We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 3 start hotel in the heart of Downtown Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Solid 3 start hotel in the heart of Downtown Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. Everything is within walking distance-shops, restaurtants, Old Montreal, Metro stations. It is a Best Western property within a boutique hotel ambiance. The lobby is just okay, but who cares! The rooms are very adequate, being clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was adequate as well. Again, clean, with nice toiletries and towels. We found the staff very pleasant.

Parking is not included and only available directly across from the hotel entrance. It is an outside lot. We paid $25 per night, with in and out priviledges. It work just fine for us. Breakfast is also not included however there is a breakfast spot right in the hotel. We walked 1/2 a block to St. Catherine Street where we had a choice of a Starbucks, Second Cup and full fledged restaurants. We loved this hotel because we felt if was very good value for downton. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience about your stay at the Best Western Hotel Europa.

On behalf of our entire team and myself I would like to thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    229
    179
    59
    43
See reviews for
96
219
55
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel we have stayed at for the past 10 years, while visiting family in Montreal, closed a the end of October. This meant finding another hotel for our stay. After studying the reviews, locations and hotel pricing we opted for this Best Western - Hotel Europa.

As indicated in some of the reviews, the room was small but very clean with comfortable bed and pillows. The laminate floor was a refreshing change from the usual hotel carpets. The towels were of a very nice quality. The check-in and check-out were both efficient and friendly.

There is a Cora's attached to this hotel, which makes getting breakfast, before going out for the day, very convenient.

Getting to the front desk entails walking down 3 or 4 steps to the lobby. For those with mobility issues, there is an elevator to the right of the stairway that takes guests down to the lobby.

This hotel is located not far from the train station, which makes cabbing easy. There is a conveniently located taxi stand right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: For those with mobility issues, there is an elevator to the right of the stairs that will take you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you at Best Western Plus Hotel Europa, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay.

We are always pleased to receive such positive feedback and acknowledgment from our valued guests such as you, thank you for pointing out all the useful tips for our future guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward in looking forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhousie, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great location located right downtown Montreal, lots of restaurants nearby. Close to Metro and Bell Centre. Poor maid service, she never swept the floor even though it clearly required it. Dated rooms with newer furniture.

Room Tip: If you have a government job use your rate...almost 50% off even over the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa. I greatly appreciate you taking the time in bringing the floor & housekeeping issue of your room and I apologise for any inconvenience you may have experience because of it.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we look forward in accommodating your future travel needs.


Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komoka, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in January when we were in town for an event at the Bell Center. Location is probably the best thing about this hotel, but we also had a great room with a King Sized bed that was very comfortable. The person at the front desk who checked us in wasn't overly friendly or helpful, but that didn't matter much once we were in and settled. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will probably stay here again the next time we are in town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

I'm sorry to read that your front desk associate did not meet your expectations, feedback like this enables us to correct and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Your candid feedback will be shared and use as reinforcement to continue our efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.


Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family two separate nights. First time we were given a renovated room and it was very nice. When we got back into Montreal after visiting Quebec City we had a choice of an older room or the "penthouse" room. We picked the penthouse. Honestly we thought the first room we had was much cleaner and nicer than the penthouse.So try to get a renovated room and you will definitely love it. The location was great and the staff was very accommodating and nice. I would stay here again if I'm back in Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of you delightful experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature, your comments

will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.


Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times now as this is very conveniently located near the Bell Center for our occasional concert trips. Also close to one of our favourite Montreal pubs, the Irish Embassy, and a half block from the madness of Ste. Catherine street. Rooms are comfortable and clean and recently they have added a restaurant that we've yet to check out but looks nice. Excellent staff too. Can get a little noisy from partying concert fans or hockey fans in for the NHL games, but that's usually why we are there too...so it's all good!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your pasted experience at the Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

Your comments are very important to us and will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue our efforts to make the Best Western Plus Hotel Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.


Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil

General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying in this hotel with my Mother. It is convenient, the rooms are very well appointed and the staff could not be more helpful. The rates are reasonable. There is a lovely restaurant which is owned independently and the food was good. There is a parking lot across the street and the cost is a max of $25 per day. For the city of Montreal that is reasonable. I will definately stay there again should I need to overnight in the city.

Room Tip: 502 is high enough that you do not hear a lot and close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of you delightful experience during you stay at The Best Western Plus Hotel Europa.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature, your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts make the Hotel Best Plus Western Europa a Leader in the Industry in Superior Costumer Care.

Happy New Year 2014!
Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.