We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de l'Argoat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de l'Argoat
Save
You added Chateau de l'Argoat to your Saves list
524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved this B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying here. The location, breakfast and staff were excellent. The hotel room was kitsch and clean. Everything we needed at an excellent price. We would walk everywhere from here with baby in the stroller: downtown, shopping on Saint Laurent etc. Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    140
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
57
149
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for two nights while attending the Rogers Cup. It was perfect for our needs - we loved it, and would stay there again.

Location - a walkable distance to cafes and shopping, and right across the road from the Metro. It was quiet at night.

Room - our room had two queen beds, a desk, and a couple of small tables and chairs. If you're going to spend lots of time in your room, it may be a little small, but we didn't need much space. The AC is plenty cold, there's space to hang clothes, and everything was spotless. Not a speck of dirt or dust. We did not use the tv.

Bathroom - tiny, but very clean. The toilet was angled and a larger person may have to sit on it sideways :) The water pressure was a little low, but manageable. The hair dryer was as powerful as the one I have at home. Shampoo and soap provided, but no conditioner.

Breakfast - Lovely little room with lots of options for pastries/muffins/bagels, yoghurt, and fruit.

Service - Everybody was so very friendly and accommodating! The desk staff were eager to help us out, even letting us leave our car all day on check in day and check out day. The lady who serves breakfast is sweet! I emailed with a couple of questions in advance, and received prompt and polite responses.

Parking - it's tight, but they are able to fit quite a lot of cars in there. They require that you leave your keys so that they can move cars around as needed. We had no problems at all.

Other - the ambiance was very nice - older, but charismatic. There are three floors and no elevator, so expect to have to walk up a few stairs. There is a nice lounge on the first floor with leather couches and a computer with internet access for guest use.

I certainly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Montreal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hackensack, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable and elegant. We really felt like we were in another Country far away from home. The continental breakfast was nice and the breakfast area had pleasant decor. We truly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room was small but very nicely appointed and maintained. Everything was clean and attractive. The hotel is right around the corner from the shops and restaurants on Rue Saint Denis, close to the metro and walking distance ( a long walk) from Old Town. The continenal breakfast was much better than the average chain hotel. Parking is free and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely hotel and friendly, informative staff, in a very convenient location just around the corner from the Sherbrooke metro station, and only a couple of blocks away from the bus station where you can catch the 747 Express bus to the airport. I had emailed the hotel about 3 days before our arrival, asking about their continental breakfast, and received a reassuring email back that gluten-free items would be brought in for me. Very understanding. Our room was beautiful--high ceilings, chandelier, wood floor, wedgwood green walls with white trim, green and white ceramic tile bathroom, whirlpool tub, air conditioning---you get the idea! We had a 4-night stay there earlier this month, and it's definitely the place we will book the next time we go to Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here, and really enjoyed the ambiance of a historical hotel which was also conveniently located near the Subway and lots of restaurants in the eclectic.ethnic Latin Quarter. It reminded us of places we've stayed in Europe.
There was free parking in back, and we never needed the car during the stay, since we used the Subway and/or walked to get around. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and gave us suggestions where to go and what to see. Beware that there is no elevator, and many of the rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. We had a long walk up and down with luggage to the 3rd floor on a winding staircase. Everything was clean, and well cared for considering the age of the building. The AC was good, and there's free Wifi. Decor was attractive and colorful with art works throughout, lots of woodwork trim and high ceilings.
The firm bed was very comfortable with quality linens but flat pillows. There was a large jetted tub in the bathroom and separate shower. Unfortunately the tub, which we didn't use, takes up much of the bathroom space, and the shower is tiny. Although on a main street, the room was quiet and we heard no street noise.
Breakfast consisted of muffins, bagels, toast, yogurt, fruit, coffee and tea. Unfortunately there was nothing with protein.
We would probably stay here again if in Montreal due to the good location, staff, and price.

Room Tip: Choose a room knowing there is no elevator, and lots of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent a weekend for the Jazz fest, and this is the third year we are coming here because of the good location and the very nice people. This is a small hotel in a very good location, walking distance to downtown. The staff is very polite and helpful, making you feel like home. The rooms are very clean, nice and warm, welcoming atmosphere. The bathroom is a bit small but it depends of the room location.
Breakfast is good, enough to start your day.
I definitely recommend Chateau de L'argoat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de l'Argoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Argoat

Address: 524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#3 Green Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Argoat Hotel Montreal
Chateau De l Argoat Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de l'Argoat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.