We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Institut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Institut to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Institut
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location - lots of restaurants/cafes around the area, and close to the metro. Hotel was very clean and quiet. Free breakfast included was good. Free wi-fi. Parking was $19/24hrs, $14/10hrs, there is also a lot of metered street parking in the area. Our mattress was too soft for our liking (felt like we were sinking into the bed) but everything else was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    100
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
124
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This lovely small hotel (in what seems like a remodeled bank or office building) offers beautiful rooms with balconies, good service, a complete breakfast, convenient access to buses and subway trains, free wireless internet, and a great location filled with dozens of good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've stayed twice at this hotel, and it's always a pleasure to be a guest there. Keep in mind that this is a training hotel, but the personnel's enthousiasm and warm hospitality more than compensate for their lack of experience. The hotel is well situated with regards to points on interest and public transportation, there is an indoor parking (at additionnal cost, but still reasonable for a downtown hotel). Excellent breakfast. I haven't had the chance to try out the restaurant for dinner yet, next time I will definitely book well ahead. I travel to Montreal 1-2 times a year, this is definitely going to be my first choice onmfuture trips.
Excellent value for the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Awesome hotel, close to pretty much everything. There's a bit of a walk to anywhere, but walking in Montreal is part of the fun of being there. Clean, comfy, perfect staff, yummy breakfast and it didn't cost an arm and a leg.
Interesting thing happened while there: we caught a glimpse of a mini protest that formed around 12 am just outside the hotel, part of the students' tuition protests. Luckily, it was one of the peaceful ones and it dispersed quickly.

Room Tip: If you're backpacking/ traveling with things you don't want to lug around while taking in so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from May 22 to May 25 and then again on May 26 to May 28. We stayed in a standard room with two double beds. We got a different room (a few doors apart on the 7th floor) each time and both look exactly like the photos they have on their website -- which is very good. The room themselves are very clean and quite large. The beds are great, a little on the soft side for my friend but I love it. The bathroom is also of a decent size and it also very clean. There is also a balcony with a very nice view. I don't know about other rooms at this hotel, but for the 2 that we stayed in, I never heard our neighbors in the adjacent rooms the entire time we were there -- except when we were all on the balconies watching the students protesters below, also a very interesting experience :)

Breakfast is included and the food is excellent. The selection may be small for some people but it's more than enough for us. The service in the restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, is excellent. Everyone was very nice and friendly. We went on an overnight trip to Quebec city and it wasn't a problem at all for them to store our luggage so we didn't have to drag everything with us. We had to check out early (at 7 am) on Monday May 28 so we asked for a breakfast box on Sunday night. They did mentioned in the book in the room that because the restaurant was closed on Sunday (or something like that), if you want a breakfast box for Monday you have to give them more notice than the night before. But of course I completely forgot that and how early our flight was. Anyway, we asked on Sunday night and the lady at the front desk informed us about the short notice but she said they will try their best but no guarantee since the restaurant opens at 7am. So of course we didn't expect much but they did have 2 breakfast boxes for us and with a lot more food then we expected. I know it's not a big deal since we could have bought breakfast at the airport, but for me it's the gesture that matters. And the staff at this hotel was excellent all around.
Clean room, great and friendly service, ideal location = 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night to avoid using our car after a wedding. We had asked for a cot for our daughter and it was in the room when we arrived at 11pm (a detail when done right but a pain when you have to wait for it). Rooms are clean and well appointed (Artemide lights, Toto toilet, Nespresso coffee machine, large flatscreen TV, comfy beds and linens).

Lots of lighting options and power outlets around the bed (those who use them for their CPAP will know what I mean!). Bathroom was on the small size but had a practical layout. Balcony was a plus.

Buffet breakfast is part of the experience and the food was of good quality and varied (croissants, bread, eggs benedict, granola, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, etc.). Service at check-in was quick and the waiting staff was professional and attentive when needed and out of the way the rest of the time (no fuss!).

The AC system is a tad noisy as other reviewers have noted but we didn't need it luckily. You could just do a quick blast of it before going to bed and you would be fine, mind you.

The reviews of the Hotel de l'Institut might be "soviet-like" in their constant enthusiasm and praise but we must concur with them. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a balcony. Inquire about which views are available (north or south-facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is very well located, right on St. Denis and next to a subway station, good location for McGill parents. It is quiet, modern, well furnished, very clean. Beds are very comfortable. It has a nice little balcony. Well airconditioned and part of a window can also be opened. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The dining room is very pleasant. The only flaw was that the room has only light curtains and there were some strong lights on outside, which could be temporary.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Institut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Institut

Address: 3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Business Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Institut 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious room with balcony and beautiful view of the Plateau Mont-Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Institut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Institut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.