We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Patrick's Basilica

St. Patrick's Basilica
454 Rene-Levesque Blvd W, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1A7, Canada (Ville-Marie)
514 866 7379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 202 Attractions in Montreal
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This 19th-century church has a collection of interesting mosaics on its ceiling.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

It's a smaller basilica compared to the more popular Notre Dame one but nonetheless, the architecture inside is worth checking out. We were lucky enough to go at a time no one was inside the church so we got to take our time admiring the stain glass and the design. They even had pamphlets to describe the architecture and its history for tourists!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    49
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely church.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My fathers family were Irish from Montreal; he was born there, so this is a little bit of history for me. I love visiting churches in cities all over the world, but this was kind of special if is part of your heritage.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Love the interior, the stained glass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Some fairly recent renovations. I love ducking into urban churches as my Dad used to do with me in NYC when I was young. I attended a very moving funeral for a public figure here, and now stop back whenever I'm strolling that neighborhood. Nice place for a prayer or reflection break.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We attended Mass on Saturday evening (5 pm service) and it was a very nice experience. The church has beautiful architecture and decoration and the angels above the altar area were mesmerizing! We were personally greeted after Mass by the deacon and priest and they were friendly and sincerely happy we chose to attend their church. Very welcoming and great for English speaking travelers!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“English Mass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It can be difficult to find an English language Mass in Montreal, but there is here because it is an Irish parish. The inside is very beautiful. Everything is very detailed wood working. It is a great little community.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Patrick's Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Patrick's Basilica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.