We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Long term stay rates
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location right in downtown Montreal- can literally walk right up Peel Street up Mont-Royal (if you are in good health and like a climb) if not stay on flat surfaces 0f city streets around the corner from world famous McGill University (and much more expensive Ritz Carleton) etc. Nice roof top view from Hotel rooms average Residence Inn with kitchen and living room area- buffet breakfast also average- being owned and operated by Marriott- clean, well maintained etc.

Room Tip: High Floor otherwise just looking at side of buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comment. And you are correct to mention our location. We are situated in the heart of downtown, walking distance to shopping areas, restaurants, and various museums. The subway system is around the corner to access other areas of Montreal. As you mentioned, as a Residence Inn, our rooms have kitchens and living areas. Our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on improving these aspects as well as the public areas of the hotel. We hope to see you again on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    218
    62
    29
    9
See reviews for
149
120
52
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel and certainly not my last. The location is steps to all downtown Montreal has to offer. As an owner of
a Property Management Company in a Ski Resort area I was extremely impressed by the cleanliness of the room. The ease of check-in was a huge plus. Love this property, a must stay when in the Montreal area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel is in a great location; close to many attractions, restaurants and shopping areas and minutes away from public transportation. We also take pride in ensuring that all our rooms surpass standard cleanliness conditions because we know this is important for all our guests to have a comfortable stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - it's right near shopping on Sainte Catherine and just a half block from the Peel Metro station. Staff was helpful and you can pull up right out front and unload. However, no parking at the hotel. There are a lot of parking garages in the area, but getting there can be complicated (lots of one-way streets) and it turns out they are not all open on weekends, and you need to phone the security guard to come and open the parking garage - somewhat challenging for my French...
The room itself was comfortable, but there were lots of little details that needed work. For example, the sofa bed was actually smaller than a regular twin size. My daughter, who is 4'10" reached the bottom of the bed. The blanket for it had lots of small holes in it. It really looked quite flea market standard and not really up to a major hotel. The sheets for the bed had come unsewn at one end and also looked well-used. We stayed here because of the kitchen, which was convenient, but they had curiously located the microwave on top of the refrigerator. It was a tight space for the kitchen, but the hotel may wish to remember that not everyone staying there is over 5'7". I'm 5 inches shorter than that and there's no way I could have used that microwave. Then, in the morning, when I took a shower, I hung my nightclothes on the hook on the door, which promptly swung 180 degrees and dropped my clothes on the floor, which was damp, because mine was not the first shower. Really, it felt a bit like Fawlty Towers!
But the worst was the horrible banging of the pipes that started about 7am. Since we were on vacation, and this was a Saturday morning, it was a hard wake-up call. It sounded a bit like a jackhammer and went on for at least a half hour. I’m guessing this is just a plumbing issue with an old building, but next time I may look for a newer one…
Still, we were able to cook in the kitchen, the real bed was comfy and the bathroom was surprisingly well organized considering it was so small. So I could stay there again, but I will probably look around some more and see what’s available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing major renovations later this year and we intend on addressing many of the issues that were mentioned in your comment. The layout of both the bathroom and the kitchen will be improved as well as the public areas of the hotel. The parking garage next to the hotel is also currently going through renovations. They are the cause of the noise on that Saturday morning. These early repairs are actually uncommon. However, since it is not part of the hotel, we are not aware ahead of time when these repairs will occur. Once these renovations are complete, the parking situation will also be much more convenient for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy our modernized hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been a client of this hotel since it opened. I have been prepared to overlook the peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, the occasional shortcomings in the servicing of the room, shortages in the food provided at breakfast, but the recent decision to provide only paper plates and plastic cutlery from a dispenser for breakfast is totally unacceptable. It may be expected in a low-class cafeteria or the worst economy class on an airline, but not in a hotel charging over $150 a night. There are other less expensive hotels in Montreal which are able to use proper crockery and cutlery at breakfast and the spurious excuse that the plates are environmentally friendly does not bear up because there is environmentally friendly dishwasher liquid and everything thrown into the trash can is not biodegradable. Do not stay in this hotel as long as they persist in treating their customers like this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. The hotel is currently taking advantage of being in a renovation year to test the preferences of guests toward many different aspects of the breakfast, including the tableware. The only way to run this test effectively is to run it for the whole year to be able to collect enough data to make an educated decision. The environmental impact is minimized because the bowls and plates are compostable and the cutlery is made of recycled materials. Also, the dispensers are a more sanitary option than when utensils are placed in a bowl. Thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion on this specific point and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Totally adequate in every way, ideal location, excellent value. This was a perfect place to stay while visiting McGill. Five minute walk to the center of campus. Parking is several minutes away on foot but you can unload and register while leaving car parked at curb for up to 15 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are very close to McGill University, as well as walking distance to the underground shopping, the business district, many restaurants, and the public transit system. The parking garage that is close to the hotel is currently undergoing renovations but once this is complete, the parking situation will be much more convenient. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel on your next stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our two granddaughters on Easter weekend 2013. The kitchenette can save you a lot of money on meals when travelling with kids since they would often rather snack on toast or cereal than have a full restaurant meal, much of which might not be eaten. The Residence Inn is conveniently located near the Old Forum in Montreal and minutes from the Atwater shopping area. The only minor complaint- there are only two elevators and they can be kind of slow. Overall, a pleasant stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I believe you stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Westmount due to some of the characteristics that you mentioned in your comment. We are also a Marriott Residence Inn but we are located in the heart of downtown Montreal close to the underground shopping, various restaurants, and the business district. We are also a Marriott Residence Inn, which means all our suites are equipped with a full kitchen for the convenience of cooking meals for the family. We hope to welcome you to our hotel during a future stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Granted we got a good rate, so no complaints there. But the suit we got, the bathtub (shower) didn't drain properly and the rooms had a 'musty smell' of some sorts. Maybe someone had smoked in there earlier. Carpets were oldish, overall we didn't feel it was clean. We didn't feel place was upto a Marriott Residence Inn standards. Breakfast was good, but be prepared for a bit of a wait during weekend rush hour...not a deal killer if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment on our hotel. We would like to note that all Marriott Hotels in North America are smoke free and there is a $250 cleaning fee for those that do not follow this policy. When this happens, the entire room is thoroughly cleaned and the drapes are changed. We want to apologize if this did not remove the odor from the previous guest that did not respect this policy. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on addressing all the issues that you mentioned in your comment as well as many other aspects of the hotel, including the layouts of the rooms and the public areas. We hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy our modernized hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Address: 2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown offers a Montreal hotel in the heart of downtown Montreal boasting suites that offer fully equipped kitchens and guests enjoy a complimentary daily buffet breakfast, wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Montreal Marriott
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.