We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family B&B in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de l'Argoat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de l'Argoat
Save
You added Chateau de l'Argoat to your Saves list
524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada (Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
181 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Lovely family B&B in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We reserved a spacious queen room with a whirlpool bath and flat screen TV. The continental breakfast was lovely - it included decent coffee, orange juice, yoghurt and a selection of bagels, toast, muffins and croissants. The hotel was in a good location a block away from the Latin Quarter and close to the metro. We didn't need to use the metro - we left our car in the free car park and spent a couple of days walking around the Downtown, Old Montréal and Old Port districts. The only downside was that the air conditioning made our room smell a little damp.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    142
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
57
152
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked on the basis of the good reviews here on TA and were not disappointed. The location is excellent - walking distance to the Latin Quarter and the Plateau; close to bus and metro transport options; good dining and shopping options nearby. The staff are friendly and informal and the place has a lovely 'family' air to it. They are always happy to store food/drink in a refrigerator for you, and will provide little necessities such as wine glasses, corkscrews etc when asked. We had a whole bag of dirty clothes laundered and dried for only $5 - amazing value compared with what many hotels would charge. There is free parking behind the hotel. Our room was comfortable with good wi-fi access. If you're keen on TV then the old-style, smaller TV sets might trouble you, but for us this was not an issue. The breakfast was pleasant and filling. We thought that this was one of the nicest and best-value hotels we've stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were in Montreal recently in June and spent a night at L'Argoat. We booked a comfort room in order to get a Queen size bed. Our room was on the Third floor and it was nicely decorated and very quiet. We enjoyed the fact that it was an older house with cachet. The parking was included in the price as was the continental breakfast. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise with good coffee, juice, yogourt and a large selection of bagels, bread, muffins and croissants. There is an interesting reading area next to the cute little breakfast room. The location is good in the centre of evrerything and close to the metro. We will be back but next time we will get a better deal- we will choose a week that is not the week of the Montreal Grand Prix.

Room Tip: We were in Room 34 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our first time staying in this area of Montreal. The staff was very accommodating, gave us directions, suggested good restaurants, called cabs for us, allowed us to store food in the fridge, etc. It is decently located, about 2 blocks from the 747 bus to the airport, and one block from Rue St Denis which has many restaurant options. The room was clean and comfortable. The bagels and muffins were fresh and tasty. Since we stayed there during jazz festival, I thought it was a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent 3 nites in Montreal and did not want to drive so I spent a lot of time researching hotel - I did GOOD!! Location is a couple blocks from 2 metro stations, one being a MAIN intersection and of course bus lines. We bought 3 day metro passes and they were very useful! Hotel room is VERY adequate, beds are comfy, private bath, quite nice continental breakfast. The staff was VERY helpful, Alain was like having a private concierge service - great suggestions especially as we had a couple rainy days which limited our options. Compared to costs of other hotels in the area, this was excellent for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Highly recommend this great, quaint spot in the Latin Quarter. Super friendly staff, great price, and clean. Bathroom was super tiny though but all rooms are different. The room was very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our visit to Montreal, and staying at the Chateau de l'Argoat was a big reason for that. I had researched many Montreal hotels on TripAdvisor (learning that you must be careful about price vs. Location as many seem to be youth hostels) and on paper, the Chateau de l'Argoat seemed perfect and thankfully it was. Our room (22) faced the street and the traffic noise was not bothersome.
The room, like the rest of the hotel is graciously appointed, featuring an extremely comfortable bed and nice artwork, much more of which lines the walls of the hotel. The dresser and closet are a little small but really just the right size - we stayed for six nights and likely had more clothes than the average long weekend traveler. The bathroom is nicely decorated in black and white, and as other reviewers have noted, the tub is smaller than one might be used to, but this is made up for by the excellent water pressure, artisinal soaps and towels that, while unscented, don't have that stale hotel linen smell.
You must not miss the petit-dejeuner breakfast. We tried everything available and each
muffin, bagel, toast and especially the pain au chocolat, was served warm and fresh and was extremely tasty. Not to be missed.
Every member of the staff were friendly, helpful and eager to see us have a good visit. They graciously tolerated my attempts to communicate in French but, for those who speak no French, they all were very conversant in English . The desk staff were extremely knowledgeable about the city and their recommendations for daily trips (even requests to do things off the regular tourist's path) were readily accommodated.
Lastly, the Argoat is near everything, whether a five-ten-fifteen minute walk or an easy ride from the metro station across the street. I recommend getting a several-day pass as nearly everything in Montreal, if not easily reached by foot, is right near a metro station.
Leave the car behind (hopefully you noticed in the other reviews that the hotel has free parking).
I highly recommend staying at le Chateau de l'Argoat if you will be in Montreal. And remember even if you don't speak French, a bright bonjour, merci and excusez-moi go a long way.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de l'Argoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Argoat

Address: 524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#4 Green Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Argoat Hotel Montreal
Chateau De l Argoat Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de l'Argoat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.