We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go a little further east for very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de l'Argoat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de l'Argoat
Save
You added Chateau de l'Argoat to your Saves list
524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go a little further east for very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a nice hotel on Sherbrooke, just east of St. Denis and walking distance to cool shopping and fine food. The rooms are large and comfortable. The continental breakfast is relatively substantial and there is free parking in the back. The vibe is urban hip with posters from avant-garde films adorning the breakfast room.

The one obvious weakness would be accessibility for the disabled. It is a small hotel, and you will have to walk up some stairs with your luggage.

Aside from that, it is a fine hotel and the price is $50-$150 less than what you would pay in other hotels further west on the strip, once you account for the parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    140
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
57
149
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here during the f1 weekend. We will stay here again if it meets our travel plans. Staff was very friendly, room was great, price was great, cleanliness was very good. Very close to two metro stations and the bixi bikes on the corner.

Just a couple notes. Not negatives but more things to be aware of.

- This is a boutique hotel. If you expect a regular hotel I can see why there are some lower reviews. The building is over 100 years old. It is missing things such as an elevator. However the maintenance is not lacking and it actually renovated in a good style.

- The wifi reception sucked in our room. Cell signal was good though. Not sure how it was throughout the rest of the building.

- The breakfast was very well staffed and tasty except the selection is minimal. Bagel, croissants, or toast. Wouldnt be great for poeple with kids and we did go out a couple days but for days where that was all we wanted it was great.

- The area seems a little strange. You are right on the corner of two busy roads and at first seemed almost dingy but within one block in 3 directions you are in really trendy areas. The Plateau is to the right and straight accross, St-Denis is to the left, and right and down is another area that has some nice bars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Set your expectations if you're planning to stay here. Its a decently located, clean, affordable hotel. Thats all. If you are on a budget then $129CAN for a double room isnt too bad and this rate includes breakfast. There is some parking out the back.

The rooms are huge and our bathroom was recently renovated to a clean modern style. The bed was hard which suited me but pained my boyfriend. Breakfast is served until 12.30 and includes juice, coffee, bagels, pastries and yoghurt.

Everything about this place is quite tired. The dining and common room remind me of most decent backpacking hostels I've stayed in - functional but not inviting.

If you are looking for cheap and cheerful this place will do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My sister, her boyfriend, and my girlfriend and I stayed here in August 2011. It is easy to miss from the outside. However once inside, it was really nice. The rooms were very cost efficient, as Montreal can get hella expensive. Even though it was on the cheaper side, you don't sacrifice anything a more expensive hotel can offer. The rooms were decent sized. They were clean, and had all modern amenities. They offered complimentary breakfast. Croissants in the morning are fantastic. The hotel is only a few blocks from where the party is at on St. Denis street. If I got the street wrong, it's probably because we were too busy having fun to remember.

There is no ice machine, but they give you packets of ice. It did the job. It's quiet during the night, which is nice for folks looking to escape the party. The only complant I had was they held the money on my credit card for a while and then released it without taking the payment. They then charged me again about a week later. That's not really that big a deal, but if you live paycheck to paycheck it can cause some headaches.

When in Montreal you must:

Visit a strip club (if you're from America). It's $5 cover, no one tips, and the girls were hot. I bought my girlfriend a lap dance for $15 and I got to watch! It was great!

Visit Notre Dame. Have fun in there. Have A LOT of fun if you want to get sacrilegious.

Check out the Bio-dome. It wasn't a must see, but it had a lot of cool animals, and plants.

Party with the people! Straight, Gay, black, white, green...everybody gets along and has fun together. If you do stumble into a gay bar, be warned, they play hardcore porn on the t.v.! My sister's boyfriend was a bit skirmish when he realized.

Have fun, feed the homeless kid with the two dogs. He keeps them healthier than himself.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 20-30 a night and get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Staff was very helpful, they lent us an umbrella on a rainy day.
The Bed was not very comfy.
The Bathroom was big and clean.
Location was nice, close to Berri station.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and loved it! The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and the hotel itself has a lot of character that would suit students and lighter travellers looking for a welcoming place to stay. We were really impressed with the location, free breakfast, free wifi, free parking and courtesy shown by everyone we met there and would not even hesitate to go back or recommend it to others. As many have said, it is a smaller place, but this just makes it extra cosy. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I chose this hotel after reading several good reviews and visiting their website. I was under the impression that it's a 3 star hotel. However, it was a big disappointment when I arrived. It looked like a small bed & breakfast. The parking was limited and only accessible through a small alley. You have to leave your car key at the reception (I think they need to move your car so that other guests can get out). The reception and hall were smaller than my house's (I'm not exaggerating). The staff was friendly however. We were given 2 keys (actual keys, not cards like in a hotel), one for the room and one for the front door. The bedroom was a lot smaller than in the picture. It looked clean, but you can smell the old carpet even though they tried to cover it with spray. I feel like the other bedrooms can hear us if we speak too loud. The bathroom looked new. The dining area is just a small room with some old tables. All guests share a fridge. The entire house (I wouldn't call this a hotel) looked old and needed some work and more light. In terms of location, it is somewhat convenient (about 1-3 miles to downtown and old montreal, not exactly walking distance, especially in the winter).

Somehow this house reminded me of the movie The Others. If you want to experience how it's like living in an old European house, then it is it. Other than that, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de l'Argoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Argoat

Address: 524 Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1K1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#3 Green Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Argoat Hotel Montreal
Chateau De l Argoat Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de l'Argoat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.