We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #61 of 170 hotels in Montreal
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is all about convenience.

Location - It's within 5 minutes to the metro, within 10 minutes to the museums, churches, squares, Mount Royal. I woke up at 7am to do a morning jog around downtown and I hit all the major sites under an hour, starting and ending at the hotel.

Wifi - included in rate. Gotta love it.

Breakfast - included in rate. Not amazing, but not bad either. Your basic continental fare. They have a waffle maker. Fake eggs, salt on the outside, sweet on the inside sausages, pancakes, canned fruit, etc.

Bathrooms - small. Small sinks, small tub, small everything.

Air conditioning/heating - Has two separate equipments for AC and heating. it has one of those older air conditioners where half of it sticks out from the window. It was heavy rainfall and I literally heard every drop of rain that was hitting the AC which was really annoying. Had to plug in my iPod to fall asleep again.

Minus the small inconveniences, no real issue and will def stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment for our hotel. You are correct in addressing our location, we are proud to be so close to various attractions in Montreal. I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you of our upcoming renovations. We are looking to address both the bathroom and the air conditioning system in each room. Since it will be a major renovation, we intend on increasing the size of the bathrooms to be more comfortable. Also, the air conditioning system will no longer be in the window but inside the room where it will no longer cause any unwanted noise. We look forward to welcoming you in the future to enjoy our new hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    220
    62
    29
    9
See reviews for
148
118
52
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I think the best thing about residence inn is its location. Bang on the peel street and 2 mins walk from the metro makes it a very prime locality to stay in.

As far as hotel itself is concerned it was alright and at a decent price point too. Rooms were quite well furnished with complete kitchen etc.

The only downside i felt was breakfast which was monotonous and repetitive. However, their evening snacks (which are only a few times a week) are better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your comment. As you mentioned in your review, we are very well located in the heart of the city. Yes, we are 2 minutes away from the metro system but we are also walking distance from various shopping areas, restaurants, and museums. We try to put as many options as possible in our breakfast buffet and follow the strict Marriott standards with the hot and cold options available. We cannot offer what a traditional breakfast restaurant will offer but we try hard to offer the best buffet breakfast possible. Suggestions to make the selection better are always welcome! We hope to welcome you again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everything is quite fine with this hotel, even to the smallest details. From the breakfast buffet to the very comfy and nicely appointed room. Only remark: the hotel is about 6 six blocks away from the nearest commercial area, and you would prefer to drive or take a cab rather than walk. Is not a long distance, just it is not inviting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Marriott Residence Inn. However, I believe you may have stayed at a sister hotel because we are located in the heart of downtown where the underground shopping and the subway system is only half a block away. We are also surrounded by various restaurants, museums and the business district, which are all walking distance from us. Both hotels offer the same services such as the complementary hot and cold breakfast buffet and spacious rooms equipped with kitchens and living areas. We hope to welcome you on a future trip to Montreal to take advantage of our convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As expected the Marriott is good. Large room with kitchenette, the price is a little on the higher end but it is in downtown Montreal... close to the metro station, great breakfast (included). The people in the reception were very willing to help us find our way around and made good sightseeing suggestions for us. Parking is offstreet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank for your comment. We pride ourselves with many of the aspects that you mentioned in your review. Our location is very convenient since it is in the heart of Montreal, close to various attractions and public transportation. We also enjoy building relationships with our guests, which helps us offer exceptional service to everyone so that they can take full advantage of their stay in Montreal. The parking garage next to the hotel is currently undergoing renovations, but when these renovations are completed, the situation will be much more practical. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location right in downtown Montreal- can literally walk right up Peel Street up Mont-Royal (if you are in good health and like a climb) if not stay on flat surfaces 0f city streets around the corner from world famous McGill University (and much more expensive Ritz Carleton) etc. Nice roof top view from Hotel rooms average Residence Inn with kitchen and living room area- buffet breakfast also average- being owned and operated by Marriott- clean, well maintained etc.

Room Tip: High Floor otherwise just looking at side of buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comment. And you are correct to mention our location. We are situated in the heart of downtown, walking distance to shopping areas, restaurants, and various museums. The subway system is around the corner to access other areas of Montreal. As you mentioned, as a Residence Inn, our rooms have kitchens and living areas. Our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on improving these aspects as well as the public areas of the hotel. We hope to see you again on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel and certainly not my last. The location is steps to all downtown Montreal has to offer. As an owner of
a Property Management Company in a Ski Resort area I was extremely impressed by the cleanliness of the room. The ease of check-in was a huge plus. Love this property, a must stay when in the Montreal area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel is in a great location; close to many attractions, restaurants and shopping areas and minutes away from public transportation. We also take pride in ensuring that all our rooms surpass standard cleanliness conditions because we know this is important for all our guests to have a comfortable stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - it's right near shopping on Sainte Catherine and just a half block from the Peel Metro station. Staff was helpful and you can pull up right out front and unload. However, no parking at the hotel. There are a lot of parking garages in the area, but getting there can be complicated (lots of one-way streets) and it turns out they are not all open on weekends, and you need to phone the security guard to come and open the parking garage - somewhat challenging for my French...
The room itself was comfortable, but there were lots of little details that needed work. For example, the sofa bed was actually smaller than a regular twin size. My daughter, who is 4'10" reached the bottom of the bed. The blanket for it had lots of small holes in it. It really looked quite flea market standard and not really up to a major hotel. The sheets for the bed had come unsewn at one end and also looked well-used. We stayed here because of the kitchen, which was convenient, but they had curiously located the microwave on top of the refrigerator. It was a tight space for the kitchen, but the hotel may wish to remember that not everyone staying there is over 5'7". I'm 5 inches shorter than that and there's no way I could have used that microwave. Then, in the morning, when I took a shower, I hung my nightclothes on the hook on the door, which promptly swung 180 degrees and dropped my clothes on the floor, which was damp, because mine was not the first shower. Really, it felt a bit like Fawlty Towers!
But the worst was the horrible banging of the pipes that started about 7am. Since we were on vacation, and this was a Saturday morning, it was a hard wake-up call. It sounded a bit like a jackhammer and went on for at least a half hour. I’m guessing this is just a plumbing issue with an old building, but next time I may look for a newer one…
Still, we were able to cook in the kitchen, the real bed was comfy and the bathroom was surprisingly well organized considering it was so small. So I could stay there again, but I will probably look around some more and see what’s available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing major renovations later this year and we intend on addressing many of the issues that were mentioned in your comment. The layout of both the bathroom and the kitchen will be improved as well as the public areas of the hotel. The parking garage next to the hotel is also currently going through renovations. They are the cause of the noise on that Saturday morning. These early repairs are actually uncommon. However, since it is not part of the hotel, we are not aware ahead of time when these repairs will occur. Once these renovations are complete, the parking situation will also be much more convenient for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy our modernized hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Residence Inn Montreal
Montreal Marriott
Montreal Residence Inn
Address: 2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown offers a Montreal hotel in the heart of downtown Montreal boasting suites that offer fully equipped kitchens and guests enjoy a complimentary daily buffet breakfast, wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.