We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #67 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Oirsbeek, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were looking for a clean, comfortable hotel in downtown Montreal within walking distance of the train station and the museum of fine arts. This hotel fit the bill. The staff were friendly and informative, the room was spacious and clean. The WiFi being included in the price was a bonus. There was no breakfast included, but there is a Cora restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the 'inside courtyard' so there was no street noise. There was no view either th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    213
    171
    56
    40
See reviews for
92
204
51
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made reservations for 3 rooms for New Year's Eve months in advance. When we arrived we were told that we didn't have reservations. I showed the staff my confirmation, which was made directly through the hotel. They claimed that "Someone called in house and cancelled on December 18." Bull. My husband and i were the only ones who knew what hotel we were staying at, and the rest of our group didn't even know what name the reservations were under. There was a big hockey game that day, so my assumption would be that the hotel cancelled our rooms because they overbooked. We had planned our entire evening based on that location. Thankfully we were able to find a hotel (10+ blocks away) on New Year's Eve. The extra cost incurred because of this was ridiculous. Highly upset, as in the past we've stayed at Europa and been pleased. No more.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal where our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

Your comments are important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

I am truly sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience when dealing with our property, specially on a day as memorable as New Year's Eve. I would invite you to contact me directly at 514-861-8803 so that we may have chance at understanding how this incident may have happened.

We hope to have the chance of welcoming you again in the near future at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal.

Best regards

Thierry Roy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Sapin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was newly redone and no rugs, thank god for that. The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfy. The only thing is that there was only one elevator working and we were on the 5th floor, but I know that the manager was on the phone to have it fixed ASAP. Things happen, so I was pretty satisfied, the price was excellent and it is situated next door, almost :), to the Bell Centre and that is where we were visiting Montreal, to attend a hockey game. Also the restaurant was delicious.

Room Tip: It was our first time staying there and our room, on the 5th floor was very quiet and we were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal where our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

Your comments are very important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to one of the elevators being temporarily out of service.

We are glad you nevertheless enjoyed your stay & will be looking forward to having the chance of welcoming you again in the near future at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal.

Best regards

Thierry Roy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in December. The location couldn't be better and the staff were very good when answering any questions we had. The rooms were very clean, with comfy beds that ensured a good sleep each night. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal where our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

Your comments are very important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & will be looking forward to having the chance of welcoming you again in the near future at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal.

Best regards

Thierry Roy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good little hotel for simple needs. You want this place for the value. Nothing over the top but a good place to sleep and take a shower. The bedroom are simply decorated with good taste and clean. The staff was polite and helpful. There's a Cora on site but there's so many better options within walking distance. There's a 2nd restaurant on site but I would not recommend it as our experience was average at best but again there's so many option within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal where our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

Your comments are important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & will be working diligently on improving those points that may not have exceeded your expectations during this visit.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you again in the near future at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal.

Best regards

Thierry Roy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Europa hotel from Best Western is cosy. we wanted to change room due to smoking odor and it was done quickly. The king bed is comfortable and the hotel location is great right at downtown. There are two internet free computers at the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal where our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

Your comments are very important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & will be looking forward to having the chance of welcoming you again in the near future at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal.

Best regards

Thierry Roy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Part of the charm of this place is the staff. Everyone on the desk was very helpful and friendly, and made us feel like we'd come to the right place. The location is excellent - close to several restaurants and pubs we visited. The rooms were rather sparse, but still charming. Excellent beds and pillows, and that's what you want most in a hotel (I do, anyway!)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal where our vision is to Lead the Industry in Superior Customer Care.

Your comments are very important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing them with the TripAdvisor community.

We have taken note of your comments regarding our team & will be sure to share your kind words with them. I am certain it will brighten their day.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & will be looking forward to having the chance of welcoming you again in the near future at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa Montreal.

Best regards

Thierry Roy
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.