We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Institut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Institut to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Institut
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We hadn't been to Montreal in awhile and just returned from a 3 night stay at this hidden gem. I was having trouble finding accommodations and came across a listing for this hotel. The rate was incredible ($163/night including taxes and breakfast for 2). The hotel itself is well run, clean, modern and in a location that made exploring easy. The metro is just a few steps away, taxis were always available at the front door and the nearby restaurants (including those on Prince Arthur) made this a perfect spot to stay. We've previously stayed on Sherbrooke, St. Catherine, and Vieux Montreal but loved this area! The hotel was quiet, food was excellent, access was easy and the garage offered unlimited in & outs for the $19 daily rate. The buffet breakfast was wonderful with both hot and cold choice and pastries that melt in your mouth. Lovely balcony where we could watch the sun set over Mont Royal. Small refrigerator was perfect for wines and snacks. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    100
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
124
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stay at the Hotel de l'Institut for two nights in July and had a really enjoyable stay. Apparently a few weeks prior to our stay, Prince William and Kate took a cooking class there. http://omg.yahoo.com/news/pics-prince-william-kate-don-chef-jackets-to-take-cooking-class/66415. I guess it's a very famous cooking school as well as a hotel school.

We enjoyed it because it was so quiet and intimate. They only have 40 rooms, so there's never any hustle & bustle. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly.

The rooms were very well appointed -- even had an iPhone/iPod charging station. They are decorated in a modern/tech look but not over the top. The beds were extremely comfortable -- probably the best of the 5 or 7 hotels we've stayed at in the past six months. Our room (#707), like most, had a small balcony (from which we saw some of the International fireworks competition). While not cramped, it was a smaller room than most American hotel rooms.

The hot & cold buffet breakfast was excellent. A good selection of pastries, cereals and fruits and juices. The croissants were really tasty and they had crepes one day and french toast another. The dining room was light & airy and the service very attentive.

A couple knocks would be... a) the heavy curtains didn't block out all the light, so the sun came in from the sides, etc., in the morning. b) the flat panel TV did not carry HD channels (or none that I noticed). c) the hotel only had one elevator for guests, but since it only serviced 40 rooms on only 2 floors, it never was a problem. d) price was good but not a bargain ($225/night)

In our last visit to Montreal we had stayed in the old town, which was in close walking distance to the tourist sites. This visit we did fewer tourist attractions, so the location of Hotel de l'Institut worked out well for us. It's in the heart of the so many fantastic restaurants up and down rue St Denis. It's just a few block away from a park (Étangs du Parc La Fontaine) with playgrounds, ball fields and tennis courts and pretty close to Park Mont Royal. The hotel is also right on top of a metro stop. Parking was in a garage underneath the hotel and reasonably priced ($19/day).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with my extended family. Although it is not in the Old City, we actually found it to be a more convenient location. It's right at a subway stop (with signs marking the hotel exit), plus a taxi stand right outside the restaurant & a BIXI bike rental stand across the street in the park. Rue St. Denis is also filled with a great assortment of reasonably priced restaurants & shops/boutiques. I kept on wanting to try so many that I passed.

Room was extremely comfortable. It appears to be recently renovated & done very nicely. I will second another reviewer's comment that the water pressure (only noticeable at the sink) was a little weak, but nothing horrible. The balcony was a nice little perk, mine had a perfect view of the city & a church dome. Another family member's had the perfect view of the fireworks competition. The included breakfast was fabulous: great variety, quality accompanied by good service. Also had several lunches there as well.

Very happy with the L'Institut & glad that we had a chance to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

excellent location - the food was fantastic, we had breakfast included.
The location is wonderful. Right on the subway line, a lovely walk along St Denis with the trendy and fun shops everywhere that cater to the people who live there and not the tourists.
The rooms were new and so quiet. The beds comfy and new. We were impressed and very pleased with our choice.
The only complaint was the water pressure was a little weak in the washroom.
But everything else was excellent including the helpful staff. We will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is a gorgeous, modern hotel. The hotel part is small of the building which is part of a tourism institute and cooking school. Our room looked brand new. The beds were ultra comfortable, the bedding was plush, and our room had a balcony wint a spectacular view of Montreal. The hotel was also designed to be "green" with natural bath products and watersaving bath fixtures.

The lobby was sparse but modern, and the concierge was incredibly helpful. One of the best parts, the breakfast - included with our room - was absolutely delicious. On Sunday there is a compelte breakfast buffet, and during the week we ordered off the menu. The waitstaff were wonderful.

We loved the location, right across from a park with a wonderful creperie across the street, as well as close to Plateau and the pedestrian walkway near Rue St. Laurant. There were always cabs out front, but we used the metro as the Sherwood stop is right under the hotel and could not be more convenient.

Parking is 19$ per day in lot under the hotel.

Only drawback is that though wifi is free, the signal in our room was poor.

We loved our stay there and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Hotel de l'Institut. The location is ideal in the heart of the St. Denis neighborhood with a metro stop in the building. The onsite restaurant offers an excellent breakfast buffet that is included with the price of your room. The dinner is also impressive ... great presentation and above average on taste. The rooms offer very comfortable beds and a balcony with tremendous views of the city.
The hotel is run by the students from the connected Institut de tourisme. All the students were off during our summer stay, but the staff they had were all excellent. I also enjoyed the sleek/modern look of the building. Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty1234
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel lives up to the excellent reviews at Tripadvisor.com and we love it. It is conveniently located just above the Metro Sherbooke station, one station away from the major hub of Berri-UQAM. It was so easy to get to the Convention Center as it is only 3 stations away. It is modern, clean, friendly and well equipped hotel. The staff at the reception were very professional and helpful. Only 2 floors are occupied by hotel rooms. The rest of the building is the hospitality school. Thus, it never felt crowded in any way. The hotel room was chic and modern and equipped with all the modern facilities including a refrigerator, Nespresso coffee machine, iron, hair dryer, flat screen TV, iPod charger and a nice office chair. Every room has a balcony with a great view of the city. The bed was really comfortable. WiFi is free of charge. We were most impressed by the breakfast which is free with the stay. We had a choice of egg Benedict, egg Florentine or egg with Salmon, crepes, pancake, fruits, cereals, croissant and other pastries, yogurt, salad, etc. Unlike previous reviews, we found the staff very responsive and the service was excellent during our stay. We wish we had a chance to try their $19 Express lunch but it was so popular and was booked out on the day when we wanted to try. Hotel guests also get 20% off for dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday but we did not have a chance to try it. Overall, we are very happy with this hotel and we will certainly return if we visit Montreal again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Institut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Institut

Address: 3535 Rue St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#26 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Institut 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious room with balcony and beautiful view of the Plateau Mont-Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Institut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Institut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.