We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 Rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% TripAdvisor Promotion
Ranked #64 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wood floors instead of carpet made the rooms feel clean and upscale. Large room for a downtown hotel. Generous amount of shampoo and soap! Even mouthwash! Fridge in room. Comfortable beds and pillows. They even smelled clean and fresh! Do not get a room near the elevator. We were woken several times throughout the night by loud people getting on and off the elevator. The hotel is close to everything including the Bell Centre, St. Catherine Street and the train station. Shopping and restaurants nearby. Parking lot across the street is a bit rundown. I wouldn't want to go there at night! We paid $20/night to park there. Overall, we were happy with the hotel and we will stay there again next time we are in Montreal.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    170
    132
    51
    37
See reviews for
67
163
38
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christopher Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown, Hotel Europa from Friday, October 26 to Sunday, October 28, 2012 inclusive. Upon check-in, Sabina who assisted us was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and gave us an upgrade to our current hotel reservation. We stayed in the same hotel in November 2011 and most recently in June 2012. The location of the hotel is amazing in that it is a short two minute walk from St. Catherine's Street, centrally located to shopping, local restaurants and the Jazz Festival. Very clean, a great fitness centre and soon a yoga studio as well as a spa. Things just couldn't be better.

Thank-you Sabina for making our stay the best ever! We will certainly recommend this hotel in the future.

Brenda and Kirk duncalfe

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean, in particular we stayed on the 6th floor which was very quiet. It had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for only one night after a cruise. Hotel was in a good location; easy walking to restuarants and shopping and the Visitor Center. Room was adequate and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a bit cramped but functional. Hotel staff was ok; not overly friendly but polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The linens were crisp and the towels were thick. This hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to all of our destinations although we did take a taxi to the Basilica on the second day after we walked there the day before. They have a wonderful breakfast/lunch restaurant in the hotel although it is not owned by them. We had breakfast there both days and it was superb. The front desk personnel were also very helpful in giving us recommendations for places to eat. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 6th floor are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel for the location to all the attractions within walking distance - 25 minutes walk to chinatown and 5 minute to the central train station. Good thing is the free internet access available at the reception area and the staff was helpful. The downside is the room was a bit small for the three of us in one room. Noisy aircon and you have to leave the aircon on as it quite warm inside the small room .During the night you can hear the other guests along the corridor returning from their nightout.There is only one cupboard space for our three suitcases and no safe for us to lock up our things. Otherwise the hotel is in a good location with reasonable rate . Clean sheets and towels are provided daily. There is a coffee percolator in the room too. The three days in Montreal we did all the touristy things during the day. Lots of walkabout and find it hard to sleep at night with the noisy aircon .Otherwise it will be a perfect place for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimpo Lake
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The miniscule size of the rooms make them only suitable for a single guest. With two of us we had to trip over our suitcases to get to the bathroom, which was also so small your knees would hit the bathtub while sitting on the lieu. Good location and good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in very good shape considering it's clearly in an older building. Renovations have taken place. The check in and check out processes were very easy and the hotel happily held our luggage for us a few hours after check-out. The hallways are a bit warren-like but well-kept, clean and well-lighted. Our room was also on the small size, but very clean and well decorated. I have no complaints about the hotel at all. There is a Chez Cora breakfast restaurant attached and be sure to get there early on a Sunday morning as it's very popular. Overall, a good location to stay in downtown Montreal.

The parking situation on the other hand leaves a lot to be desired. There is a private open-air lot across the road but he quoted us $40 to park overnight, so we chose to look elsewhere. A block over and up we found an indoor lot with valet service for one-fifth the price. Perfect for us, since we had minimal luggage. If you were hauling a lot of bags it might not be so convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western
Address: 1240 Rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.