggs each morning were quite runny, or congealed, but otherwise, the fresh fruit, cheese, smoked salmon, eggs benedict and more made up for it.
Minor complaints: I like bar soap, but like so many hotels these days, they only provide liquid soap and shampoos. Also, the air conditioner, which worked very efficiently, blew into the curtains, also something I see pretty frequently. We tied the curtain with a sash from the bathrobes. Finally, on checking in, we were told that Wi-Fi in the rooms was not working well, and indeed that was the case. It worked very well in the lobby, and a computer is available in the lobby for guest use.
I enjoyed our stay and will stay here again on our next trip to Montreal.

Room Tip: During the summer, the city does fireworks one or two evenings each week. If your room is on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed from Aug 2-5, and booked based on reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is clean, modern, uncluttered, and well priced. Breakfast was buffet style, food was good, with both hot and cold choices - much better than the standard continental breakfast that is the norm at US hotels. Staff is helpful and friendly. Location is great, within the Latin Quarter, just across from a park, and in a neighborhood filled with shops and restaurants. We chose a special allergy-free room which has wood floors instead of carpet (nice balcony also) Even though it's a large property it has a small feel about it, probably due to the fact that of the 8 floors, only 2 are dedicated to guest rooms. The only other perk in the hotel is underground parking, which at $19/day is a bargain in the city. But we didn't choose this hotel for a gym or pool since we were planning to tour the city, not spend time in the hotel. I should also mention that the Metro is literally next door to the building so is very convenient for getting around. Would we stay here again? Absolutely! Highly recommend. (Note that I give only 4 stars for sleep quality, but that's due to the fact that I didn't like the pillows. But that's just me - my husband did).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Donne K,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Hôtel de l'Institut in the future!

Best regards,

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our first stay was 1988 and we still love this place. It's changed over the years, but has always maintained a high quality value and good service. The rooms are clean and lovely, the balconies offer nice views (7 or 8 floors above the city). The breakfasts are in the ground floor restaurant are very nice. The location can't be beat. We used the underground parking (easy access and easy to leave the city). We bought metro passes which we used several times each day - there is a stop literally behind the hotel. Best of all, we love to be able to walk out onto Rue St. Denis and stroll to our favorite coffee shops and restaurants. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear frugaltravelers,

We are really happy that you had a good your stay and that you we able to fully enjoy Montreal. I will be a pleasure to welcome you again à Hôtel de l'Institut!

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent two nights this week at the hotel following a previous visit two years ago. The hotel is still a wonderful spot to stay. Students and staff are delightful to work with, helpful and courteous. Our room was spotlessly clean and the balcony provided a beautiful view of the city any time of the day.
We had booked a room with a city view this time so that we were able to watch the international fireworks competition one evening from the balcony. This is definitely a great way to see them without dealing with the crowds in the port area! The breakfast buffet was wonderful...pastries, caramel bread pudding, scrambled eggs, sausage, ham, eggs Benedict, cheese, fruit plate, assorted fruit and vegetable salads, juice and coffee or tea. The Tuesday and Wednesday menus in the restaurant are a fabulous bargain and the food was outstanding.
While some recent reviews have indicated difficulties with wifi signals, we experienced no difficulties, even on the balcony. I would highly recommend to any travelers looking to experience a different view of Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Gwammy5,

Thank you for choosing Hôtel de l'Institut! We are glad you had a good stay and hope to have a chance to welcome you agains soon!

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was at the Hotel de l'Institut for one night, alone with my 7-year-old son for a touristic weekend in Montreal (we're Montrealers). We stayed in room 701 which had a queen-size bed and a sofa-bed. I booked a few weeks in advance and got a better rate by mentioning I was traveling alone with a kid and working for the government. 

We were in a room in front of the elevator and next to the ice machine and when I saw that I was afraid it would be noisy but we didn't hear anything. 

What I liked 
Excellent service at the reception
Room decor is clean and modern
Small balcony with a nice view on the city, perfect spot to have a glass of wine at the end of the day in summer
Bed is comfortable
Nespresso coffee machine in the room
Local goat milk products in re-usable bottles in the bathroom
There's a bathtub in the bathroom
Excellent breakfast buffet included in the price of the room (try the scrambled eggs, which are more like a soufflé) 
Location: close to all the interesting areas in the city, a breeze to travel by metro

What you should know (but did not bother me)
There is a mini-fridge but it's unfurbished
Sherbrooke metro station is close but doesn't have mechanical stairs everywhere (if you can't lift your suitcase easily it may be a problem)

What I liked less
Room is a little small
Curtains are not opaque, the room was very bright in the morning

I didn't go to the restaurant at night because I was with my son who preferred to go to La Banquise for a poutine, but I would have certainly given it a try with my spouse. The area is also filled with nice restaurants, especially on St.Denis and Mont-Royal streets.

There are a few "depanneurs" nearby where you can get beer, wine and snacks. Particularly interesting when you travel with kids or on a budget.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to those who enjoy the hotel boutiques's decor and ambiance and travel on a budget.  Doesn't feel like a school at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear IsaPhD,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you at Hôtel de l'Institut again!

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

we have stayed at Hotel de l'institut for 3 nights, the hotel is located at Plateau Mont Royal right off the Sherbrook metro station and very handy for getting around. with spacious rooms , great mattress and pliows, each room has a balcony and a beautiful view of mont royal. we stayed on the 8th floor. the staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast is great.
we were very satisfied.

we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel de l'Institut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Institut

Address: 3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#14 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Institut 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious room with balcony and beautiful view of the Plateau Mont-Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Institut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Institut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.