We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10%
Ranked #63 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not to be recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been a client of this hotel since it opened. I have been prepared to overlook the peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, the occasional shortcomings in the servicing of the room, shortages in the food provided at breakfast, but the recent decision to provide only paper plates and plastic cutlery from a dispenser for breakfast is totally unacceptable. It may be expected in a low-class cafeteria or the worst economy class on an airline, but not in a hotel charging over $150 a night. There are other less expensive hotels in Montreal which are able to use proper crockery and cutlery at breakfast and the spurious excuse that the plates are environmentally friendly does not bear up because there is environmentally friendly dishwasher liquid and everything thrown into the trash can is not biodegradable. Do not stay in this hotel as long as they persist in treating their customers like this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. The hotel is currently taking advantage of being in a renovation year to test the preferences of guests toward many different aspects of the breakfast, including the tableware. The only way to run this test effectively is to run it for the whole year to be able to collect enough data to make an educated decision. The environmental impact is minimized because the bowls and plates are compostable and the cutlery is made of recycled materials. Also, the dispensers are a more sanitary option than when utensils are placed in a bowl. Thank you for taking the time to offer your opinion on this specific point and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    220
    62
    29
    9
See reviews for
148
118
52
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Totally adequate in every way, ideal location, excellent value. This was a perfect place to stay while visiting McGill. Five minute walk to the center of campus. Parking is several minutes away on foot but you can unload and register while leaving car parked at curb for up to 15 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are very close to McGill University, as well as walking distance to the underground shopping, the business district, many restaurants, and the public transit system. The parking garage that is close to the hotel is currently undergoing renovations but once this is complete, the parking situation will be much more convenient. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel on your next stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our two granddaughters on Easter weekend 2013. The kitchenette can save you a lot of money on meals when travelling with kids since they would often rather snack on toast or cereal than have a full restaurant meal, much of which might not be eaten. The Residence Inn is conveniently located near the Old Forum in Montreal and minutes from the Atwater shopping area. The only minor complaint- there are only two elevators and they can be kind of slow. Overall, a pleasant stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment. I believe you stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Westmount due to some of the characteristics that you mentioned in your comment. We are also a Marriott Residence Inn but we are located in the heart of downtown Montreal close to the underground shopping, various restaurants, and the business district. We are also a Marriott Residence Inn, which means all our suites are equipped with a full kitchen for the convenience of cooking meals for the family. We hope to welcome you to our hotel during a future stay in Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Granted we got a good rate, so no complaints there. But the suit we got, the bathtub (shower) didn't drain properly and the rooms had a 'musty smell' of some sorts. Maybe someone had smoked in there earlier. Carpets were oldish, overall we didn't feel it was clean. We didn't feel place was upto a Marriott Residence Inn standards. Breakfast was good, but be prepared for a bit of a wait during weekend rush hour...not a deal killer if you are not in a hurry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment on our hotel. We would like to note that all Marriott Hotels in North America are smoke free and there is a $250 cleaning fee for those that do not follow this policy. When this happens, the entire room is thoroughly cleaned and the drapes are changed. We want to apologize if this did not remove the odor from the previous guest that did not respect this policy. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on addressing all the issues that you mentioned in your comment as well as many other aspects of the hotel, including the layouts of the rooms and the public areas. We hope to welcome you again in the future to enjoy our modernized hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there with my daughter and grand daughter to visit their son and brother at McGill. Great location to McGill with equally good access to shopping and numerous restaurants. With a small kitchen and an included breakfast it can be and economical choice. This uz our second visit here snd will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comment. As you mentioned, we are a short walk from the university and we are one of McGill’s preferred hotels. Our location is also quite practical because we are right in the center of the city and there is a metro station right around the corner that can take you to various locations around Montreal. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is ALL about location. It's located just 2 blocks up from St Catherine St, and in general very close to everything. So if location is most important to you then it's a good choice. It's a Marriott so it's by no means a bad place to stay, but it is a bit on the lower end of all of the Residence Inns I've stayed at.

What was less than ideal for us:

1. Lack of on site parking. This was a pain in the butt, having to drive about 3 blocks to park. They said there was a closer lot but it was closed for renovations. And there weren't luggage carts readily available which seemed odd given that everyone has to unload before parking car.

Here's what was below Marriott standards but not really a big deal:


1. Slow elevators
2. Rooms were a bit on the tired side, not horrible but not updated
3. The shower drain was clogged so 1st day's showers were in standing water- yuck! They did fix it.
4. The shower head was horrible, it shot water all over the place.
5. Old window style so the view was thru several tiny windows.
6. One BR suites are all right across from elevators. It wasn't noisy at all for us but just know this is the situation.

Front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, comfortable beds. The free breakfast wasn't that great according to my friend who went to it, but I've always found Marriott breakfasts to be just fine. Hey it's free so it has to be pretty bad for me to complain.

So again, this hotel was super convenient so we are glad we stayed. It would have been nice to have parking closer by, but otherwise it was a fine stay for us. But if location isn't as important as having an overall nice hotel experience, you might want to look around at some other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to announce that our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we intend on taking the opportunity to update many aspects of both the interior and the exterior of the hotel. Our plans include updating the rooms and improving the bathrooms. As you mentioned, we are perfectly located in the heart of the city and we are generally close to many attractions in Montreal. Soon we will have modern hotel that is very well located and we hope to welcome you again to enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed there for one night because we had my shih tzu with us, I appreciate that they allow dogs but the room was so old and run down this looked like a 2.5 star.

The kitchen was seriously vintage, the bathroom was tiny and the furniture looked old. The window in my room on the 19th floor had a board over one of the windows, I felt like a caged bird. I spent almost no time in my room. It was just sad looking.

Room Tip: I have no advice, I really would not recommend this place. There is a Sheraton down the street and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealRI, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our hotel will be undergoing renovations later this year and we will be improving many factors of the hotel. The bathrooms will be enlarged and the exterior will also be modernized with new windows. We will also continue to accept pets in our hotel for a fee when everything is completed. The reason for this fee is for the extensive cleaning of the room after the check-out to ensure that the rooms are suitable for future guests with allergies. We hope you have a chance to come and see us again after the renovations are finalized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown

Address: 2045 Peel Street, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown offers a Montreal hotel in the heart of downtown Montreal boasting suites that offer fully equipped kitchens and guests enjoy a complimentary daily buffet breakfast, wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Montreal Marriott
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.