We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location, details could use some thought” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“convenient location, details could use some thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - it's right near shopping on Sainte Catherine and just a half block from the Peel Metro station. Staff was helpful and you can pull up right out front and unload. However, no parking at the hotel. There are a lot of parking garages in the area, but getting there can be complicated (lots of one-way streets) and it turns out they are not all open on weekends, and you need to phone the security guard to come and open the parking garage - somewhat challenging for my French...
The room itself was comfortable, but there were lots of little details that needed work. For example, the sofa bed was actually smaller than a regular twin size. My daughter, who is 4'10" reached the bottom of the bed. The blanket for it had lots of small holes in it. It really looked quite flea market standard and not really up to a major hotel. The sheets for the bed had come unsewn at one end and also looked well-used. We stayed here because of the kitchen, which was convenient, but they had curiously located the microwave on top of the refrigerator. It was a tight space for the kitchen, but the hotel may wish to remember that not everyone staying there is over 5'7". I'm 5 inches shorter than that and there's no way I could have used that microwave. Then, in the morning, when I took a shower, I hung my nightclothes on the hook on the door, which promptly swung 180 degrees and dropped my clothes on the floor, which was damp, because mine was not the first shower. Really, it felt a bit like Fawlty Towers!
But the worst was the horrible banging of the pipes that started about 7am. Since we were on vacation, and this was a Saturday morning, it was a hard wake-up call. It sounded a bit like a jackhammer and went on for at least a half hour. I’m guessing this is just a plumbing issue with an old building, but next time I may look for a newer one…
Still, we were able to cook in the kitchen, the real bed was comfy and the bathroom was surprisingly well organized considering it was so small. So I could stay there again, but I will probably look around some more and see what’s available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing major renovations later this year and we intend on addressing many of the issues that were mentioned in your comment. The layout of both the bathroom and the kitchen will be improved as well as the public areas of the hotel. The parking garage next to the hotel is also currently going through renovations. They are the cause of the noise on that Saturday morning. These early repairs are actually uncommon. However, since it is not part of the hotel, we are not aware ahead of time when these repairs will occur. Once these renovations are complete, the parking situation will also be much more convenient for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy our modernized hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    216
    61
    29
    9
See reviews for
149
119
52
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been a client of this hotel since it opened. I have been prepared to overlook the peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, the occasional shortcomings in the servicing of the room, shortages in the food provided at breakfast, but the recent decision to provide only paper plates and plastic cutlery from a dispenser for breakfast is totally unacceptable. It may be expected in a low-class cafeteria or the worst economy class on an airline, but not in a hotel charging over $150 a night. There are other less expensive hotels in Montreal which are able to use proper crockery and cutlery at breakfast and the spurious excuse that the plates are environmentally friendly does not bear up because there is environmentally friendly dishwasher liquid and everything thrown into the trash can is not biodegradable. Do not stay in this hotel as long as they persist in treating their customers like this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. The hotel is currently taking advantage of being in a renovation year to test the preferences of guests toward many different aspects of the breakfast, including the tableware. The only way to run this test effectively is to run it for the whole year to be able to collect enough data to make an educated decision. The environmental impact is minimized because the bowls and plates are compostable and the cutlery is made of recycled materials. Also, the dispensers are a more sanitary option than when utensils are placed in a bowl. Thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion on this specific point and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Totally adequate in every way, ideal location, excellent value. This was a perfect place to stay while visiting McGill. Five minute walk to the center of campus. Parking is several minutes away on foot but you can unload and register while leaving car parked at curb for up to 15 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are very close to McGill University, as well as walking distance to the underground shopping, the business district, many restaurants, and the public transit system. The parking garage that is close to the hotel is currently undergoing renovations but once this is complete, the parking situation will be much more convenient. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel on your next stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our two granddaughters on Easter weekend 2013. The kitchenette can save you a lot of money on meals when travelling with kids since they would often rather snack on toast or cereal than have a full restaurant meal, much of which might not be eaten. The Residence Inn is conveniently located near the Old Forum in Montreal and minutes from the Atwater shopping area. The only minor complaint- there are only two elevators and they can be kind of slow. Overall, a pleasant stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I believe you stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Westmount due to some of the characteristics that you mentioned in your comment. We are also a Marriott Residence Inn but we are located in the heart of downtown Montreal close to the underground shopping, various restaurants, and the business district. We are also a Marriott Residence Inn, which means all our suites are equipped with a full kitchen for the convenience of cooking meals for the family. We hope to welcome you to our hotel during a future stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Granted we got a good rate, so no complaints there. But the suit we got, the bathtub (shower) didn't drain properly and the rooms had a 'musty smell' of some sorts. Maybe someone had smoked in there earlier. Carpets were oldish, overall we didn't feel it was clean. We didn't feel place was upto a Marriott Residence Inn standards. Breakfast was good, but be prepared for a bit of a wait during weekend rush hour...not a deal killer if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment on our hotel. We would like to note that all Marriott Hotels in North America are smoke free and there is a $250 cleaning fee for those that do not follow this policy. When this happens, the entire room is thoroughly cleaned and the drapes are changed. We want to apologize if this did not remove the odor from the previous guest that did not respect this policy. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on addressing all the issues that you mentioned in your comment as well as many other aspects of the hotel, including the layouts of the rooms and the public areas. We hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy our modernized hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there with my daughter and grand daughter to visit their son and brother at McGill. Great location to McGill with equally good access to shopping and numerous restaurants. With a small kitchen and an included breakfast it can be and economical choice. This uz our second visit here snd will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comment. As you mentioned, we are a short walk from the university and we are one of McGill’s preferred hotels. Our location is also quite practical because we are right in the center of the city and there is a metro station right around the corner that can take you to various locations around Montreal. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is ALL about location. It's located just 2 blocks up from St Catherine St, and in general very close to everything. So if location is most important to you then it's a good choice. It's a Marriott so it's by no means a bad place to stay, but it is a bit on the lower end of all of the Residence Inns I've stayed at.

What was less than ideal for us:

1. Lack of on site parking. This was a pain in the butt, having to drive about 3 blocks to park. They said there was a closer lot but it was closed for renovations. And there weren't luggage carts readily available which seemed odd given that everyone has to unload before parking car.

Here's what was below Marriott standards but not really a big deal:


1. Slow elevators
2. Rooms were a bit on the tired side, not horrible but not updated
3. The shower drain was clogged so 1st day's showers were in standing water- yuck! They did fix it.
4. The shower head was horrible, it shot water all over the place.
5. Old window style so the view was thru several tiny windows.
6. One BR suites are all right across from elevators. It wasn't noisy at all for us but just know this is the situation.

Front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, comfortable beds. The free breakfast wasn't that great according to my friend who went to it, but I've always found Marriott breakfasts to be just fine. Hey it's free so it has to be pretty bad for me to complain.

So again, this hotel was super convenient so we are glad we stayed. It would have been nice to have parking closer by, but otherwise it was a fine stay for us. But if location isn't as important as having an overall nice hotel experience, you might want to look around at some other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on taking the opportunity to update many aspects of both the interior and the exterior of the hotel. Our plans include updating the rooms and improving the bathrooms. As you mentioned, we are perfectly located in the heart of the city and we are generally close to many attractions in Montreal. Soon we will have modern hotel that is very well located and we hope to welcome you again to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Address: 2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown offers a Montreal hotel in the heart of downtown Montreal boasting suites that offer fully equipped kitchens and guests enjoy a complimentary daily buffet breakfast, wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Montreal Marriott
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.