We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Cuisine - CLOSED

Mas Cuisine
3779 Rue Wellington, Montreal, Quebec H4G 1V1, Canada
(514) 544-3779‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Went there on the recommendation of the owners of Raymond's in St John, NL as this is where they eat when in Montreal.

Everything was perfect and presented beautifully, service was impeccable.

Go there if your in Montreal, it's a little out of the way but its a gem to behold.

ENJOY!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“'Meh' cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After having read such good things, I was disappointed with Mas Cuisine on all fronts.

The decor is sparse and cozy. At 8PM on a Friday, the place was full, as expected. However, within an hour, the dining room was half-empty and by our desert, we were one table away from being the last ones there. The reduced noise level, combined with bad music (in my opinion...) made for a pretty boring atmosphere.

Service was friendly, but felt rushed. In hindsight, knowing that most tables were on their way out, it's hard to explain this - all orders would have already been taken. Had the food been fantastic, I probably wouldn't have noticed, however...

The food was not great. From the uninspired bread basket with over-salted butter to the soggy shrimp fritters to the confusing flavours of the apple crumble dessert, almost everything felt 'off'. My main dish, beef short ribs with gnocchi, was the highlight, and even then the gnocchi tasted pasty and store-bought.

Given all the fantastic reviews, perhaps I went on a bad night. But with so many fantastic restaurants in Montreal, it's hard to recommend a visit based on my experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I very much enjoyed this restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere were very good. The place is small so make a reservation. I ordered the bio salmon entree followed by the beef ribs and finally the chocolate pave as a dessert. Everything was good!! The chocolate pave was really the best I've ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A super little gem for dinner only in Verdun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Second time here. The menu is prix fixe. Reasonably priced. Scallops are terrific, cooked perfectly. Sweetbreads excellent. Beef tartare prepared to perfection. Wine selection good and reasonably priced. This small little restaurant is well worth the trip. Clearly the neighbourhood is going through gentrification. It is only opened MOn-Fri 6pm onward. IT apparently is considering a Friday lunch day and potentially opening on Saturdays too. Will be back again for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice concept, ambitious cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent some days in Montreal and were looking for nice and recommended restaurants in town. Thus we found MAS cuisine, a small (approx. 10-12 tables) restaurant in 3779 Wellington Street in Verdun district, a quite interesting place to run a restaurant like this.
The concept is easy but convincing: choose your main course out of 6 (price between CAD 46.- to 52.-) and the starter and dessert are included (several of them on the menu).
The wine-list ist small and selected, even Austrian wine was on the list (Riesling Federspiel, Domain Wachau, CAD 36.-), the wine-prices are well calculated.
Our meal was overall very delicious, only some of the dishes (e.g. the filet de boeuf) were a little too sharp broiled.
The service was very friendly and obliging.
The total check for four of us was CAD 250.-, only the two glasses of aperitif (Aligoté) for CAD 22.- were too expensive...
We spent a very pleasant evening and will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mas Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.