We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #67 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location and I do not regret booking it for my first visit to Montreal. The room was quite small and the bathroom was very small. However everything was clean and there was free Wi-Fi included to it. I recommend redecoration but this is not a problem if you are only spending a couple of nights there.

It is very easy to get around Montreal and I did not even need to take any public transportation during my stay.

The staff was very friendly, fast check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    250
    196
    60
    45
See reviews for
106
234
62
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place to stay in downtown Montreal for a reasonable rate. The rooms are rather small but if not planning on entertaining in the room they are just peachy. The front desk was very curteous. There is a mini fridge to keep your libations cool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A decent hotel a fair price for the great location! Rooms are spacious, quiet, and clean! Would have rated better except for very slow check-in and check-out process. Also the elevators were very slow and 1 of the 2 was usually on the fritz.

Otherwise, stay here and enjoy the fabulous city of Montreal!

Room Tip: Get one close to the elevators if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On my last night stay here. In town with my sister for the UFC fight. She originally booked us a room with double beds, but when we arrived the gentleman at the counter (Benoite, I think was how it was spelled) informed us that they oversold those rooms. He ended up giving us 2 separate rooms for the same price. Score! He was extremely friendly.

Room was very nice. Wood floors are a nice touch. Furniture looked rather new and had a modern touch to it. Basic stuff, including a desk, A couple of chairs, 2 end tables, and refrigerator. Single cup coffee maker with regular, decaf, and tea options. Everything was nice and clean. Flat screen tv, but no high def. Lots of channels.

Bed was nice and comfy. 4 small pillows, but they were firm.

Bathroom was very clean, but really small. They gave you an abundance of toiletries. Soaps, shampoo and conditioner made by Pantene, lotion, and even mouthwash.

Wi-fi was included and it worked great. Never a problem logging on with my laptop, Kindle Fire, or smartphone. For those traveling from the U.S., you get to make calls to the U.S. free daily for 20 minutes.

Parking is across the street and it runs $20 a night.

Hotel is in a great location. Everything we did (going to the Centre Bell, Old Montreal) was within walking distance. Lots of shopping, bars, and places to eat are nearby. We really enjoyed hanging out at Ziggy's, which is on Crescent (only 2 blocks away). Many money exchanges are near too.

There are 2 elevators, but they are kind of cramped.

Lobby area was bright and modern. There is a sundry store on site.

The hotel is completely non-smoking. So be prepared to go outside and light up if you are a smoker (like myself).

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø - Rovaniemi
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here twice in November. First stay we got a room looking to be from 60's... with a noisy aircon. Wrote a feedback to the hotel, and was asked to contact the manager so he could serve us better next time - he never did reply. Also wrote the front desk to ask for a better room, like the pictures they have - for our next stay. They didnt reply either.
Even so, we decided to give them a 2nd try.... This time we got a room with a bath from the 70's. With a plastic bathtub that didnt feel too safe when you stood there taking a shower. The 2nd aircon was even worse - noisy and hardly impossible to get adjusted.
Plus for internet included, and a good location in Montreal.

Room Tip: Try Novotel, just one block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wood floors instead of carpet made the rooms feel clean and upscale. Large room for a downtown hotel. Generous amount of shampoo and soap! Even mouthwash! Fridge in room. Comfortable beds and pillows. They even smelled clean and fresh! Do not get a room near the elevator. We were woken several times throughout the night by loud people getting on and off the elevator. The hotel is close to everything including the Bell Centre, St. Catherine Street and the train station. Shopping and restaurants nearby. Parking lot across the street is a bit rundown. I wouldn't want to go there at night! We paid $20/night to park there. Overall, we were happy with the hotel and we will stay there again next time we are in Montreal.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown, Hotel Europa from Friday, October 26 to Sunday, October 28, 2012 inclusive. Upon check-in, Sabina who assisted us was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and gave us an upgrade to our current hotel reservation. We stayed in the same hotel in November 2011 and most recently in June 2012. The location of the hotel is amazing in that it is a short two minute walk from St. Catherine's Street, centrally located to shopping, local restaurants and the Jazz Festival. Very clean, a great fitness centre and soon a yoga studio as well as a spa. Things just couldn't be better.

Thank-you Sabina for making our stay the best ever! We will certainly recommend this hotel in the future.

Brenda and Kirk duncalfe

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean, in particular we stayed on the 6th floor which was very quiet. It had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.