We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smallest queen room ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The smallest queen room ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our queen bed hotel room was way too small for 2 adults. There was very little room to walk between the bed and the tv stand. The bathroom was even smaller. When sitting on the toilet, our knees hit the side of the bathtub. Could hardly turn around. One day our room was not made up at 4 p.m. when we returned early after being wet from torrential rains. Had to beg for service. Parking cost $15/night and it was a public lot across the street. If you want in/out privileges it costs $20/or more a night. The restaurant on the main floor closes at 3 p.m. Great location though.

Room Tip: The clerk said we should have asked for a king room which was bigger - doubt it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPGARNIER, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We do, in fact, have several room layouts and sizes. The kind-bedded and the two double bedded rooms are much larger that our single Queen bedded ones for only $20 more on average.
We deeply regret the lack of servicing of your room and we respectfully request that you let us know what room you were in so that we may further investigate the matter.
As for the independently managed parking, we do now suggest alternative lots starting at $13 per night with in/out priviledges.
Hoping to hear from you soon.
Michel Garnier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    230
    179
    59
    43
See reviews for
97
219
55
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

If your planning a trip to dowtown Montreal, this is a great hotel, just minutes away from the Bell Center and all the dowtown shops.
It is very clean, staff was very courtious. The rooms are newly renovated, not very spacious but if your looking for comfort for a fair price, this hotel is what you need.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel was likely lovely 30 years ago, but it is in desperate need of renovations. Everything was faded and the paint in our room was chipped. The rooms were the most disappointing of all...so tiny we could barely navigate ourselves around the bed.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a great area and is literally just steps from St Catherine's St. Next time, think we'll splurge and try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Being a platinum member they have put us in the smallest noisyest room ever.
We have stayed in a lot of best westerns but this is realy the most
Awfull one.!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel before and will again. The rooms are small but recently updated and are clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, you walk out the door and you are right in the heart of the action of downtown Montreal. When we were there I think that there was only 1 elevator working and they are small so had to wait quite a bit, that was the only issue we had, otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hotel is average, nuff said. There is no nice way to put this: the spa is awful. Scheduled a couples massage and was horrified. I am willing to bet the therapist I had was not a certified massage therapist. She did not provide me with a receipt afterwards for my insurance, she asked the other therapist to do it for her. The massage was down right uncomfortable. It actually wasn't a massage is was simply rubbing and something I can only describe as petting. My boyfriend said his therapist was slightly better. If this was run as a proper spa, I bet this would be a great location. The rooftop terrace has potential if given a little TLC. Sadley the sauna is lukewarm and the shower in the women's changing room does not work. Not worth the money!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPGARNIER, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you did not appreciate the spa treatment you ordered. We have discussed the situation with the Spa owner and he has agreed to refund your treatment.
Please contact the undersigned so that we may expedite the refund.
Once again, we apologize for the sub-par massage and we hope to be of service to you in the future.
Michel Garnier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

It's located just off Ste-Catherine, which was key to me picking this one, plus the rate was a absolute steal! There's a public outdoor parking lot next door (it was $20/night when I was there). I showed up at around 4pm and was able to check right in, nice & easy. The lobby is very impressive for a "budget hotel" (unfortunately I didn't snap a pic of it). The staff was pleasant. The room was small as far as rooms go, but I was the only one staying there so that wasn't a problem. It was clean and being someone that looks more for value over luxury, as long as everything works I'm a happy camper. Sure enough everything that I needed worked. Pretty decent complimentary WiFi signal as well. I would definitely recommend it for a guys weekend / hockey game trip, couples looking for a no frills getaway (very simple, not romantic), or a single person on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa

Address: 1240 Drummond St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montreal
Best Western Montreal
Montreal Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.